We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true family run B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mor Wyn Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Mor Wyn Guest House to your Saves list
Mor Wyn Guest House
21 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 25 Barmouth B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Royston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A true family run B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Trevor Caroline and the girls gave us a lovely welcome to their guest house.
It is a Victorian house and has various rooms to suit all types of guests.
Nice touch in the dining room are the real table cloths and napkins, good breakfast and real coffee.
We stayed in room 1A overlooking the sea good selection of videos digital TV hairdryer clock the standard of this B&B is much higher than the 2 stars it has currently it is very good value for money and we stayed 4 nights.It is not noisy at all and we will be going back next time we go to Barmouth.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    13
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We had a lovely comfortable stay at the Marwyn. It was clean, well equiped and welcoming. We had a beautiful view of the ocean and it was lovely and peaceful while still being near to amenities. We will definately stay there again. It had quite a relaxed homely feel while still being well run. I can't think of anything I'd fault. Brilliant for the price.

Room Tip: We paid a bit more for a sea view and it was well worth it. Nice big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Me and my wife and 7 month old duaghter stayed here for 4 nights and with the very good price, found the guest house to be clean and very presentable. Our room indluding the on suite facilties were all in excellent condition and we were made to feel very welcome by the propriters. Brekfast was very good and the facilties for our daughter were more than adequate. Very good location just across the road from the beach with the local town shops and rail station within five mins walking distance.. Will definatly be staying here again and would reccomend to any families looking to stay in the area.

Room Tip: see if they are still offereing the discount of five nights for four. Excellent value
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

A very pleasant place to stay. The owners, Trevor and Caroline, certainly know how to run a guest house. The vegetarian breakfasts were excellent, the room and ensuite bathroom were very clean, and provided with good quality furniture and facilities (including a digital TV with DVD player). And the location was excellent, with easy access to the railway station, and beach, and a fifteen minute walk away the stunningly beautiful Mawddach estuary. I can strongly recommend staying at the Marwyn.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This was our first visit to Marwyn (9th to 12th June 2011). Current owners were very friendly, and we enjoyed our stay.
Marwyn is very close to the beach, we were blessed with sunshine on our 3 night stay, that we did not expect given the forecasts, but with Barmouth’s ‘Micro-climate’ we were able to enjoy some time on the clean sands (Thanks to borrowing a windbreak and mats from the hotel) Nice to stroll along the beach from this end down to the town. We ate at 3 local restraints (The Arbour, Captains Table & Ty’r Craig Castle that we enjoyed)
We stayed in room 3, and can only comment on this room, but found it spotless, comfortable, spacious, and the sofa by the window has a panoramic view of the beach and sea, fantastic (See the hotels web-site).
Trevor and Caroline were extremely welcoming and ensured we had everything we needed on arrival, even wifi and wired internet! Obviously the owners are upgrading the facilities, and it shows. Breakfast set us up for days out at nearby Portmerion, and Abersoch
Older reviews may not reflect our experience, the current owners have addressed any issues, and strive to keep up the good work, Thanks both for making our stay so enjoyable!! Tony & Julie.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

This is our third visit to the Marwyn. A very friendly and clean guest house and we recommend to any one who wants to stay in Wales . Will be going there again this year.
Close to the beach and the shops in the town. Easy to travel around North Wales.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gevelsberg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

I came there with a friend for a short-weekend-trip to escape the city life and of course to discover the unique landscape of Wales. The Guest House was centrally located: in front of the beach, near the train station and shops. Right behind you could find the mountain range, from where you could easily start a walk, like the "Panorama Walk". The rooms were very clean and modern. We were warmly welcomed on our arrival. The breakfast there was great to be prepared for a day outside.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mor Wyn Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mor Wyn Guest House

Address: 21 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is at the far end of Marine Parade, far enough away from the town centre for it to be peaceful but still close enough to walk. It is the the closest guest house to the beach in Barmouth. The front rooms give picture postcard views of the beach and promenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Mor Wyn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mor Wyn Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mor Wyn Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.