We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous find.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gwbert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Gwbert Hotel to your Saves list
The Gwbert Hotel
Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubai, UAE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fabulous find.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night KGB deal at The Gwbert Hotel, Cardigan Bay. From the outside the hotel looks a little dated but great inside. The rooms we had were standard but ok. The restaurant was superb with a very good menu for the size of hotel and good value. Staff were friendly, enthusiastic and attentive. Well done!

Dogs welcome and lots of walks from hotel. A trip to Poppet Sands which is a short car journey away is a must. Dogs can run on a section of beach during summer too.

Hotel is great location with stunning sea views and certainly worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea view are worth the supplement and are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    91
    25
    6
    0
See reviews for
48
147
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Good position overlooking Cardigan Bay, nice restaurant with a good menu, portions are large. lovely patio, friendly staff.
Rooms a bit dated and car parking can get busy but well worth a short stay. Great value for a double room in July, can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, book a table in the restaraunt as it gets busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Fantastic service, excellent food. sensible pricing, lovely views - why go anywhere else when visiting this area?

The staff were very attentive without being annoying and one had the impression they really were interested in hearing whether or not we were satisfied with the meal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel, well worth a visit. It was great to find a high quality hotel that allowed dogs, the staff were friendly and went out of their way to help, and the food was wonderful, we will definitely be coming back, hopefully to a sea view. The only small thing that needs to be done is the provision of a 'doggy' bin outside. Thanks again for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Well worth trying to get a sea view but all rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Unusual situation on a corner but a very pleasant weekend with stunning views across Cardigan Bay and sunsets from our room. We missed breakfast on first day- it is served too late and we had to catch the tide hence service rating, otherwise service very good. Sat on the headland (in front of hideous white monstrosity down the drive) and watched surfers in the dying rays of the sun, very romantic. We would go again and explore a bit more and in Summer the terrace would be fantastic.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twyford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a KGB deal on 13th - 15th July 2013. What can we say about the hotel, all the staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast full and plentiful. We had dinner here on the first night which was really good with huge portions. The weather for our stay was fantastic and we had room 1 it is huge and has a nice seating area with the most amazing view over the bay. We just sat for hours watching the view, didn't need the telly!!! We would definitely recommend this hotel even without the deal. If you can upgrade to Room 1 which is the best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

2 night KGB deal at this lovely hotel, complimented with fabulous weather. We chose not to upgrade to a sea view, definitely a mistake on our part, but room 19 was clean, comfortable, small window overlooking car park, spacious bathroom and very cool at night, a bonus! Food was delicious, friendly staff and stunning views from the terrace over the estuary. Excellent place to explore the coastal path and beaches, Mwnt is such a gem!! Would recommend and thanks a lot for a relaxing stay at Gwbert Hotel.

Room Tip: Sea view a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gwbert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gwbert Hotel

Address: Gwbert on Sea, Cardigan SA43 1PP, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Ceredigion > Cardigan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cardigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thank you for your interest in The Gwbert Hotel the hotel stands on the banks of the River Teifi at the estuary at Gwbert-on-Sea - renowned for its salmon and sewin - it is one of the finest hotels in the locality. The hotel offers high standards of accommodation with lift to most floors. We also have four self-catering holiday homes on the hotels grounds. The tastefully decorated bistro (Flat Rock) with its panoramic views of the Pembrokeshire National Park offers an extensive menu. with dishes to everyone's tastes. A romantic weekend at the ‘Domain of the Dolphin’ is a must for all couples who wish to have a "get away from it all" weekend break. So don’t settle for anything less. Call us today and see what a difference a little attention makes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Gwbert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gwbert Hotel Cardigan
The Gwbert Hotel Cardigan, Wales

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gwbert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.