We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthdays in Barmouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wavecrest Guest House

Save Saved
You added Wavecrest Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Wavecrest Guest House
8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 26 Barmouth B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Birthdays in Barmouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After looking on trip advisor and reading so many nice reviews choosing Wavecrest was an easy decision to make. Eric and Shelagh were amazing hosts making our birthdays extra special. We arrived to cake, wine and flowers in our room which was so lovely of them to arrange. Our room looked out to sea and was well equipped and clean. Breakfasts are varied and plentiful. My partner especially liked the fresh fruit and yoghurt. Thankyou so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
59
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We just stayed one night on our way home after a visit to mid-Wales. Wavecrest was clean, warm and friendly with a great breakfast. Eric and Shelagh were very friendly. Our room had a beautiful sea view. I'm not surprised that this bed and breakfast has such a good rating on Tripadvisor - it is really well-deserved and we hope to stay there again before too long.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view if this is available!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

After a 5 hour trip to Wales we were certainly hoping to have a nice B&B for the night... And we weren't disappointed! We were welcomed with home made hot cross buns by Eric, who not only showed us to our room but took the time to have a chat with us. The room we stayed in, although not a sea view, was lovely. Comfortable beds and a lounge just outside of our door if we wanted to see the views. Both Eric and Sheila were more than happy to help with anything. If (more like when) we return to Barmouth we would definitely be booking at the wavecrest again.

Room Tip: I'm sure sea view rooms have a better view but if stairs are your enemy ask for 1st floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I arrived in Barmouth not having booked any accommodation found Wavecrest on the sea front, walked straight in and was offered the choice of 2 rooms. Sadly the sea view rooms were all taken, understandable as wee hadn't booked! Both room offered were bright and warm with a Freeview TV and Tea/Coffee making facilities. We chose the double room (the other offered was a double room with an extra single bed for the same price). Breakfast included in the price, great selection of cereals followed by a Full English, tea, coffee and juice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nant, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Stopped at the Wavecrest by chance during our little Welsh adventure. The warm greeting of the hosts, Eric and Shelagh, the beauty of our room overlooking the beach plus the fantastic breakfast was more than enough to make us stay another night! Simply ideal for a romantic week-end, the Wavecrest is a lovely affordable hotel, spacious, clean and perfectly run by two charming people in beautiful settings: beautiful sandy beaches in a lovely little town where you'll find everything you need for a perfect stay. The big plus: it was my birthday and Shelagh brought a fantastic all chocolate cake at the breakfast table! Now, that's something I'll always remember... We'll definitely go back there again! Shaun & Carole

Room Tip: The seaview front rooms (whether single or double)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

lovely room overlooking the sea, with big bay window and two comfy chairs in front. ideal after a day out to sit in with a cup of tea and look at view. bed very comfy. rooms clean. Hosts very friendly and welcoming. breakfast superb. only negative comment, two remote controls for tv, easiest way to confuse my simple mind, never did get it working, but then if I was that bothered I could have asked.

PS. Eric, sorry about traipsing wet sand in. Didnt think it was me until I saw it on the lovely red bedroom carpet. I did clean it up, though as couldnt bear to see you carrying the Dyson upstairs. regards Elaine

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

I stayed at the Wavecrest 9 nights in September 2012. I made it my base for the coastal walk Pwllheli to Aberdyfi, using the Cambrian Coast railway as transport to and from Barmouth each day. It proved to be an excellent choice. My hosts, Eric and Shelagh, gave friendly and efficient service, my second floor single room overlooking the beach was clean and comfortable, complete with flat screen TV, and my vegetarian breakfast was all I could desire, with friendly guests every morning. Oh, and the weather was superb! I'd recommend Wavecrest to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wavecrest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wavecrest Guest House

Address: 8 Marine Parade, Barmouth LL42 1NA, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Gwynedd > Barmouth
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Barmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Wavecrest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavecrest Guest House Barmouth, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wavecrest Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.