We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Gwbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Gwbert Hotel
Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We have just returned from a weekend here with our dog and we were given room 20 which is the best room in the hotel. It is a huge room with amazing views of the estuary and a beautiful ensuite and also a free standing bath in the actual bedroom which was fab.
We were on a deal which was 2 nights bed and breakfast with an evening meal on the first night, the food was very good and a nice bottle of Chablis was less than £20 so excellent value for money.
The hotel is in a great place from which to explore the cardigan bay area, just up the road is the seal viewing spot and close by are Poppit Sands which is a lovely beach and St Dogmeals a pretty little village.
We found the staff to be very friendly and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 20 is fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    85
    23
    6
    0
See reviews for
45
132
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from a two day break here bought via amazon local - although the hotel is a little tired, for £99 for b&b with a dinner on one evening, we weren't expecting the world. The staff were lovely and attentive - but our room at the back of the hotel overlooking the car park was not great. Decor in room and also public rooms was very tired and not very comfortable, though the beds were a lot better than in a lot of more expensive hotels. The food was very good and views over the sea from the dining room and bars was superb. 10 out of 10 for the e machine.

Room Tip: We were in room 18 - a family room at the back - no view and not very accessible for wheelchair user...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I recently stayed at the Gwbert Hotel, The staff where lovely & would do anything for you, we where in room 17 with a side view of the estuary, it was very quiet & peaceful but not very suitable if your elderly or disabled [double bed had a wooden frame with sharp corners lots of bruises on our legs]. The shower in the on suite is very small not suitable for elderly, disabled or if your not like a stick insect. The restaurant Flat Rock was very good the choice of meals was small but varied with big portions [but be prepared to wait for main meal as everything is cooked to order].. There is a nice lounge with bar [but beer very flat]. Also there is a lovely deck area at the front of the hotel over looking the estuary also a small gym with sauna & hot tub.We stayed 7 nights but I think long weekends or just a couple of nights would have been enough,

Room Tip: Room 17 very small but quiet with lovely view from window, shower in onsuite very small not suitable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Had a KGB deal for a weekend at this hotel.
Check in, very easy & done with a smile.
Room: Not a massive room, on the side of the building but adequate, included TV, hairdryer, in the bathroom there was complimentary shampoo & shower gel.
Bar: Ventured to the bar after unpacking, again greeted by a lovely smile, ordered our drinks & sat outside on the decking where there was a beautiful view.
Dinner: We had rang earlier in the week requesting a seaview table in the dining room. We did have a lovely sea view & fantastic food which came in large helpings.The restaurant was full so booking early definately recommended.
Breakfast: Tables laid out with room number shown on table so easy to find. Plenty of food on the menu, fruit, cereals, yogurts, juice. followed by a full cooked breakfast of your choice (order taken by the waitress).
We also ate in the dining room the 2nd night as we enjoyed it so much the 1st night. Again excellent food, excellent service with happy smiling staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The coastal path was opposite the hotel for walks where we saw seals. We also went to Mnwt Beach which was fabulous where we saw more seals & Dolphins.
All in all a great trip & I would definately recommend this hotel for a weekend away.The staff are a credit to this Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really liked this hotel the moment I arrived. It was refreshing and honest-to-goodness. I loved my room, which was airy, modern and clean. Comfortable bed - a real bonus! Bird-watchers will love the geese flights in the evening if they are lucky enough to have an estuary view - or they can enjoy from the bar terrace. Food at both lunch and dinner was fine and enjoyable. Service good too even though they were busy. I arrived early for breakfast and was welcomed with a pot of tea at my table - location of which was pre-determined by the hotel the night before (however, I noted that other guests were later having to help themselves to tea and coffee from the buffet area - another unusual custom, but I guess they know what they are doing). I was there on business and really appreciated the comfort (after a week of drab hotels in western Scotland). Dogs welcome. This is a very popular hotel with locals so be prepared to have to book a table in the bar-restaurant.

Room Tip: Be polite and take your chances.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich,Cheshire
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Great room (no 20) with sensational estuary mouth view which made every morning an event.
Really spacious with free standing feature bath and more 'wow' than most hotels.
Staff were welcoming and nearby Cardigan and coast beautiful,go for dinner B and B as restaurant ok and not much else in the hamlet of Gwbert.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Great location room decoration very pleasant and modern the views of sea and sunset beautiful
Very friendly staff
Good food in bistro and lively atmosphere as busy with local people
Wine good value for money

Room Tip: Sea view worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gwbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.