We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food each time!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of CAFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT

CAFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT
13 PENDRE, Cardigan, Wales
+44 1239 621863
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Cardigan
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Description: We serve breakfasts , lunches and have a daily specials board , we have an extensive choice for gluten free including homemade cakes We serve speciality teas and coffees .
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food each time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

I have always enjoyed the food here! It's always been really busy which speaks for itself! Great atmosphere and friendly staff. Garlic chicken panini with fetah cheese is amazing!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    31
    8
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“very disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Visited here recently when touring the Cardigan coast just had a scone and a traybake both were stale I would even go as far as saying the scone was not half baked like raw dough also instead of a pot of tea got two cups poured which by the time we got were tepid if a place cannot get such basics right give up very disappinting. Avoid

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crymych
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Average disappointing food, slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We visited this cafe today following a recommendation. Although the menu looked good the food we received after a very long wait was disappointing. It was about 1.30pm and it was quite busy.
We had a burger from the 'normal' menu as the 'special' jerk burger was no longer available. It contained a pineapple ring which was weird and the burger tasted like a cheap frozen one. I had the pork sandwich which contained stuffing which had just been made with hot water and spread onto the bread. The pork actually tasted nice on it's own but the flavour was masked by the stuffing. The salad garnish was a bit boring too and not much of it. The staff however were very friendly but I'm afraid I would hesitate to recommend this cafe. Perhaps we were unlucky and chose the wrong thing and we didn't feel we got value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

very busy café its little wonder they do very good food @ a good price not to mention the wonderful cake & scone we has a lovely meal which kept us going all day very friendly staff if you haven't been worth a visit maybe not one of the best meals I have had in a restaurant but very good all the same would go back if I was in the area

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An amazing range of tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Excellent service backed up by good coffee and a phenomenal range of different types of tea. The cakes are delicious and you can watch the world go by from a comfy armchair.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed CAFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT also viewed

 

Been to CAFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage CAFE FOOD FOR THOUGHT, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.