We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lawrenny Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Lawrenny Lodge to your Saves list
Lawrenny Lodge
Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 25 Barmouth B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Room was a nice size. Bed was really comfy. Bathroom very clean and shower hot.

Lawrenny Lodge is on the edge of Barmouth and it was about a 10 minute walk into town for pubs and restaurants, of which there is a good selection.

Breakfast was excellent - there was a choice between a full English - sorry, full Welsh - and then a different special each day. One day was Eggs Benedict and the next scrambled egg and smoked salmon, which arrived in huge quantities but was absolutely delicious!

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
74
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We had stayed here 3 nights and had a very pleasant stay .the breakfast area had a good view of the sea and was breathtaking. The host was very kind and made us feel comfortable. She was able to understand that we were vegetarians and made veg sausage roles especially for us. Would recommend this b & b for a calm and lovely stay. It's also located within 40mins to most of the places you might want to see in the snowdonia national park.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camelford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Me and my wife just had a marvelous stay at this Bed & Breakfast. We also had a sensational trip in Snowdonia, mountains, and roads, covered in snow It certainly lived up to its namw, (SNOW)donia. We visited Portmerion wher e the notorious series "The Prisoner" was made, it was enchanting. We went to "Plas Brondanw" the ancestral home of Clough William Ellis. We were not allowed in the house as it is now rented out and is private but we walked around the gardens which looked as though they would be spectacular when all flowers and plants are in bloom. The B & B was very, very good and very welcoming. The hosts couldn't do enough for us, Robyn, the Hostess was extremey helpful, served a wonderful Beakfast and made sure we wanted for nothing. 5 BIG stars for this B & B. The "Last Inn" just dowm the road serves very good food.

Room Tip: The Sea View rooms are a little more expensive but have a wonderful view over Cardigan Bay and the I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean although a little tired, breakfast was very good. We were alarmed to discover our door had been left open by the staff when we returned from a day out, luckily our belongings were still intact.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed for three nights, very welcoming. Stayed in twin room on second, floor found very comfortable with everything we needed. Great location for views across the estuary and close to the town and seafront. Excellent stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Extremely welcoming. Benefits from location a few hundred metres from the centre, so has its own ample parking. Made us feel immediately relaxed and at home. Superb view from top floor room. Quality breakfast including option to try laver (?) bread.. Helpful local knowledge. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: We loved the view from the top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

After spending 2 nights, we found our room well-arranged, well-adorned and well-prepared for our arrival. The owners were welcoming and very helpful with local knowledge.

My husband and I look forward to returning in the near future. If you visit Barmouth, you must stay here!

Room Tip: Excellent sea views to front elevation, if rooms is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lawrenny Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lawrenny Lodge

Address: Aberamffra Road, Barmouth LL42 1SU, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on the edge of Barmouth overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Mawddach estuary. Five-minute walk from the beach, town and harbour. Eight en-suite rooms all with digital TV and hospitality tray. Substantial breakfast with options. Own private car park. A perfect location for exploring the breathtaking scenery of Snowdonia National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lawrenny Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawrenny Hotel Barmouth
Lawrenny Lodge Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lawrenny Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.