We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome,excellent room, great location - definitely returning” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunray Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunray Guest House to your Saves list
Sunray Guest House
The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 26 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Warm welcome,excellent room, great location - definitely returning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We were looking for a last minute, one-night stay. From the first contact with the Sunray Guest House, and throughout the stay, we experienced enthusiasm for the service provided and a helpful, friendly approach. Everywhere we saw was tastefully furnished, with several items of art and furniture drawing our attention. We were told that ours was the only room still to be decorated this year, though we found it above average for decor and condition! The room was clean, well equipped and had plenty of storage space. One window in our room had a view of the sea, and the other of the hill behind the hotel. Our night was very peaceful and comfortable. There is no breakfast provided, but there are plenty of options at cafes right on the doorstep, with the opportunity of eating in the sun whilst enjoying views of the harbour.
Barmouth itself is delightful. A small, attractive town set along a narrow coastal strip and up the lower edge of the hillside, with plenty of interest. A number of hotels, pubs and cafes overlook the harbour and sea, with outdoor seating. Some offer occasional live music, or a disco, and other entertainment in the evenings. There are extensive golden sands or pebble beaches if you prefer. A railway bridge with a pedestrian toll-pathway gives access to the other side of the estauary. The prom is amazingly long for the size of town. Hill-walking is right on your doorstep with the area being surrounded by hills and mountains.
Admittedly our experience was in the sun, but to us Barmouth and the area around it was idyllic. Eating a seafood meal at a harbour cafe (where you could choose your lobster from the pool) was reminiscent of a holiday we very much enjoyed in Madeira. We will definitely be returning to the area with the intention of exploring the hills, if we can bear to leave that wonderful sea air, and can only hope there is a vacancy at the Sunray Guest House at the time. Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you both so much for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    12
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
62
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2011

Was the perfect couple weekend away, we went and stayed in the room that looks over the sea, the views were amazing, we stayed when a big sea ship came in and to see that was wonderful, me and my fiance will be back before the end of the year.
the couple that own it were wonderful aswell.
i would tell everyone to go!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Thank you both so much for your honest review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed one night but will be back, good locstion overlooking the harbour & the beach. Room very clean with all amenities with a great view. Hosts Dan & Lisa made us very welcome,we will be back later in the year. Hotel had a very relaxing feel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much for those kind words

Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

What a fantastic weekend, Barmouth has aways been a winner for us, but the locality and excellent room made this one perfect (and of course the glorious weather helped)
We enjoyed the spacious room and shower always an advantage with a 6ft 2" and 24 stone professional wrestler as space is sometimes an issue ! not here tho. Danny and Lisa were the perfect hosts there if needed but we came and went at our own leisure.
It was a joy to park up on the friday and not get back in the car till we left reluctantly on monday afternoon.
Hope to come back asap.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 with its harbour view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much.

Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for just one night giving us the chance to explore barmouth and fairbourne. The guest house could not be in a better location. We stayed in the "twin room round the back" which was perfect. Nice beds and nice clean bathroom. No problems with parking and although they dont offer breakfast there are cafes within a stones throw. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west midlands uk
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

a friendly stay, nice clean rooms with views of the sea, parking

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, July 26, 2011
Thank you so much very much.

Danny & Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Sunray is a very clean and comfortable guest House with views to die for. It is located in by far the best position in the whole of Barmouth and the owners Danny & Lisa are excellent hosts. A very relaxed atmosphere and good eating is to be had within a minutes walk.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
danielbrooks3, Owner at Sunray Guest House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thanks for a good honest review :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunray Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunray Guest House

Address: The Quay, Barmouth LL42 1HB, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Sunray Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunray Guest House Hotel Barmouth
Sunray Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunray Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.