We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely people and a cosy feel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Guesthouse

Woodlands Guesthouse
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlands Guesthouse
Save Saved
You added Woodlands Guesthouse to your Saves list
Hay Road, Builth Wells LD2 3YL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Builth Wells
kent
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Lovely people and a cosy feel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The family that run this bed and breakfast are great hosts. Nothing is too much trouble and they treat their guests like honoured friends. Great breakfast and lounge with huge television. The location is close to the town centre and easy to find. There is plenty of parking.

The bed was comfortable and clean towels every day (which is not always the case in b&b). The rooms have recently been redecorated and the wallpaper is lovely and modern. The new large shower cubicles are great but there is a blip. There is a problem over the water pressure and only a dribble comes from the shower head. The family assured me that it would be fixed in two weeks but this does not help guests in the meantime. (I have marked 'Rooms' down because of the inadequate water pressure, otherwise I would have given 'excellent').

One piece of advice - do not bother with any of the eating establishments in Builth High Street but instead drive for 5 minutes (or walk) to Caerberis Manor Hotel for a decent meal in fabulous surroundings. £25 for a 3 course meal with home-made bread and a pre-desert. The hotel, which positively welcomes non-residents, also gives a 10% discount on food for local b&b guests!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband's family come from around Builth Wells and we were on a nostalgic trip for him. Our choice of BandB could not have been better. A warm friendly welcome and an amazing breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely b and b wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Our host could not do enough for us, the breakfast was fantastic, rooms pleasant and the setting is pretty. Reasonably priced and lovely feel to the place. Great for getting away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice in the Woodlands and will keep coming back.

A warm welcome and excellent breakfasts. The house and grounds are fabulous and you are made to feel like a home from home. We were even allowed an extra late check out so we could squeeze in one last bike ride in the surrounding hills. Reccomend!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here while taking part in a Charity Cycle ride from St David's to Lowestoft. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely character turn of the centry countrymans house that still has most of it's original features. Beds and room very comfortable, and very reasonably priced. Top marks all around in fact.
Plenty of grounds and space for parking (anything!). Situated just as you enter the town from the South. 10 minutes walk to the centre of town.
The best breakfast of our entire trip across the country!
We even had a donation to the Charity we were fundrasing for. Would certainly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful welcome from Eileen and her family - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fabulous and food locally sourced where possible. The bedrooms had lovely views of the garden and were spotless. The residents Lounge was lovely - large TV with sky sports (for the rugby!), lots of magazines/books and a couple of rocking horses - but we stuck to the comfy leather settees! When a friend joined us there for coffee - Eileen supplied us with fresh coffee etc - thank you Eileen - we will definitely be back!
Dianne & Andrew Wood and friends

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset South UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Booked this guest house in May 2010 for a stay over the August bank holiday.

They could not have been more obliging or helpful. both when we booked the room, and nearer the time when we had a late change in bookings.

Breakfast, whichever one you choose, was superb. Choose from the buffet table first of cereal, fresh fruit, and yogurt. Orange juice, apple juice, or even just milk.

Tea or coffee is offered when you arrive for breakfast - traditional english or fruit tea if liked.

Cooked breakfast can be chosen from the Woodlands Special, which was 2 eggs, two thick rashers of welsh bacon, two sausages, mushrooms, beans, hash browns and fresh tomatoes, or if you have a smaller appetite, choose the traditional breakfast which was one of each of the above items.

Eggs can be poached, fried scrambled or boiled. In fact, whatever you fancied or wanted, you could have cooked. One of our friends had bacon butties, and another decided to have bacon and egg sarnies!

Sunday they very kindly got up and cooked an early breakfast at 6.30 am - No hotel will offer that kind of wonderful service. All beautifully presented, and copious amounts of tea and toast as well.

Well recommended for any kind of holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Hay Road, Builth Wells LD2 3YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Builth Wells
Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Builth Wells
Woodlands Guesthouse Builth Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.