We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Min-y-mor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Min-y-mor Hotel to your Saves list
Min-y-mor Hotel
Marine Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great place in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Lovely place in a great location overlooking Barmouth beach. Didn't stay here but called in a few times walking back to campsite. Food very good, very friendly staff, dog friendly too.

Might return again for a weekend and stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon either as a Hotel guest or to dine with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    54
    26
    13
    9
See reviews for
26
84
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

My mum, the dog and I had hoped to stay in Aberdovey for the night, but having not been able to find even a parking space let alone anywhere to stay, we moved up the coast and ended up in Barmouth. After stopping at several B & B's en route without success, we came across Min y Mor, which not only had rooms and a car park, but also took dogs. Decision made! The Ritz it isn't, but we had a comfortable night in spotlessly clean rooms (myself and the dog had a family room on the front overlooking the garden and the beach and mum had a refurbished double at the rear) we had a good meal in the bar - reasonably priced and plenty of it! - and breakfast was tasty and served promptly in the spacious dining room. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. My room was a little dated and there was no shower, just a bath, but I understand they are refurbishing the rooms over the next few months. We were totally happy with our one night's stay - we even got a discount! - and would be more than happy to stay there again. If you want five star luxury and don't like dogs, then don't stay here and don't leave negative comments, but if you want a comfortable night at a reasonable price and right on the sea front, then this place fits the bill. Thanks for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your brilliant and honest review we are really glad you enjoyed your stay and meal with us and hope to welcome you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family wanted to take a trip down memory lane from 35 years ago and booked the Min y Mor to stay in. There were 12 of us plus a baby and we could not have picked a better hotel if we tried. The staff were brilliant, super facilities for the kids, quiet areas for the older ones of us to get peace and quiet, very busy bars but did not hear any noise in the bedrooms at all and the kids slept well, right next to the lovely beach, superb food and every taste was catered for. (even gluten free food for one of us) We would all recommend it for a lovely family holiday and would certainly go again. Thank you to all the staff for a super time and hopefully we will see you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your glowing review we are glad you enjoyed your stay and reminiscing in Barmouth. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

very good value hotel. i was a little worried when i realised that the bars were open to and frequented by any and all but soon found that my room was at the back and far away from potential noise, when i arrived was met by very friendly lady who turned out to be the owner she gave me a choice of room and the keys to look at choices, never had that before. the upstairs room was quite small and old/tired looking so i chose the groundfloor rear which was a large twin with on suite, it was very clean and had good windows and felt very airy, which was good as it was very warm. breakfast was good, plenty of choice and very quick, good for me as i was working and needed to get going. all the staff were very friendly , the bar guy was especially good (not that i used the bar) we got chattiness and he delighted in getting his new ipad out as we discussed old bands. i hope i get a chance to visit again, the view is great across the bay from the front garden, thanks guys for a good stay

Room Tip: rooms in the newer back extension seem quieter and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for the review, we were all very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again if on business in the area or fancy a staycation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Stayed for the weekend with sister and dog. Everyone was very friendly, the room was very clean and more than adequate. Very dog friendly but wouldn't put me off if hadn't had a dog. The beach opposite the hotel is ok for dogs and is one of the best beaches I have seen. Lots of tables on the lawn outside the hotel. Short walk along the beach into the town where we had a lovely meal. Breakfast good and ate in on the Friday as it was 'curry night' - food not bad. Great atmosphere, Saturday night is 'karaoke night' and is very loud which is ok if you're joining in but not so good for sleeping but we survived! Would recommend this place 100% and will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thanks for your excellent honest review we hope to see you again soon. The rooms above reception can be a bit noisy on a Saturday, night so please ask for a quiet room when booking next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We have just returned from a nights stay at the Min-y-mor hotel. On arrival we were told we had to wait for our room as they had given our key to another guest so they could have a look round. I found this off putting from the start as we were booking in at 4:30 well after the advised time of booking in. When we were able to go to our room it was very clean however the decor wasn't of a basic standard the wallpaper was falling off the walls. I was pleasantly suprised however that the children had their own sleeping area which did give us alot more space. The bathroom was clean however there wasn't a shower as shown in pictures on other websites they advertise. I have never stayed at a hotel without a shower even over the bath I personally class a shower as a necessity. On reading through the manual in the room it advised that you should book a table in the restaurant for your evening meal this was not explained when booking or on arrival. When I went to book a table I was advised that Friday nights are curry nights and the usual menu they advertise on their website is not available. When I explained that we don't tend to eat curry I was advised that the other option was sausages and mash or I could walk into town and find a restaurant which we did and I'm pleased we did as the food we ate was beautiful.
They supplied alot of choice for breakfast however the full english was not up to standards it was hardly "full" and didnt taste very nice.
All in all it wasn't a very pleasant stay and we wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your feedback, I was disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay. Not all of our rooms have showers and this is clearly visible on pictures on our website and on booking.com. Our rooms vary in terms of decor several have been refurbished this year and last but the one you were in was one of our older rooms which is due to be refurbished at the end of this year.
I was also sorry you were unhappy with the Friday night menu. Friday night is curry night but we do offer alternatives of our award winning sausages or beer battered haddock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We booked a one night stay and will definitely be returning. The hotel is in a perfect spot with ample car parking. Slightly set away from the hustle and bustle (if you can even call it that) and perfectly placed near to the sea with beautiful views I can honestly say we were comfortable and happy. I see how people may say the rooms are dated but absolutely spotless and have all you need to be comfortable. The staff are wonderful and happy to help. The food was fantastic. We had our evening meal and all was fresh and plentiful. The breakfast had options to suit all. There were many locals and returning customers at the hotel and that says a lot about this hotel and we will be regulars also. Next time we will even be taking our dog. There were other guests with dogs and both were happy. My husband and I stayed in one of the family rooms with out two children aged 12 and 9 plus our 2 year old.

Thank you Min-y-more :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minymor, Front Office Manager at Min-y-mor Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thanks for your review we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Min-y-mor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Min-y-mor Hotel

Address: Marine Promenade, Barmouth LL42 1HW, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Min y Mor Hotel is ideally located on the Promenade in the picturesque town of Barmouth in North Wales.The Min y Mor Hotel has a licensed restaurant, Lounge Bar, Bar, Family room and Function Room, all are open to non residents as well as residents. The Restaurant has a good reputation locally and among visitors alike with our Chefs traditional and vegetarian dishes using the best market ingredients available and in generous quantities. The residents Menu is changed daily. All special diets can be catered for with prior notice.All the rooms in the hotel are en-suite and have Tea/Coffee making facilities, TV and Telephone.A few short steps from the hotel and you'll find yourself on the sandy beach of Cardigan Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Min-y-mor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Min-y-Mor Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Min-y-mor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.