We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must have got the wrong room!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Highland Moors Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Highland Moors Guest House to your Saves list
Highland Moors Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must have got the wrong room!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I recently spent some time here and found the room extremely gloomy. The lighting was poor; the decor tire with, furniture mismatched, cheap and old fashioned; washing my hair under the shower was very difficult due to the very poor stream of water; and the feather bedding was so noisy it woke me up at every turn though the bed itself was comfortable.

The cooked breakfast was very good but the cereal breakfast was in tupperware (!) containers and looked less than appealing although the fresh fruit was lovely and I even had thick yoghurt on one of the days but it was missing on the other days which was a shame.

I was there during the torrential rains of last week so that could have added to the general gloom but I'm glad I didn't spend any time other than sleep time in the bedroom.

The staff were very friendly enough but didn't "chat" to any of the guests that I was aware of.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackhampster2, Owner at Highland Moors Guest House, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
I am disappointed that this guest had a less than excellent experience at Highland Moors. As we were away ourselves at the time, we were not able to address any concerns which coudl have been voiced whilst they were here. Whilst we are constantly improving and upgrading all the time, we hope that a desk not matching a wardrobe & chest of drawers won't spoil your experience too much. On the up side, this room has recently been painted with new ensuite, new carpet and flat screen TV. See our Gallery picture, bottom right. The showers are fed from mains pressure throughout so we're not sure how the shower could have been low volume water.

Having just come back from Ireland, we constantly look at taking ideas and implementing them here. We use matching cereal containers for some cereals to keep them fresh, but we have added extra 4-5 choices in packets, a choice of 2-3 Bio Pots for greater choice of yogurt, and 4-5 extra sweet & savoury spread options including honey with cinammon, orange, lime marmalade, and peanut butter. We also add in croissants, & pastries options when guests are here for more than one night.

Come try us for youself. I know you will enjoy your stay at Highland Moors
Sue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    23
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
19
26
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We visited Highland Moors for a Jubilee weekend break. Although the owners of the guest house were away themselves, Theresa did not fail to make us very welcome. The room we stayed in was very spacious and had lovely views of the fields and hills in the distance.

There was a good selection for breakfast which tasted great and could tell it was high quality produce. The only niggle was that they were out of Lava bread. Having never been to Wales before, I was slightly dissapointed I couldn't sample it. Other than that a fantastic stay! Oh and the bed was super comfy, I don't think me and my partner have ever slept so well!

Thank you for your hospitality, you have a beautiful place.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Great location, good value and massive rooms. Nice and quiet, great place to stay with very helpful and friendly hosts!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

My husband and I were greeted at this Victorian spa hotel with a very warm welcome by the proprietors Jeff and Sue. The hotel has a fascinating history and enyoys nice views. Our room was clean, warm and spacious and the beds are incredibly comfortable. Best for me was the breakfast which included choices of 'lava bread omelette, full English and smoked kippers. We would certainly consider staying here again and can't recommend Highland Moors highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

You can be sure of a very warm welcome if you stay at this wonderfull victorian hotel.Jeff and Sue certainly go out of their way to ensure your stay is as comfortable as possible. Great breakfasts and a spacious clean room with excellent ensuite shower room. If you have an interest cycling be sure to visit the National Cycling Museum in the town centre.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This was our second stay at the Highland Moors (first one being 3yrs ago), and I'm pleased to say it's as good as it was then. The owners are very friendly & nothing is too much trouble. Our room (same as previous stay) was very spacious, warm & clean. A special mention has to be for the full English breakfast - one of the best we've had!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

I stayed for a night and would strongly recommend. The room was large, clean and well furnished and the bed very comfortable. The room was also quiet and had a lovely outlook. Sue and Jeff are most welcoming and the breakfast was excellent. I'll definitely stay here when I'm next visiting.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Highland Moors Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Moors Guest House

Address: Wellington Road, Llandrindod Wells LD1 5ND, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Llandrindod Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Highland Moors Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are 13 spacious rooms, including huge family rooms and elegant bay rooms with luxury walk-in shower en-suites. All rooms have TVs, hospitality trays, leather sofas and comfy chairs. The guest lounge offers evening comfort with sofas, real log fire and pool table. There is plenty of secure off-road parking space and a secure lockup for valuables such as motorbikes, mountain bikes and golfing equipment etc. Wifi and hardwired broadband points available free to help you keep in touch as you are traveling. We source the freshest, free range and local produce and offer a generous breakfast choice. Pancakes and waffles are a new addition for 2013. Evening meals for groups are available with prior booking. Families and children needs catered for and are very welcome. Special mini-break offers available in the Winter. Highland Moors is ideal for conferences, meeting, training, retreats, functions, parties and a base to enjoy a huge range of outdoor adventure sports and activities. We are happy to put together a package for your group. Outdoor adventure activities in the area include: 4x4/off-roading and green laning, rally driving, golfing, shooting, fishing, mountain biking, cycling, horse riding, go-karting, trail bike riding, kayaking, sailing, akwakats, canal boat trips, archery, classic car touring, canoeing, outdoor adventure centres and walking. Other attractions within easy access include the National Cycle Collection, Elan Valley, Powis Castle, Gigrin Farm Red Kite Feeding Centre, Spaceguard Centre, Silver Mines Experience, Dan-yr- Ogof Showcaves, Devil's Bridge, beach at Ynyslas/Borth, Abbeycwmhir Hall, Cantref Adventure Farm, Owl & Small Breeds Farm, Judges Lodging, Thomas Shop, Glansevern Gardens, Water-break-its-neck waterfall & woodland walk, Brecon Mountain Railway and others, Brecon Beacons & Pen-y-fan, Welsh Royal Crystal and Gilfach Farm longhouse and nature reserve.We are sure that you will enjoy your stay and we look forward to offering you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Highland Moors Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Moors Guest House Llandrindod Wells, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Highland Moors Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.