We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst diner EVER” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Chuck's American Diner

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chuck's American Diner
Beach Road, Barmouth LL42 1LP, Wales
01341 281 074
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Cuisines: American, Diner
Restaurant details
Dudley
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst diner EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just been to Chuck's. God it was awful. Went at lunchtime, place was empty (should have taken that as a sign not to enter) ordered a chocolate milkshake and the waitress had to run to the Co-op next door coz they had run out of milk !! Ordered our food, 2 kids meals came on paper plates. We then had to wait for the waitress to get back from outside having a fag break before our 3rd child's meal could be delivered, then it wasn't what he'd ordered. They had no change and had to leave again to get money from the amusement arcade over the road. Truly, truly awful. It should be closed down. Totally unhygienic. Toilets were a disgrace. Never, ever again. I don't want to give this place a rating at all. It deserves nothing.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    2
    3
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Shocking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

I have never been to eat somewere and been served my food on a paper plate!! not that i could eat anything of it, took ages for food to reach us, it was cold and a little undercooked, the kids had a hot dog and some chicken dippers, the plate was soaked in chip fat oil, i had to wipe down the high chair for the baby myself it was coverd in muck, attitude of the staff left much to be desired USLESS, place was filthy and way over priced, wouldent eat here again if they paid me, plz people DO NOT put your selfs through the experience, DISGUSTING

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Avoid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Poor quality burger even worse hot dog that was just a big catering sausage with very greasy onions......unbelievably..no ketchup available

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

I am from America and it should be against the law to have America in this places name. One of the worst meals I have ever had. The beef should not be allowed to be called beef. It was awful. My wife couldn't even take a second bite it was so bad. I will never go back and no one should go either. You might as well flush your money down the toilet and save yourself from a stomach ache.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

The beef burgers are of the lowest quality cash & carry type imaginable; the chicken burgers the same; the drinks are very light on the post-mix syrup and heavy on the water and the chips are of the insipid, limp anaemic sort that you get from the lowest form of bargain frozen food supermarket.

Don't go there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck's American Diner also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to Chuck's American Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chuck's American Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.