We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Welsh Welcome second to none” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neuadd Arms Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Llanwrtyd Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Neuadd Arms Hotel
Save
You added Neuadd Arms Hotel to your Saves list
The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Welsh Welcome second to none”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Don't expect the crockery to match, or the towels to be particularly fluffy .... this a a gem of a local staging inn from times gone by with some Laura Ashley wallpaper, log fires and the warmest welcome that side of Offa's Dyke. Base yourself here with a group of friends and enjoy the walks in the locality. Come by train on the Heart of Wales line and leave petrol fumes behind. Lindsay is hugely proud of his brewery - check out the Heart of Wales brewery website - and he will happily give you a tour. The whole family and a stalwart team of staff will provide packed lunches, rescues for tired walkers, and wholesome food - where else can you have a three course evening meal for £12.50 or a gin and tonic at £2.50 ??? Llanwrytyd reinvents itself with all sorts of mad competitions - but you don't need a competition as an excuse to enjoy hospitality as it should be !!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    23
    2
    6
    5
See reviews for
4
14
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Wide range of very good beer including their own. Reasonable pub food and a log fire. Good starting point for lots of walks and events

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I was recommended to stay here by friends, and wasn't disappointed. We used it as a base for walking in the Welsh hills, so tucked into a Neuadd hearty Welsh Breakfast beforehand! The rooms are comfy, clean and warm, Both bars have real log fires and there is a brewery 'out-back' so the beer is just right!
Car park tucked round the back, The hotel is easy to find and rates are very reasonable for a weekender away from it all..

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid the rooms above the bar if you want an early night!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I have been visiting the Neuadd Arms for over 10 years, using it as a base for mountian biking weekends. It is one of the friendliest places I have ever stayed in, and an ideal place to relax after a good ride. Everybody, including the locals, make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble, just ask if you want anything. If you like good beer then this is the place for you as Lindsey brews an excellent selection in the microbrewery next door - trips around it available on request. The food is excellent and plentiful, with a good choice of restaurant and bar meals.
On the downside, it's fair to say that if you are looking for a 5 star experience then this is probably not the place for you, the rooms are a little on the small side, but they are clean and the beds are comfortable. I have just tries to book in for a weekend in Nov. 2012, but it is already fully booked, need I say more!!

Room Tip: There is a room with a 4 poster bed available
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We had lunch in the Neuadd Arms on the last day of our holiday in the area. The service was friendly, the atmosphere homely. Food was very good value; and my husband really enjoyed the beer - they are the Heart of Wales Brewery. Highly recommended if you want value for money, informal surroundings and friendly owners. Newspapers to read, comfy seating, would love to visit when the fire is lit

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The place was crawling with dogs, walkers, hikers, us and our Lurcher - Basil, was made exceptionally welcome. A lovely old hotel which brought back memories of staying in the King's Arms in Kingsbridge Devon, where each year we'd sneak the Dachunds in under a blanket in the 1970's, now everywhere has gone Euro Nazi!

It was just amazing to place to remember the past the way things really used to be, "Heartbeat" if you must, but a visit will definitley revive your own "Heartbeat" moments. The Welsh locals were extremelty hospitable, I just couldn't work out which was Greengrass!

If you like Premier Inn's and plastic clinical living - don't blindly book in.

If you on the other hand want good value for money (the food was good as well) and a warm welcome, it's the place for you.

When I was a sales rep I always wanted to stay at places like this, because you actually get a decent night's sleep on a decent bed, not next to a familly of six in a Premier ..........

We'll be back!!!!!!

Room Tip: We were at the back vert quiet but it was a allocated dog room which was incredibly clean could not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontyclun, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

I will start with the negative - just to get it out of the way. the general decor is best described as care worn, and dated in some cases.

now for the rest of the review, check in was painless, the room was very comfortable, especially the 4 poster bed, and spotlessly clean. the staff are extremely helpful and polite, service is also prompt.

The location is fantastic, as is the food (and the portions). The beer is spectacular as it should be with a brewery on site.

we had no problems getting served here at any time of the day, and had a great afternoon in the lounge (due to rain) with some of the locals, whom are just as polite and pleasant as the staff.

Saturaday night was a lot busier, with geusts from other hotlels in the village coming to sample the food and beer, they all seemed abit upset that they had chosen other establishments, as the Neuadd Arms is very good value for money.

A lot of renovations have been carried out since some of the previous reviews, with more works planned. After all, this is a 150 year old building, it is open all year round, and gets very busy, especially for the activity weekends.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neuadd Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neuadd Arms Hotel

Address: The Square, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian Grade II listed building offering comfortable, family run accommodation, good home cooked food, log fires, real ale bars and a games room. Facilities include tea/coffee making facilities in all rooms, two Bars, Residents’ TV lounge, Restaurant and a Launderette available for guests use. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Neuadd Arms Hotel Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neuadd Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.