We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“need a place to stop STOP HERE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herb Garden Cafe

Herb Garden Cafe
5 Spa Centre | Station Crescent, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5BB, Wales
01597 823 082
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Vegetarian, Family Fare, Healthy, Vegan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“need a place to stop STOP HERE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My partner and I were wandering around Llandrindod Wells with our dog and we were ready for a cup of tea when we spotted a sandwich board advertising the herb garden cafe, we followed the directions and very nearly gave up looking as it wasnt easy to spot but then we spotted it down the side of the co -op. Now its not the most scenic place to sit and eat outside but we had cover over us which was good as we had the dog. The lady who served us was very friendly and helpful served us our tea and cake and even gave our dog a bowl of water. The pit stop was much needed and the cake and tea hit the spot. Give it a go, they cater for many various dietary requirements.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    17
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great cafe with super cakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Called here when passing through on a long journey. Our daughter (2.5 years old) needed a break and despite the 60s style shopping precinct appearance this cafe turned out to be the ideal place. Very friendly and helpful staff, great drinks and cakes. There was plenty of space for our daughter and plenty of toys to keep her entertained. The staff even found a pink plate, spoon and fork for her. The atmosphere was relaxed and communal with a diverse range of customers.

The menu had a good selection of meals particularly for Vegetarians. As we had already had lunch I didn't get chance to sample the meals. Will definitely call back to try dinner next time we are nearyby.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandrindod Wells, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The staff and management seem to make an effort, and the vegaterian options are good if that's important to you. But personally I don't find this place anything apart from average. Average prices, average quality, average options on the menu and average service. Fine if you want to grab an average lunch out between more exciting things.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended *****”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

Excellent Food, Fantastic Menu, Exeptional Service, Cater for Dairy Free, Gluten Free, Vegan Food, Vegetarian, Meat Eaters & All **Such a variety of good food.. Atmosphere relaxing* free wifi for cafe customers* Clean toilet* Cater for Breast feeding mums* Good as any tourist info for community knowledge *****

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Great Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012

We called for lunch on our way north having asked for recommendations in a local shop. We weren't disappointed. Good service, wide range of freshly prepared food available, and friendly efficient staff. We're glad we stopped off on our journey.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herb Garden Cafe also viewed

Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 
Llandrindod Wells, Powys
 

Been to Herb Garden Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herb Garden Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.