We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lawrenny Lodge to your Saves list
Lawrenny Lodge
Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 26 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Stourbridge
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in a single room. On arrival tea and warm Welsh ckaes. Sadly no sea view from my room but the room was larger than most offered as a single, spotlessly clean, tea, coffee and cookies and the offer of fresh milk!
Breakfast was really good, my only regret was that I didn't have the salmon and scrambled egg which was the special on my first day, kippers aren't my 'cup of tea' so two very filling English breakfasts, eaten with a wonderful sea view.

Ample parking available too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
73
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Englishman on the Move
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Located a short walk from Barmouth harbour and centre with its own off road car parking Lawrenny Lodge is ideally located for visiting the area. We booked a sea view room at the front of the house, well worth it if only for the sunset. The room itself was large, very comfortable and in good condition with a sizeable, good bathroom and details such as tea and coffee -making equipment and biscuits ! Breakfast was excellent always with one "special" which made a nice change from the "Full English" of everywhere else.

The owners were very pleasant, helpful and had loads of information on the local area.

Room Tip: Book a room at the front for the view, traffic noise was not a problem for us even though the road i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

very nice place, just a short walk to Barmouth centre; parking directly at the hotel; but: room with sea view means facing the main road, which is loud in the morning; very fine breakfast; good overview over the restaurants in town

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

A great welcome with a great sea view. The owners have been here for 3 years, and yet they appear to have ticked all the boxes that years of experience and trying would finally get. They have have got it already. Great views, really clean, great personal touches, fantastic breakfasts. All in all we are looking forward to returning. Thank you to the other reviewers who helped us to choose this great vacation. 10/10.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view. It is so worth it!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The location is a bonus even with a little road noise if you have a sea view room which we did.
Our room was excellent everything in very good condition,the bathroom almost new. A plentiful
supplly of tea & coffee as well as a caffetier.Breakfast was delightful with all local fresh produce,
would certain revisit. My only regret is i never did get any of those weish cakes other reviewers
got.Oh well maybe next time, if you like Barmouth its worth staying here.
Gwyn H

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We were visiting family so were just looking for a basic b&b for 2 nights that must have parking. We weren't looking for much but was pleasantly surprised. We picked a 'small' room but i would say it was quite sizeable, id like to see how big the larger rooms were! The breakfast was incredible, you get a choice of a full breakfast or a specials board. We had full english the first morning and pancakes with blueberrys the second. It was delicious! I was very impressed with the whole experience and would definitley stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the start of May 2013 and had a wonderful time. The breakfast is first class with plenty of choice, our room was extremely comfortable with a beautiful en suite bathroom attached. A little way out from the town centre but the view from the sea view rooms is wonderful. Plenty of choice for eating out in the town and car parking at the front is an added bonus.
Will def be back at sometime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrenny Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.