We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cliff Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Cliff Hotel & Spa
Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Cardiff
1 review
“Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a wonderful surprise when we visited Cliff for Sunday lunch today. The new restaurant is breathtaking, try get a table by window for magnificent views. I only have one complaint...why, were the dinner plates cold? Buffet meal and desert was delicious,but I would have liked it all on a hot/warm plate. Looking forward to another visit soon...Mag P Jones

Room Tip: Room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    53
    19
    5
    5
See reviews for
13
81
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I have been to this hotel many times before. However our visit in December proved a nice surprise. the hotel and restaurant have been totally revamped. The view over the cardigan is as magnificent as ever. The room have been redecorated with new furniture and wall mounted TV as well as the usual in room facilities. However it is the restaurant and bar that is most worthy of praise. Renamed "Carreg at the Cliff" it is tastefully redone in a very modern style which is very attractive. The dinner we had was worthy of a top London restaurant. The food was beautifully presented and delicious. Served by by staff who were well presented and who obviously enjoyed their job. There is still some building work going but hopefully the terrace should be finished by the summer.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a super dinner tonight in the newly renovated restaurant at the Cliff Hotel. We have been quite a few times before over the years and even had a wedding there a few years ago. Anyone who has visited before will be very impressed by the new updates by the new owners. Although still a work in progress the setting is so special and the much needed improvements so well done would highly recommend it. I had the salt marsh lamb and my husband had the calf's liver both of which were delicious. We had as an appetiser which was the cockle popcorn, we had never had this before and it was gorgeous with a spray vinegar. The service was excellent and I can't wait to see the Hotel brought back to it's well deserved former glory. Well done.

Room Tip: We only went to the new restaurant. If staying would go for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberaeron, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We came across this offer with take that & evening meal the night it self was very good experience And entertainment with nice meal with plenty of wine flowing.
The rooms need vast upgraded more than the lick of paint outside it looked like bomb site i know half way doing things up breakfast in morning was ok bit faulty towers where the coffee machine was

Room Tip: No rooms i believe
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just got back from a one night stay at The Cliff. I have reviewed this hotel before as we go back three times a year.

From our last trip in August, there have been some really good changes. The old conservatory has been knocked down to make way for a very large dining area with panoramic views across the coast. I have seen this view many times but never tire of it. There is a new bar area near to the dining room with a nice seating area. Great colour scheme! The swimming pool has been filled in and they are now doing a patio outside.

We had a room in the new wing. This area hasn't been renovated yet but I am sure it will be stunning when it has. We had a problem with the thermostat in our room which had tripped. The room was cold but the owner changed our room straight away. The service you get from the new owners is very good and from the rest of the staff.

We look forward to seeing what has been done on our next trip in March.

Room Tip: Premium rooms more expensive but they are on the first floor with a balcony and have been renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First time at the Cliff hotel an spa the views from the coach was breathtaking as you travel a long the road leading up to the hotel. our room was lovely twin beds with chairs to relax in clean bathroom with bath an shower over head first night dinner great 3 coarse meal with lots to choose from as this was a package we had a drinks deal the bar staff very friendly as where the waiting on staff to all in all this part of the hotel they have right now for the down side entertainment oh dear first we had a lady with a piano thought she would be like Victoria wood but no more like dead wood she bought no atmosphere at all back ground pub singer that could not sing she came on at 8pm and was gone by 9pm we may be 50 but i don't go to bed at 9pm same for the disco the next night lucky for us are party had bought are own bingo machine and had some laughs from are own company even the other coach party really enjoyed what we did that is why i have not given you a 5 rating you really need to sort the entertainment out if your going into turkey an tinsel remember we like to party we maybe aged from 50 to 80 plus but we like to have a good time not a bed time

Room Tip: it is in new hands and just finding there feet all in all if they get the entertainment right its a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A quiet weekend away at the Cliff.
I never now if this hotel is good or bad, as the location and the views are just breathtaking.
Good hotel, with pleasant rooms , good food and leisure facilities.
Always worth going back to, so it must be special.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room overlooking Cardigan Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Hotel & Spa

Address: Gwbert, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cliff Hotel offers our guests 70 bedrooms varying from family rooms to a suite, with all rooms having en-suite facilities and many having a viers overlooking Cardigan Bay and the Hotel's golf course. Each room has been individually decorated and offers you the ideal place to relax, sit back and enjoy being pampered. Some rooms have their own lounge area but if you would prefer to watch the watch the world go by why not visit our comfortable guest lounge and read a paper over a pot of coffee. Or gaze over Cardigan Bay from our Colonial style conservatory while sipping a cool drink. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Cliff Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Hotel Cardigan
Cliff Hotel & Spa Cardigan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.