We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Caer Beris Manor Hotel to your Saves list
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Up North
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We stayed here whilst attending the Hay Festival in May. It is a gorgeous hotel with wonderful grounds, fantastic staff and great food. Couldn't fault it at all and would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    154
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
57
281
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

What a wonderful hotel this is. The chef is first rate and all the food is home cooked. The fish shaped shortbread biscuits in the reception were delicious (and very moreish). The rooms are comfortable and elegant. It's like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons. We were at the Hay festival and the overnight stay was a lovely relaxing evening away from the hussle and bustle of the event. Staff are friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back again next year

Room Tip: splash out on a 4 poster room - they are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

There is no doubt that parts of the hotel are looking a little tired in places and our four poster room was a liitle gloomy but it was clean, comfortable, the food was fantastic and the service superb. It is a very gracious building - as you drive up towards the hotel it is picture perfect! We stayed just the one night and think we will go back and spend more time looking around the grounds.
The room was quite pricey . It must cost quite a lot to maintain the building but we have paid a lot less for a lot more - for the price I expected a wow factor and was a bit dissapointed with the room. The decor in most of the public rooms seemed to have been kept up to date more than the rooms. We can only speak for our room (no 9) but it would be great if it could be just a little brighter - no expensive redecoration would be needed just some brighter walls or furnishings would transform the place as it is a lovely sized room. All that said the mystic twighlight was quite romantic!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were given a room on the ground floor (next to the carpark-a wonderful alarm in the mornings), a room which is not shown on the website for now obvious reasons. Although the hotel would like to describe itself as period, this in reality means it is just dated and very dirty. The bathroom was of a hideously poor standard, including broken floor tiles and toothpaste marks on the walls (I couldnt bring myself to walk barefoot in the bathroom). The blankets on the bed had questionable stains on them which added to this hotel being the dingiest and worst value hotel I have ever stayed at.
We arrived late at night (10pm) after visiting Snowdonia and left very early in the morning as we had no desire to stick around. I cant comment on the food as I didnt bother having breakfast there - if the cleanliness of the public areas is so poor, I didnt want to risk the kitchen.

Hideously overpriced for the state of the room and a thoroughly unpeasant experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

had a lovely sunday lunch generous carvery .very good excellent serice very friendly and welcoming .we dicovered the grounds oh what a sight!!! just stunning . beautiful lawns and shrubs and lots of space for the little darlings to explore!! a really lovely afternoon . had a great chat to the staff and suggested to chef that they use larger plates for sunday lunch!!! chef take note !! will be visiting you very soon as family live near by thankyou very much xdavies family from pembrokeshire.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Stumbled across Caer Beris whilst looking for a late Easter break. The website description matched everything we found - location, grounds, service, the river etc. The staff couldn't do enough for us, the food was excellent and, whilst only an overnight stay, it was a perfect relaxing break.

No complaints but just a minor observation - the beds were too soft as were the pillows which made a totally comfortable night's sleep a little difficult.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

The hotel does look lovely as you drive up to it and is set in nice grounds.
But then you get shown your room which was a strange elongated shape and not very well laid out. Usual amenities in the room. However, the main drawback was the food which, although looked good on the menu, did not reach expectations. Eg chicken breast was dry and tasteless, uncooked pastry on chocolate tart, accompanying sorbet was melted and a watery mess, packet soup, stale rolls - I could go on. It was a great shame as it would not take much to improve the standard of food and it does make such a difference. Unfortunately there was no feedback form or enquiry as to whether we had enjoyed our stay when we left.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caer Beris Manor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caer Beris Manor Hotel

Address: Garth Road, Builth Wells LD2 3NP, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Caer Beris Manor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the home of Lord Swansea, a manor house set in 27 acres of parkland surrounded by the River Irfon. Comfortable bedrooms and friendly welcome. Log fires in winter, croquet in summer. Ideal as a relaxing base.Fishing, walking, riding, birdwatching. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Caer Beris Manor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Caer Beris Manor
Caer Beris Manor Hotel Builth Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caer Beris Manor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.