We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wavecrest Guest House

Save Saved
You added Wavecrest Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wavecrest Guest House
8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Walsall, England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wonderful find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a three night stay recently and will definitely return, the room was superb with a
magnificent sea view
. The breakfasts were totally first class and Eric and Shelagh were the
perfect hosts, to be greeted on arrival with a jug of fresh milk and some biscuits was brilliant
and much appreciated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
56
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We have been frequest visitors to Barmouth in the past. It has everything for children and is set in a most wonderful part of Wales, ideal for a base if you are walkers. This time we decided to stay for 4 days with our grandaughter aged 7. I wish we had done this sooner, Eric and Shelagh were wonderful hosts (when Shelagh actually escaped from the kitchen) Breakfast was one of the best we had ever had with a wide choice of fresh fruit and yoghurt, cereals and an excellent well sized cooked breakfast. The room had a wonderful view over the beach, was extreemly comfortable and very clean. The position of the B & B couldn't be better if you have a child; just cross the fairly quiet road and you are there - right by the donkeys which went down a treat with my grandaughter! We will certainly be returning again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a wonderful find. Such a friendly welcome from Eric and Shelagh. The room was of a high standard with a superb sea-view. Breakfasts were to die for!! The homemade marmalade had such a delicious taste that we all took jars home. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was a four day visit with my two sons aged 8 and 5. Nothing was too much trouble for Eric and Sheelagh. We had a nice family room at the top of the house which had everything we needed. The beach is just a 60 second stroll and the town less than 5 minutes away. The perfect location!
Breakfast was first class as was Sheelagh’s homemade marmalade!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
102 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was surprised to find a bed free in Barmouth, because everywhere seemed very busy. Wavecrest is one of several B&Bs in a long terrace facing the sea front. It doesn't look anything special from the outside. Inside, it looks a bit dated, but is clean and comfortable.

What really makes this place a pleasure to stay at is the cheerful nature of the proprietors. I will never understand how Eric can take multiple orders for breakfast, commit them all to memory, without writing any of it down, or how Shiela can turn those orders round so quickly and efficiently in the kitchen. For that matter, it's amazing how the two of them can run the place and cater for so many guests, and be so pleasant and helpful at the same time. I've seen similar sized places need half a dozen staff to function as efficiently.

It's clear that many of the guests are repeat visitors, and despite Barmouth having a wide choice of accommodation, I'd certainly stay at Wavecrest on any subsequent visit. It's very handy for trains and buses, being only 5 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in this lovely guest house and were impressed with the warmth of the welcome we received from Eric and Shelagh, the comfort of our room with a lovely sea view, and the attention to detail, whether it be the cleanliness of the whole place, the tasteful colour schemes of the rooms, or the paintings on the walls enthusiastically selected by Shelagh. The breakfasts were excellent - beautifully cooked and presented, and enjoyed at tables equipped with immaculate white linen, appropriate china and cutlery and fresh flowers. Altogether a 5 star experience!

Room Tip: Ideally, have a sea view, but would still recommend Wavecrest if this is not possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We have just spent another lovely week in our favorite B &B in Barmouth. What else can we say?Wonderful welcome, breakfast, room with a sea view, and lovely friends Eric and Shelagh to greet us on arrival. We hope we will soon be back .

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely.Sea views are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Address: 8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavecrest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.