We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Need to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gwbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Gwbert Hotel
Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Need to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

What a excellent place to stay. Helpful staff from the time you arrive. Great atmosphere in the bar and restaurant with a good choice of quality food, gammon steak nearly bigger than the plate, good presentation with than little bit of something special. And a great cooked breakfast to start the day. This was on a two week business trip. Now need to book a weekend for the me and the wife.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    91
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
48
147
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed for 1 night. Spectacular views across the bay. Friendly staff who were all willing to help. The room was more than adequate for 1, twin room, with shower etc, tv wifi and tea/coffee. The room was clean and tidy but the bed was a bit soft for me so I didn't have the best nights sleep.
Ate in the restaurant at night, good food and beer, friendly locals. requested and received a packed lunch as I was away before breakfast. Will stay again when in area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We'll the hotel was lovely right from the time we arrived till we left. The staff were welcoming and friendly , the rooms were clean and tidy. We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast no complaints there. Would definitely stay again.,

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel is situated about 3 miles west of the town center and overlooks the bay, where we saw dolphins in the late evening and early morning. The coast view is spectacular. The hotel staff is wonderfully accommodating and the room, though tiny, had everything we needed, including free WiFi. An old building, it has a mix of stairs, levels, and rooms hidden down odd mezzanine hallways, but its slow but functional elevator makes up for it. Had a bit of a problem working the shower—one of us ended up with a cold shower, not understanding that the control knobs for the shower were SEPARATE from the tub and if you had both of ‘em on, you ended up draining all the hot water into the tub. The restaurant in the hotel served wonderful meals. The fish was extremely fresh and the produce was local. Service was a bit slow in the morning, but again, delicious full Welsh (English) breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

checking in was easy & the man on reception was very helpful,our room was O.K.& the view was excellent.we dined in the restaurant at night & the meal was very good & the prices where very good.breakfast was not to bad,but it was nothing to go mad about,having said all that the hotel is very popular so they must be doing some-thing right & we would certainly go back

Room Tip: simply make sure you ask for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here several times now. Last time was at a friend's funeral with a small dog (£5 surcharge) who I had to leave in the lovely large room I was given as a regular guest and a single person) my dog did 'the necessary' I returned, not to be admonished but to be reassured that the mess had been cleaned up and the maid had taken him ( he's now deceased) for a walk and that 'there is 'No problem, no problem at all, lady, in that lovely, lovely Southern Welsh accent) I could hardly believe it. Have been with two men friends and discretion is beyond belief (although it wasn't relevent here, just a nod and a wink...ha ha! What wonderful people, fabulous service finest food and drinks and a view from Heaven itsself...offer me the Maldives, Jamaica even Branson's private island..I'd choose The Rock over them any day of the week...thank you so much to the staff at The Rock for being so understanding and so welcoming

Room Tip: one overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here for a few nights at the beginning of May and it was very good stay. Our room didn't have a view unfortunately - only from the bathroom, but it was a large comfortable and clean room. Unfortunately our room was below the hot tub so we had a terrible high pitched noise to deal with for a while until the hot tub was turned off. I have to say the staff were very helpful and friendly and would have done anything for us to rectify the problem.
The food is fantastic downstairs, however the service needs a little bit of honing as it took nearly two hours to get our main courses.
Overall this is a lovely little hotel - which needs some updating from the outside, but don't let that put you off. It's clean and comfortable with friendly staff and I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gwbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.