We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand UK Week-End” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Glen Usk Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Glen Usk Hotel to your Saves list
Glen Usk Hotel
South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
norfolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Grand UK Week-End”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Have just returned from a Friday to Monday holiday at this hotel travelling with Grand UK. The hotel is extremely shabby and in need of complete urgent refurbishment. The staff at the hotel were excellent, especially Helen, the manager, considering the conditions they are working with. Arrived and was allocated room 308 on third floor, walk in and the smell hit you and took you breath away, opened the en suite door and the smell of urine was overpowering. Was given room 318, smelt OK but was small and very tatty as will be seen by the photos. On the second night was wakened in early hours of the morning by a dog (no dogs allowed says brochure) whining, howling and scratching to get out followed by people thumping up and down corridor. When I spoke to the manager next morning she had no idea the dog/s were there, was most apologetic. Apparently dogs are allowed in the hotel when dog shows are on and there was a dog show that week-end. Will never use Grand UK again, they need to get their act together. They have very good staff in this hotel, that work hard and should not be taken advantage of.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

It was disappointing to hear that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion. Your feedback is extremely important to us and we really do value your custom as such I offer my sincere apologies for any inconvenience that you may have suffered during your stay.

I really was very sorry to read your comments regarding the overall décor of the Glen Usk, we agree that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and this forms part of a rolling maintenance programme. Your comments have been noted and a review of whether any more immediate improvements can be made is currently being discussed.

Once again thank you for your comments and please be assured that I have taken them on board.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    57
    23
    13
    20
See reviews for
12
41
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for two nights, not nice at all.

The room cost £90.00 per night and can't see how this hotel can justify this the room was shabby large cracks on walls, dark stains on ceiling. And to top it off when you ran the hot water for the bath it came out brown not nice at all.

The only good thing about this hotel was when I left. I do hope they invest my £180 in decorating and updating my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you very much indeed for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

I was naturally most disappointed to learn that you had an unsatisfactory stay and certain aspects of the hotel failed to meet with your expectations and I would like to begin by saying that we do take all feedback seriously.

We do believe that we offer value for money compared with other hotels in the area, however, we know that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel. We have an ongoing maintenance programme for this and are always looking at aspects which could be tackled in the short term and have certainly taken your comments on board to aid this process.

Thank you once again for your review and please be assured that your comments have been taken on board.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

the Glen Usk Hotel is a lovely old hotel, certainly needs a bit of TLC, but could not fault anything about it. Staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. The room I was in (117) was big, clean and looked on to the park . The food was excellent, and the choice was exceptional. Keep up the good standard
Eddie & Cathie (Mature couple) from Rutherglen nr. Glasgow

Room Tip: not sure but I think the odd numbers especially level one are all front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmes Chapel
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

One thing about British hotels which I cannot tolerate is the anonymity of the manager. Nothing could be more different here. Helen Morgan is a star for me. Ever present either at reception or helping in the restaurant with her lovely smile and great sense of humour. All the other staff I met were equally friendly and helpful. Look beyond the peeling wall paper and scuffed paintwork and you will find a hotel with good food at dinner and breakfast and comfortable rooms. I wish Helen and her team every success in the future

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlooking Temple Gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay.

We know there are certain areas and rooms that need upgrading but as you state, our rooms are clean, and our staff are proud to work at the Glen Usk which is reflected in their manner whilst at work, which in turn helps guests to enjoy their stay.

Thank you again for your comments and we do hope to be able to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Myself and a friend stayed at the Glen Usk on a National holidays five day trip. The hotel is well situated in Llandrindod Wells and is large and well staffed. The rooms are light and airy with tea and coffee making facilties, tv and wifi access. We had a twin room and it was large enough for two. (We were in room 216). The meals were excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would definatley stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here for just one night on our way home. Very welcoming hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We didn't eat here in the evening but other people gave a good report, we had breakfast and that was fine. This hotel is was it is , quite large and very old, it must be a difficult job just keeping the pace with all the maintenance that needs doing. However for the price it was fine. I think it is used by a number of coach companies and certainly the other residents seem to be having a good time. Very centrally located looking over the park, there was a Victorian event going on while we there which added to the atmosphere.
Llandrindod Wells is like some other places that have seen better days , there where a lot of shops that had closed which gave a rather dispirited air, but of course this area has a lot to offer in other ways.
My only comment on the room which was a good size , was that it was a little tired decoratively speaking with some pealing wallpaper. These days even more modest hotels provide shampoo and shower gel, but hey it didn't ruin our stay.
If you are in the area stay there you will get a good welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us recently.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly agree that there are rooms and areas within the Glen Usk which need attention and as such have an ongoing maintenance programme, however we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your custom and we certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

helen and her staff are a really friendly,helpful and committed group of workers who are trying to turn the fortunes of the glen usk around, they have a three year plan of refurbishment which they admit is needed for this lovely hotel.
the outside is adorned with the most beautiful hanging baskets which only add to the victorian facade and as the hotel overlooks a small park the surroundings are green and fragrant,
my bedroom was huge, a little old-fashioned, but CLEAN! with the softest whitest sheets on the bed and plenty of towels in the large bathroom (take your own shampoo they don't supply), i ate in the hotel for breakfast and dinner and had no complaints, it was nice to see the manageress,helen, mucking in clearing tables and ensuring all our needs were being met, wine was a reasonable £12.95 a bottle and the bar was well stacked,
if i was in the area again i would certainly visit the hotel, when it is fully refurbed it will be restored to its victorian spleandour with all the modern comforts travellers require ,
good luck to helen and her staff

Room Tip: i was at the back overlooking the car park but it was so quiet i didnt hear a thing, rooms to the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma A, Manager at Glen Usk Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your constructive feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Helen and her team who will be pleased to read them.

As you say and we agreer that there are some areas and rooms which need upgrading within the hotel and we have a rolling maintenance plan for this. However we pride ourselves on the level of service provided, which does help us to overcome this and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Glen Usk Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glen Usk Hotel

Address: South Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Llandrindod Wells, overlooking Temple Gardens the Glen Usk Hotel offers a warm welcome for all visitors, whether the group or coach visitor, conference delegate, independent or family holiday makers and business visitors. The hotel boasts a restaurant overlooking the gardens with a fine table d'hote menu and a spacious lounge bar with access onto the ornate veranda. Entertainment for residents is held on a regular basis. There is a lift to all floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Glen Usk Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glen Usk Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glen Usk Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.