We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice small restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Bermo

Bistro Bermo
Church Street | Snowdonia National Park, Barmouth LL42 1EW, Wales
+44 1341 281284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bistro
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Altrincham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“nice small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

very pleasant ,well cooked food and attentive staff, fish a speciality and lovely vegetables , good ambience ,paintings and decor wich i had arestaurant like this in my home town it would be very popular

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    21
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“What more can I say?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Really nothing else to add to the already excellent reviews already on here for this wonderful restaurant, just that we agree wholeheartedly with all the positive comments.

We enjoyed the food the first time so much that we booked again two days later and were impressed to see that the menu had changed even in that short time. The food and service couldn't be faulted and we look forward to visiting again on our next holiday to Barmouth.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Book Early!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is, as far as we could make out, the best place to eat in Barmouth. Run by a couple it only has 18 covers. There is a good varied menu with plenty of fish and other offerings to suit all tastes. The food is of good quality with good size portions too.
Two starters, two mains, a shared pudding and a couple of large glasses of wine came to just over £50 so pretty good value too.
As I said "Book Early" we had to book the night before to get a table, and on the Thursday we ate there, someone came in asking for a table and was told they were fully booked all weekend. For some reason the quality of eateries in this part of Wales does not seem to be atr the same level as the Lake or Peak Districts, so a gem like this is well worth booking ahead for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herefordshire
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The best in Barmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a delicious dinner here. The service was good, the food was cooked nicely and it was reasonable value. It is a small restaurant, so you need to book.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow what a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 via mobile

Finally got in after the kitchen was closed for maintanence, it was worth the wait the staff were very polite and nothing was too much trouble even though I changed my mind a few times. We had starters and mains and reading reviews was expecting to need a pudding but I couldn't even manage to finish my main. I had the lamb shoulder and my husband had the pork belly both as good as each other the meat was so tender I only touched it with my fork and it fell apart. The bistro is highly recommend. :-)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bermo also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Bermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Bermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.