We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neuadd arms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Neuadd Arms Hotel to your Saves list
Neuadd Arms Hotel
The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
BUDE
1 review
“Neuadd arms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Second visit to this hotel with our walking group from Devon.Excellent value for money, especially if you are a group and book mid week. You can get guided walks included in the price.
The food is great and the tea and cakes at the end of walks (tiffin) a real bonus. Some of the rooms need updating, but dont let this put you off. We would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    22
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
13
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bideford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here with our walking group and had a great time. The food is fantastic, beautifully cooked and presented and the portions are generous. Enjoyed sampling the real ales brewed on the premises. The friendly welcome more than compensates for the faded decor and the eccentric plumbing. Visited a few years ago and would be very happy to stay there again. Great value for money and full of eccentric charm.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The selection of real ales is really great, the food is solid & filling, but they really should look at updating the bedrooms.

Rooms at the front are affected by noisy revelers at 2am as they're booted out of a local club/late-pub, so bring your earplugs.

Room Tip: Back of the hotel for a quieter night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

There are very few airs and graces about the Neuadd Arms. We arrived after a long drive from Dorset, starved and tired, needing some hospitality and quickly. We dived straight into the Neuadd Arms and then straight into the pie and mash, complimented by some very tasty local ale (the landlord is an authority on this if you are a real ale fan). Good, honest, wholesome food in a welcoming setting, from nice people. Can't complain!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a nice pub and the food is fine, but the accommodation is like something from the dark ages. I think the mattresses are at least 20 years old and the beds seem to have been sourced from an old school, as they are about the right size for a 10 year old. Bathroom had no shower and it didn't look like there had been any investment in the place for years. It was like a bad episode of the hotel inspector. Avoid.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Joined a group to have a slightly different New Year, arrived at the hotel and was greated by the friendly staff, the hotel has seen better days but it works it well. The floor boards are at different angles but that is part of the charm.

I was sharing a room with another lady in the party and it was a cosy room but neither of us had any issues.

We were warned that as we were a large group of walkers/bikers all returning at the same time on a particually wet and muddy weekend we may need to stagger our shower times as there might not be enough water for all of us at the same time. I did not hear anyone complain about having cold water, so either we staggered very well there wasn't a major issue.

New Years Eve was great, live music and the Wassailing around the village was great fun and the band and the drums really made for a memerable NYE.

The staff were all friendly a great place to stay for walkers.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The location is good, in a nice village. The staff were friendly. The food was good although not all choices on the menu were always available. The place is quirky - creaky floorboards, uneven floors and narrow corridors and stairs.
But the accomodation.......bedroom was cold, tired, cramped and very dated. The mattress was very old and worn which meant we rolled into the middle of the bed....trying to stay on one side was like clinging to the north face of the Eiger!! The ensuite was tiny with no window or proper ventilation which meant the bedroom became damp from the steam. Very interesting feature....when I was lying in the bath (trying to get warm!) someone in the room above used their shower, which made my bath vibrate and created a lot of noise in the water pipes!! - an unexpected jacuzzi....!! Not their fault it was cold - the heating was off because it was August but, unfortunately for us, it was a cold and wet weekend in Wales!
The communal rooms were clean but shabby.
I asked my husband how much we had paid for the room and was shocked to hear it was £75 per night. We were in a group and the trip had been arranged by someone else so I had no idea until then. I have to say that it is not worth the money. If we had not been in a group I would have checked out and found somewhere else.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Neuadd Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neuadd Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.