We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hendre Mynach Caravan Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park
Save
You added Hendre Mynach Caravan Park to your Saves list
Llanaber Road, Barmouth, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We stayed at this site for 5 nights camping and found it to be excellent. The beach is a couple of minutes work away from the site and Barmouth about 20 minutes walk. The facilities were very good, the site was clean and well maintained. The shower facilities were good but there are only 4 on the tent side which could be a problem during busy times, also the ladies showers are at the oposite end to the toilets and wash facilities with the mens ajoining each other in the middle of the two, which means a quick run between the two to enable you to clean your teeth.
One blot was that the pot washing area and the chemical disposal area are next to each other which can be unpleasent if you are washing-up when someone is emptying their toilet.
We had a fab breakfast in Sue's cafe on our last morning for a very reasonable price. I would definately use this site again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    21
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
25
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Friendly and helpful staff. Clean and convenient location for the beach and town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

Me and my family had just brought a new tent and wanted to get away for one night to try it out. so we looked on the internet and found Hendre Mynach caravan park. When we got there the lady that greeted us 'lyyne' was very pleasent and told us the fields where we could choose a place to pitch our tent.it is suitable for children adults and dogs as there is a short walk to the beach from our spot and the is a park .it was perfect and we would definately go back there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham, north wales
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

We live approx 1 1/4 hours from barmouth and we have a small tourer caravan and a little dog! I found this caravan site on the internet last may and the thing that sold it to me was the fact that barmouth is within walking distance!!
When we arrived we were not dissapointed although the driveway down to the site is very steep which maybe would be a problem with a larger caravan. Check in was very friendly and easy and the chap showed us to our pitch and even helped push the caravan into position. We had lost our tv aerial lead and the receptionist lent us a spare lead at no extra cost.
The shower and toilet blocks were very clean and so during our stay we decided not to use our caravan shower and loo and used the blocks on site, there are two seperate blocks, both always clean although the nicer block was the one which was furthest away from the childrens swing park.
The shop has essentials that you need if you've forgotten anything and we used the onsite takeaway a couple of times, which was fine.
The walk into barmouth does take around 20 mins but it is along the beach, which we loved, so we never had to use our car whilst we were there.
Barmouth is a lovely chilled out town and very dog friendly, one day it was heavily raining and we wanted a pub lunch so we asked a barmaid if the dog could come inside and sit by the door and she was very accommodating.
After our 1st visit in may 2010 to the hendre mynach site we were so impressed we went back approx 3-4 times over the summer, the last time being august in peak season and we still enjoyed it.
Over the past 6 years we have travelled all over the uk in our little caravan and stayed on many sites and i can say that this is one of our favourites and we'll most definately be back this year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

We went in the middle of August to camp here & although we were offered electric hook up as a first, which was fab, we felt rather crammed in. We spent out first night on the field as we arrived a day early which was lovely and not nearly as full as the electric side.

On the electric side we had a spot for our tent, car and then you were on the road. if you have a large tent with the pods then specify as you will be sleeping in the campsite road. Take plenty of windbreaks if you have small children just to keep them in or they will be on the road too!

The staff were very friendly and helpful & the facilities were great.

The showers are awesome and you get a shower to yourself.

The beach was 2 mins away from the tents and it was lovely lovely and Barmouth i can highly recommend.

The site cat is very friendly & likes plenty of cuddles as well as sneaking into your tent!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Had a great week at hendre mynach, weather scorching, except for the last night when it p....d it down!Brilliant site, friendly staff, good clean facilities ,will definitely stay there again.Barmouth is a lovely place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derby
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2009

The location is excellent, but the prices are not for the poor camper. Some people camp because it is a cheap holiday but this site seems to screw the last penny out of the camper. Pay for extra dog, visitors have to pay 3.oo. The facilities are good but why should you pay for extras, why not the actual site or per family, some families are small but some are large but you can only occupy one tent at a time. If you have two tents so double the charge. Like the councils they are trying to screw the last penny out of the customer.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hendre Mynach Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hendre Mynach Caravan Park

Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Barmouth
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park Hotel Barmouth
Hendre Mynach Caravan Park Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hendre Mynach Caravan Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.