We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Barmouth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crystal House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Crystal House Hotel to your Saves list
Crystal House Hotel
19 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 26 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful Barmouth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

It was the first time we stayed for a couple of nights in Barmouth. We found Crystal House Hotel owners friendly, warm and welcoming. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and comfortable. The cooked breakfast was very filling and tasty. We didn't expect our room to be in such a beautiful and relaxed spot. Our room had the most amazing views across the sea and beach and the backdrop of mountains. Wonderful. The sunset were spectacular over Cardigan Bay and we could see this from the comfort of our room. We would definately go back again, it was a bargain!!

Room Tip: If you want a window with a fabulous view, then ask for the bay rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House Hotel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    13
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
21
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We have stayed 3 times as a couple and 1 time with myself and my young son we absolutley love to stay as you have allways made us feel welcome . We allways love to have room 9 the view is amazing . The cooked breakfast is great and you allways make sure we want for nothing .We look forward to seeing you later in the year . we have recomended you to all our family and friends .Please dont change anything you do, as it really is perfect thanks vanessa & dave

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I and my partner both love it. Having stayed in other B and Bs this is completely above all places. Views amazing food amazing. I can't wait to go back absolute bargain :) I love that you can order a picnic it's well good perfect for a romantic stroll around the town.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Had a really lovely 3 nights , stayed in room 6 a family room,it overlooked the sea .perfect! Nothing was to much trouble.breakfast was served in the dining room which was very homely!! I would defenatly recomend this hotel for familes. It was very laid back breakfast from 8.30-9.30 so still got a lie in .perfect location and I got a parking space right outside .

Room Tip: Room 6 family room over looking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

FANTASTIC customer service from Katie as she was very welcoming on the phone and especially when we arrived.

they made space for my motorbike out side there hotel.

Very laid back and just left us to our holiday which was great !!!
Fab breakfast and vegi one for my wife.

A customer microwave down stairs, an added bonus for my pastie lol.
Thanks Katie and Stephen . Phil & Dani

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope that you had a safe journey home! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have to admit we were really disappointed. The room was really tired and needed some serious TLC and cleaning. There was no "door" on the wardrobe area, there was peeling / missing wallpaper and a greasy stain on the headboard from some previous persons hair. The bathroom was big, but the grouting was well past it's best (orange colour), the tiles were dirty and the shower screen was all green and mouldy at the bottom. I've stayed in some really nice hotels for the same price - sorry, just not up to scratch.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrystalKatie, Owner at Crystal House Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us, however, we too are equally disappointed that the first we knew of your issues was this review!

We take time to talk to our guests and welcome all feedback - whether positive or not. With reference to your comments, the wardrobe is an open-style wardrobe, similar to those you find in hotels such as Premier Inn and the like and the tiles and shower screen are cleaned after every change over and are not 'green and mouldy'.

Although the room you stayed in is due to be decorated this winter, the wallpaper is not peeling in places and we take pride in providing a clean and comfortable stay for our guests, many returning time after time.

Thanks again for taking time to get in touch, however we feel that we could have resolved these issues if you had brought them to our attention during your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We booked a 3 night stay and were given a family room at the front of the hotel. The view overlooking the sea was amazing and was worth going up a few flights of stairs. The room was clean and comfortable with it`s own ensuite shower room. Breakfast was excellent with everything you could want including a full english vegetarian option for me, then straight out the front door onto the beach to walk it off.
A big thank you to our hosts Stephen and Kathryn for creating such a warm, relaxing and unintrusive atmosphere. When we reurn to Barmouth we definately will be stopping here again.

Room Tip: The Crystal Hotel is in a very quiet part of Barmouth. We stopped in room 6 a family room with amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crystal House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crystal House Hotel

Address: 19 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Crystal House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crystal House Hotel Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crystal House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.