We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Captain's Table

The Captain's Table
Church Street, Barmouth LL42 1EW, Wales
01341 280385
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 39 Restaurants in Barmouth
Price range: $11 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: I am owner of this restaurant & have submitted all of the details through the owner link once on 7.7.09 & again on 14.7.09 however still nothing shows up. You can contact me at my e-mail address if there is a problem. Thanks
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Winter break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The owners Debbie and Mito were very friendly and attentive, Mito being the chef came out to greet us after we had eaten. Being winter months it was fairly quiet.
The food was very good, hot and plentiful also plenty of choice.
Would recommend.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    7
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“my least favourite place to eat in Barmouth”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The food is OK..ish...the atmosphere is a bit lacking...but the waitress is less than friendly.
Four of us went in to eat...we were asked abrubtly if we had booked a table (we hadn't) surly waitress said she could not fit us in. There were 2 tables to seat 2 people ...side by side and empty. We asked if they were reserved...luckily a waiter overheard and said they were free and they could be pushed together to accomodate us. Surly waitress begrudgingly did that....the service went downhill from then on.

We wont be going back.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
“rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

staff freindly,food poor for money.was a special occasion was spoilt.staff children in restuarant so hardly romantic

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good varied menu, good food, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were a party of thirteen (not the same one as "Mawddach") wanting an impromptu get-together. Even though we gave them only a few hours notice "the Captain's Table" were able to accommodate us and they did us proud. The service was friendly, patient and efficient and the food was reasonably priced and, as far as I know, was enjoyed by the whole group. A good time was had by all!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We where a party of 13 at The captain's Table and not one of us where disappointed. The food was excellent and plenty of it. The service was great and very friendly. We hope to visit again.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Captain's Table also viewed

Barmouth, Gwynedd
Barmouth, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Captain's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.