We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic Irish welcome in Wales” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bryncelyn Guesthouse to your Saves list
Bryncelyn Guesthouse
Dolecoed Rd, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fantastic Irish welcome in Wales”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Bryncelyn is a lovely place, as nice on the inside as the charming patio area outside. It was my first visit to Llanwrtyd Wells for the Man v Horse event and I was delighted with how beautiful the area is. Our room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable with plenty of tea bags & lots of biscuits. Our bathroom came with plenty of hot water (which friends staying elsewhere in the village were envious of!). Breakfast was delicious; fresh fruit & yoghurt, cereal and toast and the fried breakfast lovely. Lil and her team were friendly and helpful. The whole experience was great and I have already re-booked for next year. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
It's lovely when guests book for next year on their departure as we know they've enjoyed their stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave this excellent review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
31
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bolton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

A lovely, clean ,friendly and comfortable guest house.It was my second stay at Bryncelyn and hope to saty again next year. Lil is lovely, friendly and an excellent host. I stayed with my friend and we shared room 1 which had a double bed and a single bed and an ensuite bathroom. There was always plenty of hot water which is a must after doing the Man v Horse race.Very comfy beds with crisp clean bedding.Breakfast is always freshly prepared when you go down stairs in the morning.Excellent position for the start of the race and the pubs and restaurants. Cant wait for next year.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It was a fantastic weekend all round. It was lovely to see you again and we look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B, friendly atmosphere. Lil was so kind, open and helpful! The Attic Flat has lots of character and is perfect for families... but surely will be appreciated by anyone! Spotless, warm, cosy... a breakfast that will take you out of bed easily. Great overall experience! Will be back for sure! :)

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thanks for this excellent review. I'm glad you had a good weekend. It was a pleasure to meet you both and look forward to your returning in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Very comfortable, clean and welcoming guest house. Great place to stay to explore surrounding areas. Lil does a fantastic breakfast to start your day. We will definitely stay again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your great comments - it makes our job so worthwhile. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, to be close by to Builth wells for a show the next day. We had a great welcome, and got shown to our rooms. The rooms were spotlessly clean, and stocked up with water tea, coffee etc, and more of the sachets on the landing so that you can help your self, which I thought was a great idea. There's little to do in the town itself, however it's a great place to go for a walk and there's also a few places to go for a bite to eat. The next morning after a good nights sleep, we woke up to yet another lovely welcome and sat for breakfast, with more than enough of a choice from yogurt, cereal, juice etc and of course the deliciously cooked breakfast. Thank you for your great hospitality. We may see you next year!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. A lot of guests come and stay with us when visiting the Royal Welsh Showground in Builth Wells as it's a scenic 15 minute drive from us here Llanwrtyd Wells. Hope your family had a good day at the Spring Festival. The weather was beautiful. Hope to see you all again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

As others have written Lil is a very accommodating host. I was working at the Welsh showground and needed an early start in the morning. That was no problem for her and her husband with breakfast on the table at 6.45 am. The bedroom was very clean and the bed extremely comfortable. The only negatives were the non existent Orange phone service and the tv freezing for the same sort of reason.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post this excellent review. We're happy to cater for early risers.
Most mobile networks are good at the guesthouse - Vodafone network works particularly well - unfortunately you have to go outside for an Orange network signal. We hope to welcome back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

What a fabulous find! We stayed as a family for one night in January when the town of Llanwrtyd was covered with snow. Our rooms were lovely and toasty, extremely well equipped and had plenty of room. En suite bathroom had toiletries, shower cap etc. Tea and coffee making facilities were welcome on such a cold night and further supplies were left out for guests on the landing outside. DVDs and books were also available on the top floor should anyone need one. Lil, the proprietor, was very welcoming and we had a chat about the area after breakfast. I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Right in the centre of the town it is a great base for exploring Mid Wales. All in all - an excellent stay

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front of the building for lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilandmalc, Owner at Bryncelyn Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave this lovely review. I enjoyed chatting to your family and I'm delighted you had a good stay with us. Llanwrtyd Wells and the surrounding countryside is particularly beautiful with the snow at present. We hope to see you again in the future. Thank you for posting the key back so promptly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bryncelyn Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bryncelyn Guesthouse

Address: Dolecoed Rd, Llanwrtyd Wells LD5 4RA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanwrtyd Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Llanwrtyd Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bryncelyn Guesthouse, in beautiful Llanwrtyd Wells, is a 4 star family run guest house providing ideal accommodation while attending one of the local festivals either here in Llanwrtyd Wells or in the nearby towns of Builth Wells and Llandovery. All rooms are either ensuite or have private bathrooms. Guest rooms have TV, DVD player and tea & coffee making facilities. We are in the heart of the smallest town in Britain (with a population of 600) with restaurants, pubs and shops on the doorstep. We have offroad parking for our guests. Price includes full breakfast, either Welsh or the option of a Continental. The town is surrounded by beautiful countryside with rolling hills and it's famous for wacky events such as World Championship Bog Snorkeling and Man versus Horse Marathon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bryncelyn Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bryncelyn Guesthouse Llanwrtyd Wells, Wales - Powys

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bryncelyn Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.