We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country House with excellent service and lovely food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lasswade Country House Hotel

Lasswade Country House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lasswade Country House Hotel to your Saves list
Lasswade Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Country House with excellent service and lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

The Country House was situated in a quiet local with very good views of the surrounding country side. The room had all amenities and were nicely decorated. The food was very good, and the owners were very helpful and informative about the surrounding area and recommended places to visit. Eveything was done to make our stay pleasurable and we were made very welcome by the owners.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
18
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire,UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2011

This is the 5th or 6th time I have stayed at Lasswade and would recommend it to anyone who wants an active break or one of doing little- whichever you choose, you must eat here!!!. I have always found Emma and Roger to be good hosts and will always go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. The guesthouse is in a small village with little to do, but in a great location for walking routes. On our last trip, we travelled to the Brecons which was some distance away,but the bath and fantastic food at the end of the 40 minutes journey back from the hills was very welcome! Definitely be back

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

Lasswade Hotel has proven to be a lovely place for me and my family (including teenagers and younger children!), to stay. Emma and Roger Stevens, the owners and managers are a wonderful and friendly couple with masses of interesting information about the area and life in Wales. They are warm, friendly, accommodating and fun to be with. Roger is an excellent cook and all meals were of a very high standard - a real treat! The rooms are clean, modern, comfortable, with fab ensuites and stunning views. What more can you ask for? Thank you, Emma and Roger, for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

Our stay was to pay a visit to the local beer (and cycling - not that we partake in cycling) festival, with several friends. Hotel was clean and comfortable with great breakfasts (we didn't try dinner - saving that for another visit).
Found our hosts to be very pleasant (and Roger shared a common interest in various forms of motorsport and Land Rovers).
Good location in a lovely part of Wales.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2006

This is a gem of a B&B, in a class a cut above most other B&Bs. Its very well decorated, and extremely clean and comfortable, both in the rooms and the common areas.
The food in the restaurant and at breakfast is top notch - the best in town, and the welcome couldn't be friendlier.
Location is in countryside but still central (although in the smallest town in GB everything is central), and very peaceful.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2006

We have stayed in the Brecon's on plenty of occasions. This hotel was pretty expensive by comparison to other accommodation we have found locally. There are some good places in Llandovery, for example, which are almost half the cost and much nicer. The standard of accommodation at Lasswade was below what we would normally expect, but especially so in view of the cost of the room.

We declined to eat in the restaurant in view of the price, and so I can not comment about the quality, but at £25 per head I would not have expected anything less than "truly magnificent". From the general shabby state of the hotel, we decided that this was not worth the risk.

These were views we fairly formed on our arrival, and even though the later incident resulted in us being shouted at aggressively by the owner and told to leave (at 8pm on a Bank Holiday week-end ) this was actually a very satisfying outcome for us.

It made no difference that this was all a genuine mistake, because rules are clearly rules. However, a non-negotiable levy of £7.00 for opening a single bottle of wine does not display much business sense given the fully stocked bar downstairs and the unquenched thirst we all had after an afternoon walking in the surrounding hills.

The hotel was also curiously empty for a Bank Holiday week-end.

This only leads us to surmise this must be a hotel business in desperate need of cutomers with no real clue as to how to keep them happy.

Stayed May 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2005

Owners rude and aggressive. Hotel dirty and overpriced.

  • Stayed May 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Proprietor at Lasswade Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2006
We make no apology for asking people to leave our Establishment when, they purchase copious amounts of Alcohol from a local Shop, to party in their Bedroom. They were informed that they will be charged a corkage and as a result of this they became argumentative, rude and disruptive.
Our responsibility goes not to them but to the rest of our Guests, who wanted a quiet and comfortable stay in a Welsh Country House Hotel.

As to the other remarks, the A.A. award us a high Quality percentage which is based upon Cleanliness and Hospitality.

I rest my case.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lasswade Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lasswade Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lasswade Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a peaceful break in the heart of Wales. Enjoy our hospitality, good food and amazing views. Four star graded period country house. Restaurant & Licensed. WiFi. Off road parking, semi rural location but 2mins walk to town centre. Local places to visit are market towns, historic castles, country houses & Gardens. Stay 3 nights or more and receive a complimentary bottle of wine (this offer applies to 2 people sharing a room and dinner must be taken at least 2 evenings). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lasswade Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasswade Country Hotel
Lasswade Country House Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lasswade Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.