We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Indian Restaurant

Saffron Indian Restaurant
Church Street | Barmouth Gwynedd, Barmouth LL42 1EW, Wales
01341 281102
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Having climbed Snowdon there is nothing like a well earned curry to finish off the day. We visited the Saffron having read the reasonable reviews hoping for a really great curry. When we sat down, at a nearby table were two food inspectors. Obviously not something you would expect, certainly not really professional and perhaps the most inappropriate place to hold meetings of that nature in the evening. It kind of left us wondering if the food you were being served was up to scratch?? I ordered a chicken biryani as was stunned when it came without rice? Was I missing something or is that how you really cook biryani???? The quality of the food tasted cheap and probably would taste better if you were very drunk. Drinks were well overpriced and much cheaper in the Off Licence 50 yards down the road. It was not busy and was never busy over the course of the 4 days we were there and perhaps in hindsight we should have learnt from this. They don't accept credit or debit cards only cash which is inconvenient. One to avoid at all costs.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    44
    19
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Telford Shropshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Eating Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We ate here whilst on holiday as we had not booked anywhere else.....but we were thoroughly impressed by both the service and the food, so much so that we had takeaway from here twice again before we left! The dishes were amazing and the staff were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Our only disappointment was that we live 90 miles away and so could only visit when on our holidays! Fantastic eating experience - we will definitely be back!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Bog standard at best ...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

It's a basic, bog standard curry house. Clearly using cheap cuts of meat, cheap sauces and chutneys, and churning out curry for the less discerning diner. Don't. Unless you're desperate for a curry. Or drunk. Or both.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Lovely food an freindly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

First visit to the indian and was very happy with the service and food. We had our 3 children with us and the staff were very freindly and helpfull,the food was lovely and the waiters were back and forth seeing if we needed anything and askin if all was ok. Will be back again on our next visit ; )

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD FRIENDLY STAFF”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Really lovely food - couldn't fault it. Varied menu so there was plenty to choose from.
Staff were very attentive and friendly - could'nt do enough for you. We were there until nearly closing time chatting away with the waitress. Over the years more and more of the pubs and restaurants have sadly closed down but can understand why this has stayed opened. They offer a very friendly atmosphere, good food and drinks.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.