We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We experienced a wonderful stay at this guest house.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Woodlands Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Builth Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Woodlands Guesthouse
Hay Road, Builth Wells LD2 3YL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Builth Wells
Heathfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We experienced a wonderful stay at this guest house.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My husband's family come from around Builth Wells and we were on a nostalgic trip for him. Our choice of BandB could not have been better. A warm friendly welcome and an amazing breakfast. Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    10
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
3
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely b and b wouldn't hesitate to recommend. Our host could not do enough for us, the breakfast was fantastic, rooms pleasant and the setting is pretty. Reasonably priced and lovely feel to the place. Great for getting away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed twice in the Woodlands and will keep coming back.

A warm welcome and excellent breakfasts. The house and grounds are fabulous and you are made to feel like a home from home. We were even allowed an extra late check out so we could squeeze in one last bike ride in the surrounding hills. Reccomend!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Stayed here while taking part in a Charity Cycle ride from St David's to Lowestoft. The owner couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely character turn of the centry countrymans house that still has most of it's original features. Beds and room very comfortable, and very reasonably priced. Top marks all around in fact.
Plenty of grounds and space for parking (anything!). Situated just as you enter the town from the South. 10 minutes walk to the centre of town.
The best breakfast of our entire trip across the country!
We even had a donation to the Charity we were fundrasing for. Would certainly return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke on Trent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We had a wonderful welcome from Eileen and her family - nothing was too much trouble. The breakfasts were fabulous and food locally sourced where possible. The bedrooms had lovely views of the garden and were spotless. The residents Lounge was lovely - large TV with sky sports (for the rugby!), lots of magazines/books and a couple of rocking horses - but we stuck to the comfy leather settees! When a friend joined us there for coffee - Eileen supplied us with fresh coffee etc - thank you Eileen - we will definitely be back!
Dianne & Andrew Wood and friends

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset South UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Booked this guest house in May 2010 for a stay over the August bank holiday.

They could not have been more obliging or helpful. both when we booked the room, and nearer the time when we had a late change in bookings.

Breakfast, whichever one you choose, was superb. Choose from the buffet table first of cereal, fresh fruit, and yogurt. Orange juice, apple juice, or even just milk.

Tea or coffee is offered when you arrive for breakfast - traditional english or fruit tea if liked.

Cooked breakfast can be chosen from the Woodlands Special, which was 2 eggs, two thick rashers of welsh bacon, two sausages, mushrooms, beans, hash browns and fresh tomatoes, or if you have a smaller appetite, choose the traditional breakfast which was one of each of the above items.

Eggs can be poached, fried scrambled or boiled. In fact, whatever you fancied or wanted, you could have cooked. One of our friends had bacon butties, and another decided to have bacon and egg sarnies!

Sunday they very kindly got up and cooked an early breakfast at 6.30 am - No hotel will offer that kind of wonderful service. All beautifully presented, and copious amounts of tea and toast as well.

Well recommended for any kind of holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
llanelli
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Stayed at Woodlands for one night going to a family wedding in Builth Wells, three couples and two children. Our only gripe was that we didn't book for longer. The house and grounds were beautiful, our little four year old had a ball playing in the front lawns. The rooms were spotlessly clean, the breakfast superb and the welcome was brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you. Would definitely recommend Woodlands to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Also Known As:
Woodlands Hotel Builth Wells
Woodlands Guesthouse Builth Wells, Wales
Address: Hay Road, Builth Wells LD2 3YL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Builth Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Builth Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Woodlands Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Woodlands Guesthouse to your Saves list