We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Dream Come True” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ty'r Graig Castle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ty'r Graig Castle to your Saves list
Ty'r Graig Castle
Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Dream Come True”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Although it has been 4 years since our stay I felt I had to provide a review for this hotel. (September '12 was the furthest back I could choose.)

My husband and myself fell in love with this hotel back in 1981 when we owned a caravan along the coast. Each time we visited we would promise ourselves we would visit but the time didn't arrive until our 25th anniversary in 2009. The owners Janette & Khalid couldn't have been more helpful and the food was excellent. The views hadn't changed since the 1980's. It was a magical few days and a memory that will be carried in to our old age. Many (belated) Thanks.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Silvervixen 1903

Wow! What a terrific memory, to remember your stay after 4 years! As they old saying goes "better late than never"! We clearly made a good impression, as the memories have stayed clear with you for this length of time.

It was nice to see that you came for your 25th Anniversary, and we helped to make it a special and memorable occasion. We do try to make everyone welcome, and Janette and Khalid have instilled this unique sense of customer service into me as manager.

We still have traditional values and the wonderful view is as beautiful as it ever was. How about a special visit for your 30th Anniversary next year, we do think of ourselves as a "pearl" in Barmouth!

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    76
    28
    11
    3
See reviews for
20
199
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Treorchy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

Ty'r Craig Castle hotel, whilst not the most modern, is certainly comfortable enough, if the bathroom is a bit on the small side. Yes the camp site and houses can bee seen from the window, but the view out over Irish Sea and view of the coast from Twyn to the south and towards the Llyn Peninsular more than compensate.

We stayed Thursday and Friday nights. The restaurant was unavailable on the Thursday, so we went into Barmouth to find a meal. The Hotel manager was very helpful in giving us tips about the various pubs and restaurants in town. We booked return taxi into town which cost £4 each way.

We ate at "Bistro Bermo" a small restaurant, (only 18 seats) a smallish menu but one of the best meals we have had in a long time.

After a full day of sight seeing, we returned to Ty'r Craig Castle and decided to eat at their restaurant.
The menu, whilst not the biggest, had enough choice and our meal was very good. They have a good wine list to which does compliment the menu quite nicely. The music was nice and laid back, the surroundings quiet but pleasant, the view is fabulous. I'm not sure why the restaurant isn't packed out every night.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Hello Chris W

Thank you for your comments. Your balanced and well though out observations are much appreciated.

It was good to see that you enjoyed your meal with us, together with the overall ambiance which we endeavour to create. Like most restaurants we do have some busier nights than others, and we value reviews such as yours, which help people make a decision.

We hope to see you again at some point in the future.

Kind regards

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Stayed overnight and booked premium turret double. Room was clean and tidy. Blinds would not go down fully on windows overlooked campsite, caravan park and some dingy houses!.Antiquated bathroom - shower attachment !Bed was rock hard - wife ended up with back ache.
Dinner was below average quality. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Steve tried so hard to make stay memorable.Sorry to state that at £112 per night room was actually worth about £60.
Would we stay again - No

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TyrGraig-Management, Owner at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Hello benjibutton,

It was evident during your 1 night stay here that the historic building was not to your liking. We’re sorry you made the wrong choice and in hindsight, perhaps one of the nation-wide superior inns or trip lodges would have suited you better and given you better value for your money. Prior to and after your stay we had guests staying in the same room for between 2 to 4 days duration and none have complained about the bed being hard. As only your wife had an issue with it (and not yourself) we fear the problem is beyond our means to address. We have checked the blinds and they all work correctly and while the view out of the windows gives sight to the houses and campsite below it is still dominated by the sea of Cardigan Bay; much appreciated by our discerning guests. We’re comfortable in the knowledge that your view regarding dinner is not shared by the majority of our diners. Your decision not to return is the right one for us as it will free up availability for others who do like it here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Though we did not stay in this hotel the restaurant was our choice for our first night stay in Barmouth, just up the road from our B & B which I have already reviewed a few days ago. It was a beautiful clear sky evening and sitting in the conservatory was absolutely superb. We enjoyed our dinner, the choice of the menu being pretty good but what really made it so special was the fantastic view over Cardigan Bay as the sun set. Just for this view it is well worth a visit for dinner.
Brian

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Hello Brian,
Thank you for your comments regarding the restaurant. We do get people who come to dine at Barney's in order to benefit from the views and sunsets to complement the meal. You may not be aware, but this is the main reason the house was built in 1892, when Mr Greener decided he wanted a quiet life and acquiesced to his wife's request!!
We hope you'll return to Barmouth at some time in the future, and look forward to hosting you once again.
Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

To take advantage of the July sunshine and the beautiful beach around Barmouth for a midweek break we checked TA for hotels. The Ty'r Graig was listed at number 1 which presumably means "the best hotel in Barmouth" which might well be so but, while being quite adequate, illustrates the fact that Barmouth needs to reach higher if it is to claim to have a properly good hotel.
We booked at short notice and were told that there was just one room left, number 10 which is small with a petite shower room (no bath) With a nice seaview. Maybe the other rooms are bigger and therefore much more comfortable. Having said that the antique nature of the building offers interesting character which is pleasing. It is a fairly short walk, about 15 mins or so, into Barmouth centre.
Several complimentary comments are offered about the quality of the food but as we only tried breakfast we cannot really say except that what we did see in the bar in the early evening looked fine.
In conclusion, we thought that the hotel was fine or a short break but couldn't help wishing that there was a really good hotel in Barmouth to try. In other words, this might well be 'the best' but that in itself is no promise of superlative quality.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Hello RHS01

Thank you for your observations. TA rankings are based on the percentage of positive comments made by staying guests. In some cases, it includes personal opinions, impressions, and tastes, and for that reason alone, a ranking should not be interpreted as a mark for ‘best’ or ‘worst’ in class. We are indeed pleased with our high ranking because it tells us that we are meeting the expectations of the majority and that our efforts appreciated. Barmouth has long been a popular holiday destination and its appeal and success borne out of constantly striving to meet visitor expectations matched against the socio-economic profile of its market and the forces of supply and demand.

Our rooms come in various shapes and sizes, and some do have a smaller than average en-suite due to constraints met when adapting the Victorian house to the needs of the 21st century. Guests are always informed of this at the time of booking.

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I'm a sucker for a hotel with character and a story to tell. This is a faux castle built in 1892 by the gunsmith WWGreener. The current owners are rightly proud of the building. It commands a spectacular view out to sea, although I'm sure Mr Greener would have had something to say about the brutal housing estate which blights the vista.
Can't fault the attitude of the staff. Friendly, efficient and attentive. Hats off to them!
Not sure about the dress code for dinner ('smart casual'). Seems a bit high and mighty, but that is their prerogative.
Plenty of decent fish'n'chip shops in Barmouth.......

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Hello Mr W,

Thanks for your comments, especially regarding the staff, which are appreciated.

Unfortunately, we can do little about the housing, but as this is the home of the major part of the Barmouth population, there would probably be no town without it!

Our dress code is purely to imply that, unlike a beachfront cafe, we would not want people to be wearing beachwear etc. In respect of the view, we offer a unique dining experience to both residents and non-residents alike, and with most of our residents being more discerning, we endeavour to create the right ambience for a relaxing and pleasant evening.

Apropos your final note, we do get many locals coming to Barney's for our fish and chips!

Steve James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Just had a two night stay. The facilities and service were first class from arrival to check out.
I would highly recommend going for room four if it is available as the view from the balcony is out of this world. Also, if it's a warm night, then keep the balcony doors open and fall asleep to the sound of the sea.

Room Tip: Room 4 for the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveJ2586, Manager at Ty'r Graig Castle, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Hello andyhill101,

Many thanks for your scores and remarks. We appreciate ALL feedback, and it's always good to know that we have succeeded in our aim of a friendly welcome and good service.

As you rightly say, the views are superb, and are the reason the house was originally built in 1892. You also had the added bonus of the lovely weather, allowing you to appreciate the relaxing ambience of the sea.

Hopefully you'll be back to see us again in the future.

Kind regards
Steve JamesJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ty'r Graig Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ty'r Graig Castle

Address: Llanaber Road, Barmouth LL42 1YN, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark Victorian castle-hotel situated on the edge of Snowdonia National Park, overlooking Cardigan Bay. Approx. 1/2 mile out of Barmouth. An excellent base for anyone wishing to explore the surrounding areas. Recently described by a guest as 'an oasis of calm' it sits proudly between the mountains and the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ty'r Graig Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty`r Graig Castle Hotel Barmouth
Ty'r Graig Castle Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ty'r Graig Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.