We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised considering some of the negative reviews!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
kent
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised considering some of the negative reviews!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Had a 4 night Monday to Friday stay last week, in an Ambassador room in the block opposite reception. No problems whatsoever with the accommodation - even had a patio area and very near parking and only booked at 1 weeks notice!. Maid did a great job every day. The food in the restaurant was excellent and our waiter was one of the best we have ever had - even arranging for us to breakfast earlier on our last day as we had a 5 hours journey home. Yes some of the tables are quite close together but this was not an issue for us, we spoke to both neighbours which was nice. Menu was varied - chef gave me the recipe for something we particularly liked. No problems with quantity, quality or availability of food at any time. No issues with the sanitising machines - all cruise ships have them now anyway and they really are to be expected where there are lots of people. We didn't use the daytime entertainment, as we used the hotel as a base for excursions. The evening entertainment was fine for what we paid. We just joined in with the bingo, quizzes and line dancing in the evening and watched the shows. Yes - aimed at an older audience generally (I'm 53) but watching lots of older ladies line dancing to GaGas Poker Face was really fun. I feel that this is much a place where the staff are happy to do their best to please, and you just have to ask for things out of the ordinary like early breakfast, de-caff tea/coffee and they will always try to oblige. We had a lovely stay and would go back if ever up that way again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    255
    87
    37
    39
See reviews for
51
461
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Just come back from a 4 day stay. We really enjoyed it, fantastic food and accomodation.
We are in our 40's, - majority of people in their 60s, but plenty of opportunity to dance and have fun.- Only complaint would have liked a bar with music or TV for the day time

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Having read some of the previous reviews of this hotel, unfortunately, after booking, I was a little concerned. However, the hotel was much better than these reviews suggested in all areas but one --- the beds! We were in a twin bed room and they were SO uncomfortable. Very narrow, with thin mattresses. I did not sleep well any of the nights we were there.
In all other repects the hotel is very good. The location is spectacular, beautiful autumn colours all around at this time of year. The gardens are lovely, obviously well planned but looking in need of some care. There are many interesting sights to see relatively close to the hotel. A word of warning, if you want to use the railway to the summit of Snowdon, you need to book a day in advance. The breakfast and evening meals were excellent, the new chef is obviously doing a good job.
We used the swimming pool each morning. Facilities were clean and not very busy.
A pre-dinner drink in the Elwy bar is a must, with Steve on the keyboard or guitar, great entertainment. The entertainments team worked really hard and their shows were ok but other Warner hotels often have visiting entertainers which Bodelwyddan did not have, except for a comedian on Wednesday evening who was rather poor.
We had an enjoyable break.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

The term 'adult only hotel' should be revised to ''pensioners a speciality'. My wife and I booked a 2 day mid week break over October half term and were expecting an intimate adult only hotel - as advertised. What we got was a cross between a cruise ship and Butlins with the catering at least and a restaurant crammed with 200 + pensioners jostling for the carvery. The room wasn't ready on arrival which admittedly was 1.30 pm. The receptionist assurred us it was ready only to find it hadn't been touched from the previous occupant who had checked out by 10.00 that morning. Not a great start. We had to request shower gel on day 2 because the maid hadn't replaced the used ones and although fresh towels, the old ones were left hanging up in the bathroom. Now call me old fashioned, but these are the basics to expect of a decent hotel. That said the staff were friendly and gave exceptional service and the setting is just superb, with well maintained gounds and beautiful views.
If you are over 65 and want a themed break with like minded people then fine, but if you're mid fifties like us and brought up on disco, hard rock and folk music, not Jim Reeves, Frankie Vaughn and tea dancing then forget it. Warners should be more honest in their advertising.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, uk.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Our second visit to Bodelwyddan, this time we stayed in a Royale room. The room was excellent we were given a welcome pack which included wine and fruit, maid service all weekend. Food was very good, the tables in the restaurant are close together but it didn't bother us too much. We went for a jump jive weekend so the entertainment was very good. We have been there for a bowls weekend when i thought the entertainment was poor. Drinks are very expensive, as a previous review stated £14 for a bottle of echo falls that you can buy for £4 in a supermarket. My advice to anyone is to upgrade your room if you can.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

We have stayed this hotel 3 times but this visit will be the last. The food was nowhere as good as our previous visits I actually made a complaint about the vegetables at our first meal, which is very rare for me also the food is not very warm. the tables are much to close together and need arranging to avoid collisions! Some people have posted that the bar prices are same as pubs etc, rubbish if I had to pay £3.40 in my local for very tasteless beer and £4.10 for a small wine I would find somewhere else. The tables during the shows had hardly any drinks on them so people were not paying the price, and after the show finished the place emptied. When will Warners learn, surely by dropping their prices slightly people would stay on and the atmosphere would be a lot better. Warners ask you to fill in a questionaire before you leave. but they take no notice where drink prices are concerned.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Just been to the Castle, never tried a Warners short break before and booked a late deal. We stayed in a standard room, quite a good size but the bathroom was very dated.
The room could have looked better had the paint on the skirting boards been touched up.
The twin beds were on the hard side and not very comfortable. The food was very hit and miss. The carvery was poor, very dry roast ham and a boring vegetable choice. The roast potatoes were rock hard and uneatable. The desserts were poor, a fruit tart also proved uneatable due the hard, burnt pastry and very little custard. On the plus side the entertainment was first rate, the resident 'band' and lead singer were fabulous, Jack is too good for that place, the next Jamie Cullum! The swimming pool also great, very warm and not many using it so room to swim. We are in our fifties and felt like one of the youngsters there which was a shame. Felt sorry for the few under 50 group that were staying, they must have felt a bit out of it. The location is wonderful for exploring Snowdonia and the coast. We would consider returning but may waite until we are in our sixties to fit it.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.