We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodelwyddan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Leyland, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“OAP's only”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Castle for our 6th Wedding anniversary, a treat for us as we never managed a honeymoon.

Being a little on the younger side we just booked as the location was everything that we wanted but we later found that when we arrived we were getting some funny looks, why ?? Probably as we looked like babies! My husband is 29 and I am 26 the age range for this hotel must have been at least 70 upwards, not that we mind our elders at all but felt that we should have been made more aware when booking (booked direct through the hotel) that this was a hotel for the older generation.

We stayed in one of the Royal rooms, not much for what you paid, no LCD TV, no DVD player and no slippers, mini bar on request only ??? Not what was advertised. The bath was really hard to work and the shower was either freezing or red hot.

The restaurant was a self service one which we knew, however we did not know that starters and desert was served at the table so we missed out on those would have been nice to know before hand, the bottles of wine were screw top, not what you expect when paying £15- £20 a bottle .

On the up side the grounds were stunning a real treat !

In closing , the staff at the hotel need to make customers more aware that the hotel is for the older generation and not really for youngsters who I might add are not all Ibiza wannabes ! Even the staff laughed at me when I asked them if there was any younger guests staying here so they are well aware of the age situation.

Shame as it is a really nice location and we did not stay the full 3 nights that we booked for only the 1 as we felt that out of place.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    227
    76
    32
    37
See reviews for
46
410
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2009

After staying at Bodelwyddan castle, i decided to read the reviews from other guests, i must say the ones that provided negative reviews must be professional " moaners ", this place was excellent, setting,service,accomodation,entertainment,staff........need i go on ? they were all top class. OK so there were many older guests but, so what ? are you not supposed to go on holiday once you reach a certain age ? once it got to 8pm they were up dancing and having a great time, and then they took advantage of the bar offers of free mixer with any double spirits, boy ! can they drink !! makes a change from drink fuelled loudmouthed idiots who are only interested in getting as much down their necks and ruining the night for others.
Anyway, to the staff, they were very friendly and helpful, my wife took me there to celebrate my birthday, we had a Royale room on the ground floor with our very own turret and in there was our very own circular spa bath, great fun, the room itself was oak clad, huge four poster bed, large en-suite bathroom, she had organised breakfast room service on the morning of my birthday, the manager was only too pleased to assist and delivered it himself, in fact we had it delivered each morning, with no fuss at all, we ate in our room with the patio door open watching the lovely scenery. Bliss.
Entertainment was very professional and so what if there are older people dancing waltzes, and such like, very good viewing and relaxing, even had a go myself. Won't be appearing on strictly though.
The evening meals were of a high standard, there was so much choice , can't understand why so many people have moaned about it, they obviously thought there was only one choice, anyway you could see the meny early in the day if you wanted to.
Looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

I wanted somewhere special for my 65th birthday so my husband and I decided on Bodelwyddan Castle Hotel. We were so disappointed.The room was no better than a travelodge,the grouting around the bath disgusting,in fact the whole place was very tired. The dining room was awful,it is so cramped,we were almost sitting on the laps of the people next to us.The food was very average with little choice,The queues at breakfast were ridiculous.I've never been to Butlins but that is what I should imagine its like.Thankfully we were only there for 2 nights and we ate out the second night. We did go on a special offer- I am so glad we didnt pay full price.Warners must have a very good marketing department with their glossy brochures and tv ads- I`m not a fussy person but Iexpected more than mediocrity.I know this is not Warners fault, but the room where the entertainment took place did remind us of an old peoples home.and we`re not exactly spring chickens!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dining room
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Putney
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2009

We booked a seven night break at this Warner Hotel, partly based on its location in North Wales, and also on the historic and "luxury" status advertised - expecting the hotel to have the character of a grade II listed building as advertised on the Warner web-site. The castle and hotel are indeed set in lovely grounds, and the view from our room was splendid, looking out from the front of the castle. We stayed in one of the Royale rooms at Bodelwyddan, apparently their best (and most expensive) rooms (there are only seven of them, set in the main castle). However, though the main castle building (which is not part of the hotel, but a museum, opened periodically - well worth a visit) is superbly maintained in period, and full of character, our room could have been in any reasonable 3 star hotel or B&B (the only discernable feature was the original window, and the fantastic view). The furniture was solid, with a large and comfortable bed, though the furnishings and decor were tired, and the bathroom no better than a travelodge, quite tired - the so called luxury spa bath was noisy, old and smelt of bleach when switched-on(though the shower was excellent).The room was kept very clean and tidy, and our cleaner could not have done much better. The room was nice and quiet, though it wasn't possible to have the widow open if it was windy at night, because of the noise created by the air flow through the aircon/vent in the bathroom.
The dinning experience was very disappointing, it felt more like a Butlins Holiday camp than a luxury hotel.It was difficult to find a properly clean plate and seemed to be rather short staffed. The whole event felt rushed as staff sprayed, cleaned and laid tables for breakfast while we were still eating our dinner. The atmosphere was certainly not one of romance or intimacy as the tables were so tightly packed together there was no chance of having a private conversation and the dinning hall was very brightly lit. Our waitress was great and did her best. The food, while plentiful, was similar to decent pub grub, not a restaurant and considering there was no A La Carte choice this was disappointing.
We used the gym once but found it rather poorly staffed and busy, though we attended at the most popular time of day. We were surprised to see members of hotel staff using the facility at this busy period.
The haphazard management continued with the parking, which was difficult as the hotel was busy. There is adequate parking overall, with overflow available in the large museum car park, a shortish walk (over 100m). However, staff cars were parked in and around the castle courtyards, and in the car parks close to the accommodation, forcing some guests to use the overflow carpark. Great when the staff want to smoke out of the rain on their break, not so good for the guests walking uphill to the hotel carrying bags.
Overall this is not a bad hotel, but it could be run better, and it is not a luxury, character hotel as described in Warner's literature. Even the reception looks like a travelodge, with gaming machines. The staff are very friendly and helpful on the whole, but some seem to lack hospitality training, and they were understaffed. For what we paid, we expected better. We did not sample the entertainment, and perhaps that would make a difference for some people. We would not go back to this hotel given the costs, as we do not think it represents value for money. If you like the Warner experience, go to another location to avoid disappointment.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Dining experience was butlinesque, hotel lacked characfter despite being in a castle
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

My friend and I spent New Years Eve, 2008 at Bodelwyddan, or as I should say we spent New Years Eve in bed with Jools Holland's Hootenanny. It was that bad.
The rooms are comfortable enough, although cold at night. The food, if you like the canteen setting was carvery every night.
The first night was fine, The Rocking Berries did a good job and we thought we were in for a good New Year...Wrong...
New Years Eve was bingo and sequence dancing until 10pm, then a very amature show....at 11pm we left.
The ballroom, is crowded, the pub-bar far too small, and the gallery bar is dismal.
There was no where sit and read, no lounge, and to top it all off, the museum was closed.
NOT GOOD ENOUGH!!

  • Liked — good room sizes
  • Disliked — cols at night
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

We went to this hotel for a spa weekend break. The hotel seems to target two segments; spa weekends and an all-in weekend aimed at 55 plus. The volume of people in the latter seems to mean that this is their primary focus.

This is a big hotel and is run to serve a large number of people. The dining room is large and the food is mediocre. There is - ahem - entertainment of an evening, mainly cabaret acts and tribute bands. There are activities in the day, such as line dancing, indoor archery and bowls. Warner appear to have a loyal clientele in this older age group who stay for these all-in weekends on a regular basis. However, the activities are easily avoided.

The building is impressive and staying there entitles you to a free tour of the rest of the country house. The hotel accommodation is adequate and ripe for updating.

The service was very good. Staff were keen and attentive.

The spa was reasonable, similar to a Virgin but without the crowds (when we wee there). There is a beauty salon and my partner had several treatments which were of a high standard.

I don't think we will go back, unless I take an older relative. However, some people, perhaps in a small party, looking for a sociable, entertaining, all-inclusive weekend, might enjoy this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berks
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2008

We had an upgraded room which was splendid well worth the extra money..The castle and it's location are wonderful. It twas a jazz weekend which was great However the catering was dire like a giant self service cafeteria with nice tables .Those courses that were served were uninspiringly presented. Bearing in mind the cost of these breaks they could do a lot better

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.