We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent staff--- a little gem.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Davy Jones Locker

The Davy Jones Locker
The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1ET, Wales
01341 280166
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great food, excellent staff--- a little gem.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stopped off here for a quick sandwich on a lovely sunny sunday afternoon. Obviously Barmouth itself was very busy due to the weather but we were able to fins a seat inside for our lunch.
We both chose different sandwiches which were very good and I would certainly consider returning here to eat again. The staff were very friendly and very efficient, our food arrived within minutes of ordering which was very well received !!
Pricing is probably a little higher than other places inland but with the view from the from of the restaurant you maybe expect to pay a premium.

There are a number of tables outside where you can enjoy the view across the harbour, however, it is located on quite a narrow street that is one of the main access routes to the car parks further down the sea front.

All in all a great little place to grab food or drink.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    42
    17
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, great views, great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sat outside on a warm summer's evening. Lovely views and great food. Can recommend the Brie and cranberry panini and the chilli. Would definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Quick fast food with lovely views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here just before last orders at 7pm for something quick to eat after travelling from Leeds.
I had the chilli and my husband had scampi. I would recommend it for somewhere to get something quick and easy with lovely outside dining with views. It's not gourmet dining but its convenient and tasty, at reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We called here with our 2 dogs for a lovely coffee, hot chocolate with cream, and 2 scones.
Lovely place, just relaxing looking over at the sea. Couldn't ask for more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Rain or shine, a lovely place for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a blustery damp June Sunday lunchtime, packed inside and out but was really lucky and managed to get a table inside. Service was friendly and quick, food was delicious. 3 of us had BLTs which were huge and one Stilton and steak panini, two massive bowls of chips. Everything really fresh and hot. Definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Davy Jones Locker also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Davy Jones Locker? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Davy Jones Locker, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.