We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bodelwyddan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel
Save
You added Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
“MARVELOUS !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What an absolute gem of a hotel, right from arrival to the day of the departure the staff remained friendly, dedicated, enthusiastic and above all professional. Every single member of the team became our friends. Having mentioned my intention to propose to my partner whilst staying there Simon, Dawn and Bo flew into action and made it an even more memorable evening for which I will always be grateful. Every single aspect of this facility was to an incredibly high standard, the food was exceptional, the room was excellent, the spa facilities excellent , the grounds amazing, the entertainment team marvelous,extremely talented and professional. My only criticism is that our break at Bodelwyddan Castle had to come to an end. The whole experience was of a high quality and deserve recognition for the outstanding service. Mark and Joanna .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Hello,

I am so happy that you chose Bodelwyddan Castle hotel to celebrate your very special evening and create some everlasting memories.

How wonderful to see that my team helped you assist in proposing to your partner. Please accept a huge Congratulations from Myself and my team and we wish you all the best for your future together.

Thank you so much for all your lovely comments with regards to the team and the hotel.
We hope to see you again soon!!

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    288
    227
    76
    32
    37
See reviews for
46
410
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Loughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Stayed at Bodelwyddan Castle Hotel for a four night break using it as a base to tour North Wales.
Pleasantly greeted while still in the car on arrival by a lady who asked if we would like our cases taken to our room. The gentleman delivering the cases to us was not the happiest of souls even when we did tip him but perhaps he was having a hard day.

We had a standard room with a patio. It was of a good size, clean and bright. No need to pay for the better quality rooms really unless you are ultra fussy.

Food was really excellent with a reasonable choice.

We did not take part in day time activities as we were touring and it is a good base for the main tourist spots of North Wales. Going to the top of Snowdon by train being one of our main highlights.

After dinner we quickly learnt not to go directly into the entertainment area as the first part of the evening is taken up with old time dancing which seemed to attract three or four couples at most on to the floor. I know that everyone has to be catered for but there must be so few people now that have even heard of things like the Brittania Saunter or Mayfair Quickstep let alone be capable of dancing them that it must be time to consign it to perhaps an afternoon tea dance. After this dancing each night there is a quiz or holiday camp style game which we also avoided.
Once all of that is out of the way the trio play music for dancing from the era of most of the guests (we are not far off 70) which is good although a change of beat occasionally or even a few more modern songs would be even better.

The shows by the entertainments team were really first class. They are very talented and put in a lot of effort. Not too sure about the entertainments manager however who is, perhaps, a little too brash and should give up “insulting” people until he learns from a proper comedian how to do this and make it amusing. Currently he appeared to be upsetting the few that he picked on. This same gentleman also told us at the welcome show on the first night that all of his team and indeed all of the other teams in the hotel were the friendliest of any in the Warners group. We would agree with that as all staff were very chatty with a great attitude. The only exception to this was the entertainments manager himself who totally blanked us at least three times whilst around the site which was very noticeable compared to other staff members.

Just put some personal niggles in here which others may not agree with but overall this is a great hotel with great people in a setting that is truly splendid and well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Standard room with patio in Llewelyn Hall was very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback.

Your comments have been gratefully received and we use these to regularly review the services and products we offer as we constantly strive to improve what we provide for our guests.

Hopefully next time you visit we will be even better!!

Kind regards Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location for exploring Angelsey, Snowdonia area and general North Wales area. Beautiful setting and gardens, plenty of colourful flowers in hanging baskets and tubs. Stayed in a standard room which was large, clean and adequate. Drinks vending machine on ground floor. Food was generally of a reasonable standard both the carvery/Buffett and the a la carte, although some was very salty for my taste. This weekend was Motown themed entertainment, with jimmy James and the Vagabonds on Saturday night. What a great singer and entertainer, would definitely look out for him at another Warner location. The main entertainment area is not big enough to seat all the guests for the shows and feels very much like a working mans club. Simon, the entertainment manager was very hi-de-hi and too cheesy for me. His 'humour' was more about belittling people rather than fun. Also on the Best of British night, apparently twice a week, Simon and entertainment team parade through restaurant while you are eating with a megaphone singing to the wartime music Staff were generally friendly and helpful. No big moans, all in all an enjoyable weekend, but could do without the holiday camp quizzes etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback regarding your recent stay. It is lovely to read all of your comments.

As you can see from many of the other comments, that lots of our guests enjoy the entertainment provided by our in house team, I can only apologise that on this occasion it was not to your taste.

With regards to Jimmy James and the Vagabonds, he will be hopefully booked at one of our locations for 2014 and should you require any help to find this out and book, do not hesitate to call us.

Kind regards Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long eaton
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This was a return visit to Bodelwydden for a Motown and Soul festival weekend,on arriving we were met with a very warm welcome. which made you feel at ease after your journey.We stayed in room 608 a Royale which was a large room with a turret containing two occasional chairs and a table were you could sit and relax with a book etc, the room also has a sofa and two small armchairs to sit and watch the large screen tv.This room had magnificent views of the surrounding country side,the bed was a super kingsize which was very comfortable.
The hotel grounds were kept to a very high standard clean and tidy, the gardens were a pleasure to roam around,when you vist this hotel take a walk in the woods and take in the views of the surounding countryside some fabulous sights to be seen.
All of the team at Bodelwydden from the room attendents to general manager are the most friendly and helpful of any of the Warner hotels we have visited.
The restaurant is one the best, the food is exceptional, a fabulous salad bar, the hot food was very well prepeared veg cooked just right not soggy or aldent'e, meats were tasty and the yorkshire puddings could have been a meal themselves never seen yorkshire's that big in any hotel.The breakfasts were very tasty, and the sausages must have been sourced locally,tasted very fresh and were a good size too.
The bar staff were very efficient and very polite, The Elwy bar is a nice relaxing place to have a drink and a bite to eat.
Now for the But. The entertainment was brochured as a Motown and Soul festival, it was most dissapointing to have ballroom dancing, line dancing and the long drawn out quiz's in place of the Motown disco with DJ keith.There were many fellow guests whom like myself had booked this weekend because of the Motown and Soul theme weekend, one guest and his wife had travelled all the way from the south of the country especially for this weekend.The Motown disco did not start until after the main cabaret act had finished. I wonder what the reaction would have been at Strictly Come Dancing themed weekend,if the ballroom dancing before the visiting star dancers appeared was changed to a Motown disco?
The entertainments team were good and put in lots of effort into their routines, and were a very friendly group of people.
Would visit again but would call the hotel first about the entertainmemt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for all of your lovely comments about many aspects of your holiday. These comments are so gratefully received.

On this occasion I can only apologise that the entertainment did not completely meet your expectations. We do accommodate 370 guests and sometimes we do have guests who do not book solely for entertainment and for this reason we do try and cater for all of our guests needs. I am sorry that had left you feeling disappointed. I'm sure you will agree though that there was a fantastic atmosphere and the main Saturday night cabaret was amazing.

I hope that this has not deterred you from staying with us again and would love to welcome you back to Bodelwyddan Castle hotel.

Gary Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leics
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We have just come back from a weekend and we had a fantastic time. Upon arrival we were greeted by a young lady in Welsh costume with a very kind man wanting to take our luggage. Then in reception we were seen to very quickly and shown to our room. We stayed in a basic room they were very clean beds so comfortable and the bathroom very spacious with lots of hot water The meals were excellent and all the staff were very good. We went to the Soul/Motown weekend and the music was excellent. We didn't do any of the things that were organised by the staff as we had never been to this area before and wanted to explore. All in all a Warners weekend is well worth the money and we shall be trying them again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you first of all for marking us 5/5 for everything. I am happy to see that you enjoyed everything from the second you arrived .

I agree the weekends entertainment/music was of a very high standard and I was very lucky as I got to experience most of it, and had many guests approach me to tell me how well received the evenings cabarets were!!!!

Thank you again for your lovely comments regarding your accommodation and the team.

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My family and I were treated to a 5 day break at Boddelwyddan Castle last week at the invitation of my wife's parents to celebrate their 60th Wedding Anniversary. From the minute we arrived the staff couldnt have been more helpful and courteous. The age ranges in our party were from 83 to 25 and we plunged ourselves into almost all the activities.What a laugh and great to experience things that you wouldnt normally do like Fencing and Archery. We participated in Quizes and cooking lessons and frequented a lovely 'pub' in the castle called the Elwyn. Have to say the foood was excellent!! We thought that with mass catering the standards would not be very high......on the contrary! Real quality and very well presented especially the Deserts.The Entertainment was very good and John Martin the Comedian had us all laughing. His talk on the Assassination of Heydrich in WW2 was compelling so the week was enriched by a variety of things to do.We all felt deflated on departure so well done and a big thankyou to all the staff and 'acts' who made our stay extra special.

Room Tip: Standard Rooms overlooking the front of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your post.

I am so glad you all enjoyed your 5 night break to celebrate your parents wedding anniversary. Please send my congratulations for 60 happy years!

I can see from your comments that the team here did everything to ensure you all had a great time, and this is very pleasing to read.

Thank you again and hope to see you all again in the near future.

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cumbria
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just returned from a Take That tribute band weekend. The entertainmentb was excellent including the Warners band and music. The food was very good, the staff excellent. Our room was the basic model was very clean, roomy. bed comfortable. Bathroom was very clean, water was plentiful and hot. The staff at the bowling venue where very patient and made our experience most enjoyable. Reception where very helpful. In fact all the entertainment staff where great. The grounds are extensive and very varied.As this was a return trip, we managed to negotiate a very special deal, which made it very worthwhile.

Room Tip: room 201 is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryJohnson1, General Manager at Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. I am please to read that you enjoyed our tribute to Take That.

I am also very grateful for your lovely comments about your accomodation and the team here. We are lucky to have such a fantastic, hard working team, and your lovely comments spur them on to continue providing such excellent service.

Kind regards

Gary Johnson GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel

Address: Bodelwyddan, Denbingshire, North Wales, Bodelwyddan, Rhyl LL18 5YA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Rhyl > Bodelwyddan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bodelwyddan
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This stunning Grade II listed Historic Hotel has walled gardens, sweeping lawns and ivy clad turrets. Soak up the rolling Welsh hillsides, or take in the scenery from the top of nearby Snowdon. Midweek and Weekend breaks inclusive of breakfast and 3-course dining, live evening entertainment and extensive leisure activities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Warner Leisure Hotels Bodelwyddan Castle Historic Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.