We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodel Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rodel Hotel
Save Saved
You added Rodel Hotel to your Saves list
HS5 3TW, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isle of Harris
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed in Harris for a week and tried a couple of small local restaurants for lunch, there really isn't a lot of choice, but you don't go to Harris for the fine dining! It is a magical place. Our favourite lunch was in the Rodel Hotel. We turned up for lunch one day after a spot of hillwalking finished nearby. The view out of the window is lovely and it is so relaxing, we chose a simple open sandwich and soup, nothing to write home about you may think. However, it was delicious! The laid-back atmosphere is just what you need when taking a break from the rat-race and I am delighted to say we have book two weeks next year and will definitely be returning to the Rodel Hotel for a meal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    29
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
19
78
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed here mid July 2013. The room was very comfortable and the food excellent.The staff are worth a mention being particularly friendly and attentive.
Overall, we found this hotel to be excellent value for money and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We first visited this hotel about five years ago staying in the hotel, we were very pleased with the room, meal and feel of the place.
HOWEVER, again we visited but stayed in the self catering accommodation for three nights, finding the hotel to be fairly overpriced. The unit was very clean and spacious allowing for up to four people to stay there only the beds upstairs were single and uncomfortable and the downstairs sleeping arrangments are a sofa bed. To me the self catering unit was basic offering a good cooking/eating area but the seating lounge bedrooms and bathroom was not very comfortable The bathroom only had a shower in it and the water went everywhere as there was a curtain and it would have been much better served as a wet room or put over a bath, which there was room for.

We ate in the restaurant three nights and each time the food was well cooked only I felt that it was either overly seasoned or not seasoned enough. Also felt that the whole atmosphere at the Rodel was somewhat lost, it had no character left. There was nobody in the bar areas from the local area and the restaurant didnt have a holiday 'buzz' that you would expect. I felt that the menus for lunch offered a greater variety than the evening menu, however we ordered a packed lunch one day which was very disappointing and extremely overpriced, definitely not value for money at £17 for two people.

The Rodel is in a superb position and has the potential to be so much more but feel that the ambience and holiday feel has gone from this place. The staff were absolutely great and couldnt do enough for you, they were very friendly and accommodating.

I dont want to rate this hotel/self catering and restaurant down as it has some truly wonderful features. Unfortunately it didnt deliver for me this year and I am not sure that I would revisit.

Room Tip: Excellent picturesque location by the sea, out of the way from hustle and bustle. Mobility may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Booked a twin room for me and my pal for just the one night and I wish it were for more, but it was the end of our road trip around the Hebrides. Although you might be tempted to turn back at the look of the outside of the hotel, indoors more than makes up for it. Our twin room was huge, and although it was August, it was chilly that night and the heating was excellent, came on straight away and we were roasting in no time.

Food is excellent, although it is expensive. Considering the cost of a room (£145 per night) it would have been nice to have a television to watch. Free wi-fi is available, although in the bedrooms it's very patchy.

On the whole a lovely place, and I look forward to going back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here for three nights. The Owners and staff were very helpful and willing to assist. The food is wonderful, lots of local fresh fish and seafood. I would agree with the other reviews do not be put off by the outside appearance, the inside is to a very high standard. One nice little touch is the residents lounge!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I made a casual visit for a pint of beer and then returned the next day for lunch. You have to go turn right down the drive just before you get to the drive. It can appear uninviting, but do not be deterred. The hotel is grey on the outside, rather in keeping with the rocky harbour but well done out inside. The food was homemade. Potato, parsley & bacon soup was great. I had roll mop herring and potato salad which was delicious. My son's hunter's pie was venison based and delicious too. Just needed a few more people in the restaurant. After lunch there is a lovely harbor and bay to explore right next to the hotel. Sadly not but busy enough to need to book. The toilets were the most pristine I think I have ever seen. My only slight criticism was that the owner, followed by his handy man continuously walked through the dining room on their way backwards and forwards from one side of the room to the other. My suggestion would be they find a route which avoids the dining room during their lunchtime service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here in July 2013 with my partner and our 4 year old boy. The hotel is clean and friendly, and serves very good food and wine. The chef/owner is a lovely chap and we enjoyed his company. The room we had was large and comfortable. Only negative was the noise from the room above - a mature couple seemed to be very much enjoying their stay... I cant fault the hotel for this though!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodel Hotel

Address: HS5 3TW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Rodel Hotel Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.