We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT WEEKEND BREAK” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
BOLTON
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“GREAT WEEKEND BREAK”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Food delicious, and the signature room we had booked was very nice indeed. Plenty to do, including free entry to National Portrait Gallery and museum. Well Located for Snowdonia, conway and lots of other places.Swimming pool and spa were good, and all staff very helpful and pleasant indeed. There was a comedian on on the Friday night, and Group on Saturday Night,which were worth watching. The only downside was not being able to get a seat in ballroom to watch the entertainment, as many people were saving seats for friends and family,which should be stopped. The resident entertainment team, was a little bit holiday camp style, which was not to our taste. But all in all, would return with no hesitation.

Room Tip: would imagine that the weekend breaks that include drinks are very good value indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello

I am pleased to see that you had a GREAT WEEKEND BREAK with plenty to do. We try to provide a wide variety of activities and entertainment to cater for all of our guests.

As you stated some of our guests do try to reserve seating for their friends and we do endeavour to do our best to stop this. We also offer our VIP seating which gives you guaranteed seating with plenty of other perks!!

Thank you again for your comments

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    255
    87
    37
    39
See reviews for
51
461
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for a week in May this year, and gave it a very good review. We enjoyed it so much that we later booked for a Turkey and Tinsel break. However, after reading some reviews, from people who had stayed afterwards, re the entertainment manager, Simon Howell (a different one to when we were there previously) we were a little apprehensive. True, some of his gags were a little corny, and somewhat repetitive, but he was never offensive, and his entertainment team was as good as ever. "Dick Whittington" was a scream. It seems unfair to the others to single anyone out, but Matt was a great cat, Michaela was a lovely fairy and Lucy was a really booable queen rat. It was a relief to relax and enjoy good entertainment.
It could be even more relaxing if more cushions could be provided in the Lowther Hall as the chairs, although padded, feel rather hard after 2 or 3 hours. Previously cushions had been provided in our room, which we took with us, but this time there were none. A quick call to reception remedied this.
Everything else was as good as before, from the friendliness of all the staff, to the quality of the room and restaurant. We cannot understand the complaints from some other reviewers about the restaurant. We found that the food was always satisfactory with a good selection to be served to the table, and always two carvery choices. Yes, some of the tables were a little close together, but never too close that you could not get out, and it is easy to be friendly with your neighbours. Our only gripe was now having to pay extra for coffee after the main meal.
All in all a very enjoyable, relaxing break. We will be looking to go again at a later date.

Room Tip: As before rooms in the Princes Hall are the most convenient for the majority of the facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello there!!

Im so happy to see that you had such a great time with us and that you kept an open mind before you arrived.

We already provide cushions in the Entertainment venue, but of course we will provide some more!

Thank you again for your comments

Kind Regards

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Returned to this hotel after a few years for a weekend break hoping to enjoy it as much if not more than the first time we visited but was very dissapointed. The hotel rooms and day time activities were excelent but the hotel was let down by the restraunt and entertainment - On arrival we went to the restraunt and we were allocated a table but when we went for our meal in the evening the table had been taken over by other guests and we were left stranded like dummies until a waitress came to assist folowed by the restraunt manager - on the 2nd evening my wife ordered a meal from the menu and it arrived stone cold, this was quickly taken away and returned a few minutes later having been heated in a microwave - but the damage was made worse when the restraunt manager came and sat down (uninvited) to apologise adding that we were not the first that night to send food back - The restraunt is supposed to be open from 6.30pm to 8.30pm at weekends but by 8.00pm the buffet was on melt down so if you go in late you may miss out
The entertainment was a huge let down (appart from Kenny Balls Jazzmen on Saturday) it was more like a childrens holiday camp site entertainment - 1st the staff looked very awkward trying to introduce themselves at the "welcome meeting" and passing this off along with quiz's as entertainment - You must improve
Away from this and many of the staff were helpful but regretably due to the restraunt and standard of entertainment failings we will not be returning

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback.

I apologise that on this occasion you felt 'disappointed' with the restaurant and entertainment. I have read all of your comments and taken them on board and I have had discussions with the relevant departments.

I would like to assure you that we take all feedback seriously and without it we cannot continue to improve the service we offer.

Many Thanks Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Just returned from a great weekend at Bodelwyddan which certainly exceeded our expectations. To get the most out of your stay here you need to take advantage of as many of the facilities on offer and there really is plenty to choose from leisurely guided walks to table tennis. Or why not try your hand at rifle shooting, archery or even fencing? For the less mobile there are various activities to take part in such as cookery demonstrations, line dancing, quizzes etc. Throughout our stay we were most impressed with the friendliness of the staff who without exception made us feel welcome from the moment we checked in.
Accommodation was very good with decent sized, well appointed rooms and comfortable beds. Breakfast was varied and plentiful and evening meals provided the option of a choice from the restaurant menu or the ever popular carvery.
In the evenings the entertainment team tried their best to provide a party atmosphere although it was a bit Butlinesque at times however the resident group sounded really good and the guest act on Saturday was impressive. The only downside was that the drinks were a bit pricey and you needed to get in the club early to be sure of securing a table.
If your looking for a leisurely break in peaceful surroundings with the choice of doing as much or as little as you please then don't hesitate to book your stay at the Bodelwyddan Castle ......you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello

Thank you so much for your lovely comments, I am so happy to see that you were very impressed with everything we have to offer.

We work very hard throughout the year to ensure our guests get the most out of their Holiday experience and am happy to see that this was the case for you.!!

We will be more than happy to welcome you back!!

Many thanks Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ingleton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have visited this hotel several times over the last decade and seen many changes. The friendly welcome on arrival remains excellent and the new Christmas lighting is sparkling. The standard rooms are unchanged and whilst quite adequate, are begining to look a little tired. The grounds continue to offer a pleasant walk but little else. The food choice is good and the quality quite satisfactory. Service from the staff is much improved, but self service has become a problem with long queues at peak times. The leisure facilities are still good. The entertainment is much changed and having heard comments from others, not for the better. There is no argument that the young people give their full committment, but the material content is disappionting. The presentation reminds me of my Butlin days and the performance fails to achieve the previous high standards of sophistication. I shall continue to visit the hotel occasionally for there is much to commend, providing advantage is taken of the discounted offers.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments regarding the food choice, christmas lighting and your friendly welcome. It is pleasing to read that you also enjoyed the service from the team and the leisure facilities.

All of your comments have been taken on board and we regularly have team leader meetings where we discuss tripadvisor comments in depth. We then put actions in place so again thank you for all of your feedback.

Regards Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Just got back from a stay at the castle. The hotel was perfect,The staff could not do enough for you. From the manager to the people who was sweeping up the leaves (HARD TASK IN THE AUTUMN) Entertainment and food was just fantastic the waitors went out of their way to serve you.The food was scrumptious and was plentiful, I enjoyed the porridge and made to order pancakes,my husband had the full English.The evening meals were to die for the choice was easy to find something you like. They have a café there called The Mulberry and we had bara brith the welsh cake all home made for our lunch.They had full day entertainment including a leisure centre which had bowls indoor and out,croquet,archery,rifle shooting,swimming pool, spa,massage treatments(the last 2 items you pay for,snooker,table tennis,and more.Will be booking again asap.You must go there and see for yourself.It is for adults only this hotel which was good.Also the beds were so comfy.

Room Tip: All rooms were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your comments, it is great to see that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

It is very pleasing for both myself and my team to see that our guests are having a great time whilst with us and it gives us great satisfaction.

Many thanks

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Two days spent on a turkey and tinsel break. I had the variety on the first night and everything was cold. Food the next day was a lot better. No salt cellar on our table and despite asking for some it never appeared.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

I am so sorry that on one of your evenings you felt your food was cold, I will flag this immediately with our Head Chef. I also hope that you brought this to the attention of the Restaurant Management who would have been happy to get this resolved for you.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention and I do trust that you enjoyed all other aspects of your holiday.

Kind regards Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.