We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro Bermo

Bistro Bermo
Church Street | Snowdonia National Park, Barmouth LL42 1EW, Wales
+44 1341 281284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: British, Bistro
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Penrhyndeudraeth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“cosy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

very good food nice for a special occasion pretty quiet when we went but it was out of season did not spoil our night out though

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    227
    21
    7
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best lamb I've ever eaten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We discovered this little gem during our stay near Barmouth. We couldn't get a table on the first evening but were able to book one for the next day. It is a very small restaurant with a lovely interiour. We felt very welcome. The food was absolutely perfect. It is fine dining but not too fancy. The seared scallops were fantastic and the slow cooked lamb in apple and mint sauce was the best I've ever tasted. The pudding was to die for. The portion sizes and quality of the food is well worth the money. We even came back to Barmouth two days later just to eat here again. The bistro was always full - you should book at least one day in advance.
If you are anywhere near Barmouth you must eat here - this location is worth an extra journey. Very highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Dined here Saturday 21st July, truly wonderful food, ambience and the service was second to none. Only slight downside was that the break between starter and main course was only a couple of minutes so felt a bit rushed.

Will definitely be going back!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Barmouth's finest Restaurant! …………….10 out of 10!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Have eaten here many times, and never been disappointed.

The food and service is excellent. If you want a treat, then eat here.

The only negative is it’s often fully booked so ensure you book early to avoid disappointment!

P.s We had an amazing Steak Pie on one visit and have been looking out for it ever since. Any chance of a return to the menu?!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Forget the Rest and Dine at the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

You won't be disappointed with any aspect this intimate and unassuming restaurant has to offer. It's as good as all the reviews suggest. What more can I say!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Bermo also viewed

 

Been to Bistro Bermo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro Bermo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.