We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find, beautiful B&B complimented by excellent owners!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fern Villa Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fishguard
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fern Villa Guest House
Save
You added Fern Villa Guest House to your Saves list
Church Road | Goodwick, Fishguard SA64 OEH, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Fishguard B&B and Inns
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a find, beautiful B&B complimented by excellent owners!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend in October and was extremely please with what can only be described as a real gem! From having a warm welcome by 2 excellent hosts in Sue and Mike, having a lovely room to relax after a hard days walk to lovely views from the B&B itself! Sue and Mike couldn't do enough, even giving their tips on some breath taking walks and views nearby. A fantastic B&B to stay at anytime of the year!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    13
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
34
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed two nights and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was large with great views. Everything was spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were excellent. Sue and Mike were most friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I was overwhelmed by the warm and friendly welcome from Mike and Sue, who own this wonderful and beautiful Guest House. They not only make everyone feel comfortable in their home, but they make you feel like you are home.
Fern Villa is one of the most beautiful spots in Goodwick,Fishguard in Pembrokeshire, as the Guest House sits on a hill overlooking the amazing views of the coastline and countryside.

The rooms are very clean and breakfast is quite traditional with all the trimmings - coffee/tea, juice, yogurt, fruit, cereal(s), bars, eggs, sausage, bacon, tomatoes, mushrooms, beans and toast!

The location is fantastic, close to major site seeing ventures (Stumble Head, St. David's, etc) and close to pubs, bars, restaurants and more.

I would stay here over and over again - I was lucky to have come across such a diamond in Goodwick!

Hope to see you soon.
Bryna :)

Room Tip: Each room is special and has it's own great qualities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed for one night at Fern Villa en route from Pwll Deri to Newport. We were made very welcome and we must say how friendly and accommodating Sue and Mike are. We had a lovely pot of tea and biscuits on arrival. Mike helped us with bus timetables and advised on good eating places and generally gave us good general info about the area. (Thanks also for use of umbrellas which were very useful as it poured with rain when we walked out for supper!). Both could not have been better hosts. So thanks for that ! Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable, with a delightful view. Breakfast was faultless. We would not hesitate to recommend Fern Villa to anyone needing B & B in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

A standard British guest house, 19th century building; friendly hostess.
The neighborhood is quiet; parking is on-street but not a problem.

We were in room #3, spacious with front view; 54" bed.
Modern bathroom, fairly large by British guesthouse standards.

Good breakfast. Wi-fi worked fine.

Everything as advertised on website.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Can only repeat what all the other good reviews have mentioned - clean, well furnished, attentive hosts, great views, helpful hints........

The only thing I can think of to critise.....there wasn't a lock on the bathroom door (room 4) and I think the breakfast had been microwaved!

But all in all positives out weighed the negatives by far.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunsue13, Owner at Fern Villa Guest House, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments, we enjoyed having you stay with us.
We have now purchased a lock for the en-suite room which will be fitted this weekend.
We take pride in our breakfasts which are freshly prepared and cooked every morning, sausages, bacon and tomatoes are all grilled, eggs - anyway you like! The only things I microwave are the baked beans and mushrooms, which are cooked with butter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Stayed here en route to North Wales. By chance stumbled across this lovely B&B near Fishguard, the hosts were really friendly and made us feel at home. Everything was just perfect - spacious room, spotlessly clean en-suite and a tasty breakfast. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fern Villa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fern Villa Guest House

Address: Church Road | Goodwick, Fishguard SA64 OEH, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Pembrokeshire > Fishguard
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Fishguard
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fern Villa Bed & Breakfast offers comfortable and affordable accommodation in a Victorian Villa situated in a quiet coastal village location in Fishguard, Pembrokeshire.We have double, twin and single en-suite rooms with free wifi available. Stunning sea views from the breakfast room and all double rooms.5 minutes walk to the coast path, ferry to Ireland, local buses and trains. Free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fern Villa Guest House Fishguard, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fern Villa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.