We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend with nothing too much trouble” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel to your Saves list
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“Great weekend with nothing too much trouble”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have to be honest I was a little worried what to expect if this hotel having read the reviews about the entertainment on here. However it was soon clear that I needn't have been. There was not only a huge amount going on during the day and throughout the evening, it was also varried so that there was something for everyone.
I have to say a huge thank you to the boys in leisure. I really enjoyed the archery, despite being awful at it.
I do agree that in the evening Simon can be a bit brash but that's what I loved about him. It's all about not taking things too seriously and I never witnessed him say anything to anyone who wasn't laughing and joining in themselves.
The bar staff are great and make a great cocktail. I couldn't help try a few.
The food is excellent with plenty of choice every night that if I'm honest made it hard to decide what to eat.
Finally our room. Comfy and spacious and immaculate.
At the welcome meeting the managers were clearly proud of this hotel and I understand why. I can also see why they have been voted the friendliest hotel in the chain this year.
Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for all of your wonderful comments.

It is so pleasing for all of the team to know that they have helped you to have such an enjoyable holiday experience.

We really do have such a hard working team who put all of their heart into what they do and I am extremely proud of them.

I am so happy that you had such a good time, thank you again for your comments

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    255
    87
    37
    39
See reviews for
51
461
15
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have been going to Bodelwyddan for the past seven years for the bowls weekend with my husband and his team mates and at first it seemed it was going to be the best weekend yet. The welcome was a refreshing change being greeted by smiling faces and helped with luggage from the car to the room without even asking. The food was the best we have eaten there and the bowls was excellent as always. However, Warner’s seem to think that they can cut back on things and not expect their guests to notice. From charging £3 for a small bottle of Carlsberg to Charging for tea and coffee after dinner. Then to top it off the entertainment was the worst I have ever seen and I can only guess that this is because they are bringing in managers that are at the ends of their careers and are so old fashioned they simply cannot keep up with the times. I appreciate this was a Beatles weekend but the jokes the manager came out with should have stayed in the 60's. Then on the last night to be told by him to shut up as we weren’t in a working man’s club so that a young girl could sing a few songs. If he was any good at his job he would have realised that the forty or so of us just wanted to talk amongst ourselves not sit quietly and listen to her. I have nothing against the young girl, she was ok for the songs that she did but to be yelled at by him on our last night has left a bitter taste in our mouths and I will be joining my husband and many other to look for a new venue next year. A sad reality but one that is now unavoidable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feed back here on Tripadvisor.

Here at Bodelwyddan Castle, we welcome all feedback and are constantly looking to improve on the facilities and services that we offer.

All of your comments have been taken on board and I thank you again for taking the time to leave feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Kind Regards
Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tywyn, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got back from another three day break. It was a 60 weekend.
Cant fault it had a really good time the entertainments team worked that hard and made sure they kept us all entertained. The food was enjoyable and couldn't fault the price we paid.

Room Tip: No kids but if it's what you like can't beat it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the entertainments team. They do indeed work very hard and will appreciate your kind words.

Many thanks
Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Spent a long week-end here with friends. Everything went well,lovely room(standard) opposite
reception,the comfiest bed ever! plenty of cupboard and drawer space and constant hot water.
The food was good either waitress served or buffet style with plenty of choice. Staff attentive
and friendly. Lovely grounds to walk in although we spent most of our time exploring further
afield. Snowdonia almost on the doorstep and Llandudno a short drive away. Entertainment
every night, the staff really worked hard on the 50s/60s night.we all really enjoyed it. This is our
second Warner's break and look forward to returning to another one soon.

Room Tip: block right opposite reception area is so handy for dining room. We were in a standard room but it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your second visit to a Warner Leisure Hotels property. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your room, the team and the food.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon

Gary Johnson Gm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erskine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was back at the Bodelwyddan Castle hotel for an annual sports event which was my tenth visit in eleven years and was, in general, not disappointed with the hotel and its facilities.
The food was, as always, excellent and we were superbly looked after by the restaurant staff. The room we had was a standard room and has all the facilities you would expect in a hotel of this size and style and was totally adequate for our needs. The hotel is ideally suited for exploring the North Wales coast and hills with easy access to the main road.
The bowls hall staff can never seem to do enough for us and they worked their socks off to ensure that we had a great competition. The entertainment provided by the hotel was okay but the main headline act on the Saturday evening was a bit disappointing with the music totally overpowering the lyrics which made it difficult to hear the excellent songs.
Normally on a Sunday night the weekend is usually rounded off with a party, open to all residents, in the Gallery Bar but this year the management altered this and decided to put on a young member of the entertainment staff to sing solo. When we eventually got to listen to her singing she was a very good singer with a good voice and warm personality but her choice of songs were not exactly suited to a party! The main problem with this event was the entertainments manager who completely spoiled the show with some disgraceful remarks fired at the audience, a large group of people looking to party into the small hours, as he told us that "this is a four star hotel and not a working man's club". His attitude to the audience, all paying guests, was disgraceful and completely spoiled the party atmosphere and, ultimately, led to a large number of people walking out leaving just a handful of people to listen to the girl singer. This action undoubtedly cost Warner's a lot of lost bar takings and was, for us, a spoiled end to an excellent weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback on tripadvisor.

I am happy to see overall you enjoyed your time with us, although I do apologise that on this occasion there were some aspects of your stay that you were disappointed with.

All of your comments have been taken on board and I thank you again for posting your views.

Regards Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed a week here, and it was wonderful from being welcomed on arrival to leaving. The castle grounds were lovely and views stunning, The standard room with patio was ideal, lots of room, and the food was excellent, so much choice, and plenty of it. The entertainment was very
good, and all the staff were very friendly and helpful. It was everything we expected, and more, from a Warners holiday.

Room Tip: The Llewellyn Hall was very quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello,

I am so happy that we met with your expectations and you enjoyed your stay with us from beginning to end.

Again thank you for your comments it is very pleasing to read that our guests have such a great time.

Kind regards

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I have had several holidays with Warners and all have been excellent value.The grounds are beautiful and views are stunning,the castle can be visited free of charge,and is well worth a visit.You can be sure of a lovely time here,food is very good and excellent choices.We upgraded to a signature room on the ground floor with a patio area,well worth the extra cost.
All the staff are friendly and helpful,entertainment was very good.Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ground floor signature rooms have own patio area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

I am happy to see that everything was to your satisfaction and that you would reccommend us to others, many thanks.

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.