We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Metropole Hotel

Save Saved
You added Metropole Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Metropole Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Gloucester, England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Another great time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Metropole definitely gets it right each time. Our room was newly decorated and spotless. The food in the restaurant was superb. Lovely lounge and bar area to sit in. The pool is warm. All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful. A visit to the Cycle Museum is recommended. We will certainly return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Squeaker, so pleased that you were able to come back and stay again. The cycle museum like so much in Mid Wales is a hidden gem. I hope that you will make it back again and please will you make sure to ask reception to meet me because we have yet to do so. Many thanks Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    363
    208
    46
    18
    10
See reviews for
60
354
12
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

we were greeted warmly, cases attended to by staff, reception very courteous, friendly and helpful as we had to change a few rooms around - no problem! The rooms were all spacious, clean and well appointed and nothing was a trouble to the room and hotel staff. Evening meal was well presented and the table service was excellent considering there were several different groups (and languages) and breakfast in the usual buffet style was most enjoyable. We could not fault the visit and compliment all the staff for their efficient attentions at all times. Plenty of room for car/coach parking and disabled bays. IMarEST visit. D Baker

Room Tip: A bit of road noise at the front of the hotel about 6a.m. onwards but otherwise all rooms are well a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Dennis, thank you for your positive feedback following your stay with us. With groups there is quite often a bit of juggling of rooms that has to be sorted out and I am pleased to read that it was handled efficiently. Kind regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Went for lunch here today as we had an appointment locally in the afternoon. Ate in the brassiere , the menu was extensive and a wide range of meals to suit all tastes. We had a lovely meal, piping hot and freshly cooked. Staff were friendly and we would certainly visit again if passing through.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Happyhols, delighted that you had a good meal in the Brasserie. I am fortunate to have excellent staff in both the Brasserie and Kitchen and they do a great job providing good food and hospitality. Please do drop in again when you are next passing. Kind Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I was staying overnight for work and was really pleasantly surprised. Although very large and busy for Fathers Day, the staff were really helpful and attentive. My room was comfortable and looked as if it had been recently refurbished. (I appreciated the free Wi-Fi as I could not get mobile signal in the town.) The public rooms were large and nicely furnished. I spent time in the Hotel’s pool, and although the tiles were looking in need of a bit of TLC in places, the steam room, sauna and Jacuzzi were all in full working order! That evening I ate in the Brassiere and both the food and the service were excellent. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Sue, Thanks for you feedback following your stay with us. I swim myself most morning however have been a been a bit lackadaisical recently. However your comments inspired me to get down there again and see what was going on. An important member of the team has been on paternity leave and a few weeks holiday and I agree the tiles were not as clean as they might be. I have had this dealt with and if you were to return now you would find the pool sparkling. It is the nature of the hotel business that you cannot let your guard drop for a minute or something will go wrong. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I am delighted that you enjoyed the rest of the hotel. Incidentally I did 96 lengths this morning, so back in training. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

As a frequent visitor to the Metropole, usually for work based conferences, I decided to take the family for a short leisure break. We had a superb dinner, bed and breakfast offer and knowing how good the food and accommodation usually is, we opted for a one night stay to get away from the normal weekend routine. We were so glad we did because from the moment we arrived it felt like a home from home. Excellent lunch in Spencers Bar, a leisurely afternoon in the swimming pool followed by a top class three course evening meal in the Radnor Restaurant. Great service and so pleasing to see a menu that is a world apart from the run of mill restaurant/pub menu's that you tend to get these days. Even the children's menu was extensive and all freshly prepared.

The Metropole is such a lovely. charming hotel still with plenty of Victorian features. A good blend of contemporary and classic with bags of character, worlds apart from the faceless, characterless chain hotels.

Top marks to the Metropole and it's staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear DJB, it is always so reassuring for us to read that people still appreciate the qualities that make for a traditional hotel. Of course being family owned we can still do things our way, not the accountants way. It doesn't make us a lot of money but it gives much more satisfaction. The recent removal of the Betty Miles to improve the lounge area is a fine example of this.
It is great to convert a business visitor into a leisure visitor and I hope that we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yelverton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Public areas of the hotel are very pleasant,bedrooms are clean but a little dated.We would recommend eating in the brasserie as we feel the main restaurant food is not quite as good.
Our only complaint regarding this hotel is the fact that smokers gather outside the main hotel entrance to smoke which results in the ground floor public areas smelling of smoke which as non smokers annoyed us a little.

Room Tip: The turret rooms are spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear ggjsg, I am often asked why we don't have more comfortable seating outside the front of the hotel and your feedback answers that question, I don't want to encourage people to congregate there. However I can't ban them so to a degree we just have to go with the flow and it has not given rise to any complaints in the past. The Brasserie food is excellent but the Radnor Restaurant should be as well and I will pass your comments on to Chef. Many thanks for your feedback Regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pwllmeyric
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This hotel is a little step back in time but not in a detrimental way. Hotel decor was pleasant & the lounge was very comfortable. The dining room was modern, light and airy. The staff were pleasant and efficient but there were quite a few staff members whose command of the English language was a little off-putting. Food was generally very good but portions were a little on the small side. The breakfast was buffet style and was O.K. with plenty of choice. Our only problem was with the superior double we ordered as it was right up on the 4th floor with a long high level window which had no view other the roof of the hotel. We asked to change but on the 1st night the hotel was full. They did agree to move us on the 2nd night & they kindly gave us a suite at no extra charge which was lovely & for little more to pay I would suggest treating yourself to a suite. All the bathrooms were newly refurbished & very, very nice. Both rooms very well equipped. If I needed to visit that area again we would stay again at the metropole but ask for a suite.

Room Tip: Book a suite as it is well worth the small additional charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheMetropoleHotel, Owner at Metropole Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Carole, Thank you for your feedback and I was pleased to read that we managed to resolve the Bedroom situation for you. We do have a fairly cosmopolitan Restaurant staff but language should not have been a barrier and I will monitor this. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon, Kind regards Justin Baird-Murray Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Metropole Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metropole Hotel

Address: Temple Street, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5DY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Metropole Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Metropole Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metropole Hotel Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metropole Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.