We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunray Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Barmouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sunray Guest House
Save
You added Sunray Guest House to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Just returned from a glorious and relaxing weekend at the Sunray guest house! It is in a fantastic location looking across the harbour and the beach, and the cafes, bars and shops are only a few minutes walk away. The rooms are lovely, clean and comfortable with tea and coffee facilities plus the added bonus of parking. You can also sit back and enjoy the views of the beach from the private garden. The owners Danny and Lisa are very friendly and welcoming - thank you for a delightful weekend! We hope to return soon – Lee and Paula

Room Tip: All rooms have a lovely view of the harbour or beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
So glad you had a good time and thank you so much for that lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
68
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Really clean and friendly and relaxed. Bathroom looked as if it had never been used. Beautiful view over the harbour. Excellent location for bars, shops and beach. Owners stay out of your way and politely ask you to treat the bedroom should would your own - no takeaways and no smoking. That's how they keep it so lovely I guess

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you so much and you hit the nail on the head, just treat our rooms as you would your own.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Have stayed at Sunray on several occasions whilst competing at the annual Barmouth Beach Race, liked it so much I decided to stay here on a short break also.
Fantastic accommodation in a distinctive art-deco building, I normally stay in the twin room, which is an annexe to the main building, secluded and with great views of the beach.
Friendly owners who are always welcoming and helpful.
Some correspondents have complained on here about no breakfast provision, this I find isn't a problem as there are so many great places to eat nearby, and it adds to the relaxed feel, we can all have a lie in if we wish!
Fully recommended

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thanks for that great review and lok forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisbech, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Came across this lovely Art Deco Guest House, purely by accident after a days touring on the motorbike. From the moment, we dismounted, there was nothing that would be too much trouble to help us with. We hadn't booked, but we were given a fab room, and they even moved the cars in their garage, so that we could park the motorbike in there. The room itself was absolutely spotless and the bathroom was a real treat. It was very quiet there, and had a lovely feeling to it.
Would most def recommend. Nearby there is no shortage of places to eat. There is parking on site outside. Extremely comfortable bed too and towels are provided. Perfect for folk touring.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thanks for that wonderful review, glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

When going to Barmouth i have always stopped outside at TalyBont in a caravan. Me and my partner often have walked by and looked up at the Sunray and wonderded what it would be to stop there. It's my partners birthday this month so decided to surprise him and booked up for along weekend. Was I glad what a lovely place. Lisa greeted us and was very friendly. Our room was over the harbour and we could have stopped there all day just watching the world go by. The room was clean and a comfortable bed. They also have parking which now a days you don't always get. We would stop there again and hopefully next time for longer.There was also a place outside where you could sit and have somethink to eat over looking the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at the frot have a excellent view of the harbour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
That's really kind of you both and glad you had a great birthday in Barmouth :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We started taking our family to the Sunray 19 years ago when our eldest was tiny, from the first visit We have always been treated with the most amazing friendliness, Danny & Lisa go the extra mile to make everybody feel welcome. The rooms are always very clean & comfortable with lots of tea & coffee, if there is something you need or you would like extra of something it's never a problem. As the Sunray is right on the Harbour & on a hill the views out to sea are beautiful. We like the fact that you are not in right in the town so it's quiet as every town gets noisy at busy times, but you are only a 2or 3 min walk so no need to drive. If (as I have read on another review) the parking difficult (it's not,) i'm sure Danny would help you, but you need to ask he is not a mind reader. My Mum is not the best at parking & he has moved her car in & out for her. My Mum started to take our Son every year about 15 years ago & she said she always feels like it's home from home. Yesterday My eldest stopped with his girlfriend & Danny & Lisa made them feel so welcome, which was lovely. Breakfast isn't a problem there is a great little café about 50yds away that has a great choice of breakfast options. Looking forward to future visits.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for that great review, we'll be getting big heads!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brewood, staffs
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A last minute decision for a weekend away took us to Barmouth and Sunray Guest House. What a lovely surprise!

We have stayed in Barmouth a number of times over the last few years and must have walked past Sunray loads of times - but we have never seen it because it is situated on an elevated position. Its exterior "Art Deco" style is attractive and this theme is continued within the House with some beautiful pieces of furniture.
Lisa and Dan made us feel very welcome and our bedroom was clean, cosy and comfortable. The wonderful views across the Harbour and Barmouth beach from our room were simply stunning.
The Guest House is in a perfect location. Its small garden is the perfect spot to sit, sip wine and watch the sun go down.
It's well within a short walking distance to the town centre, the harbour and outstanding beaches - and it has its own car park.
Breakfast is not on offer but to be honest it was lovely to enjoy a relaxed lie-in and then wander down the drive to one of the harbour front cafes.
We had a wonderful stay and will, without doubt, stay at Sunray Guest House again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
What can we say...............? Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunray Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunray Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.