We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the Basics Right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bronwye Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Bronwye Guest House to your Saves list
Bronwye Guest House
Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 16 Builth Wells B&B and Inns
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All the Basics Right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Clean, tidy, good hosts, nice breakfast - go for the Welsh Full Monty, good bed, nice outlook especially if you like rugby.

Homely in appearance and atmosphere which meets basic needs and was good value for money for our double room. Only issue on a personal level is we prefer bars of soap to liquid soap and the toilet in the en suite is a little close to the wall and makes sitting a bit of a manoevre especially if you are tall.

Room Tip: We had a good room at the top of the house, which looks directly over the rugby pitch and riverside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    11
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
35
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Excellent service, clean large rooms. The rooms had all the facilities you expect: wi fi, television, toiletries, huge soft towels and facilities to make hot drinks. The location backs onto a park so you have a lovely view to wake up to. I found the hotel easily and was met by the very friendly hosts. I am not connected to the hotel in anyway, I am just so impressed with the standard of service and location I wanted to say so on trip advisor. Breakfast was also delicious

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HULL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We were a party of 4 bikers who arrived here soaking wet and very bedraggled. We were cheerfully greeted and shown to warm, clean, comfortable rooms with central heating, plenty of hot water, tea, coffee and biscuits. Just the job!

The accommodation was beautifully presented, and the breakfast excellent. The rooms were very, very clean and decently sized enough to unpack and make ourselves comfortable.

All in all one of the very best B&Bs we've every stayed at regardless of price.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We arrived in Builth to find we could get no answer at our booked B&B so turned up at 7.45pm on the doorstep of Bronwye. Our hostess was warm and welcoming. We had a comfortable night and enjoyed a hearty breakfast. Very good value for money excellent friendly service. It would have been great to have had time to watch the rugby from the sunny garden.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you have never been to Wales you are missing a special place. I have been to Builth Wells twice now and would go again as it is centrally located and therefore easy to travel around the country. The couple who own and operate this house are experienced at guest care and are very good cooks! Our room was delightful and the bath clean and a nice size. Ours was on the second floor which afforded us a lovely view of the gardens and the very old church across the road.The host provided much needed assistance with our luggage as my husband was on crutches. We would recommend this B & B to any and all who are able to make a trip to this beautiful country.

Room Tip: This is a very quiet place. Any room would provide privacy and peace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is the 4th time in Builth Wells. Always staying @ this great little guest house.
This time had room 1, plenty of space for the bike panniers and all the gear. My view hasn`t changed from the first time we stayed, ( Ref :- July 2010 ). Good room, great breakfast and loverly hosts ( with the maps again ). Had some really good unexpected ride-outs, thanks to
local knowledge - and not everybody we spoke to were bikers. Very friendly locals who made
us feel welcome once again ........... thanks.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

After completing another leg of North to South wales mountain biking we were cold, tired, drenched and covered in mud. We were made to feel welcome, bikes stored safely straight away and they even did a clothes wash for us ( I wouldn't have touched the clothes had I not unfortunately been wearing them). Room was great, view tranquil, recommendation for food spot on and breakfast a treat. thanks very much for making us feel human again in such a short space of time ready for the next leg of the ride. Will definitely recommend to others and go back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bronwye Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bronwye Guest House

Address: Church Street, Builth Wells LD2 3BS, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Builth Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Star Victorian Guest house overlooking the River Wye located close to the town and Royal Welsh showground. All rooms en-suite and free wifi access. This property will exceed your expectations! The best value in Builth Wells and Mid Wales. And now,for longer stays of 2 or more nights, we have a beautiful 200 year old holiday cottage too called Dan-y-Castell. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bronwye Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bronwye Guest House Builth Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bronwye Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.