We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cod” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mermaid Fish Bar

The Mermaid Fish Bar
Jubilee Road, Barmouth LL42 1LT, Wales
01341 280614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Cuisines: Fish & Chips
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Lovely cod”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Popped to the mermaid friday night. I love a fish n chip by the seaside. The que was quite busy but service is quick. The cod was beautiful really melted in the mouth the chips were ok but im sure they are frozen . Overall cracking fish ok chips. Would love a smile behind counter too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    10
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

There is always a queue at busy times. The reason is the food is great. Lovely fresh fish, great chips. Mini meals at 2.50 are great value for a light snack.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Mediocre chips and batter but nice bit of cod”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Ques and reviews made me think this place would live up to the fish and chips in whitby.

However whilst the cod itself was gorgeous, the batter and chips were nothing special at all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips in Barmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

This fish and chip shop was recommend to us and we weren't disappointed. It was a cold evening so we sat and ate in - lovely fish and chips you wont be disappointed

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We went too the Mermaid on a few occasions , The food is excellent , the customer service could do with tweaking slightly , I watched the woman behind the counter put her thumb inside her nostril then drag it down her overall , I thought perhaps that she hadnt considerd what she had done and that it was an oversight , but then she put her finger deep inside her ear , waggled it about and then picked up the food tray that she was about to put someone's food into ,,, It was So off putting , we wont go there again because of it , Yes the food is very good , but the staff do need to do the place a favour and tidy themselves up ..

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mermaid Fish Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Mermaid Fish Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mermaid Fish Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.