We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimisdale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grimisdale Guest House to your Saves list
Grimisdale Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed for just one night and was not long enough. Wonderful location very friendly owners. We sat overlooking the loch on the evening with a glass of wine and thought it could not get any better. The room was cosy and very comfy bed. Breakfast was great. Would highly recommend .

Room Tip: Overlooking the loch
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Another lovely welcoming stay. This is a really nice bed and breakfast, comfy bed and powerful shower. A lovely view of the loch. perfect place for getting the boat for St Kilda. And close to rodel hotel for a lovely meal Will be back. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I recently stayed here with my son for a few days and can highly recommend it. Excellent location, friendly host, comfortable beds, very good bathroom and big breakfast choice. Even the weather in late May and early June far exceeded our expectations: it was sunny and there wasn't much wind either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Farquhar, the owner, could not have been more helpful and kind during our two night stay.
First class accommodation and the best breakfast on the island.Spectacular setting with stunning views, would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

The owner, Farquhar heads the list of positives at Grimisdale. He is a very, very kind man and nothing we asked for during our 3 night stay was too much trouble. He suggested several excellent things for us to do, including visiting "John, the Harris Tweed maker".
Our room upstairs was a good size, although it needs some further work done on it, as it was his room until recently. However it was handy to the adjacent guest lounge with the most beautiful view out over the Loch. We relaxed there in superb comfort every night.
This property would have received five stars had the price been more in line with other B&B's in the UK. We realize that costs on Harris are higher than the mainland so make allowance for that also, however at £50 per person, this is expensive. However, we recommend it highly.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thank you for your kind words, It was really nuce meetting you and chatting , enjoy the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed over Easter break for sadly only 1 night Apr 13.

We were the first to stay this season so had the place to ourselves. Our host Farquhar was warm and welcoming and we were staying in his house essentially. Our room was warm, large and spacious and looked out over the back garden and over the loch. The view was spectacular.

This place is out of the way and so peaceful and quiet, with a great nights sleep. There is a private resident lounge upstairs with massive tv, dvd, games, book selection. There is a small balcony, which had it been a bit warmer would have been great to sit out with a glass of something. But we still watched the sun go down and stars come out in a huge black sky.

Breakfast cooked to order, was a great set up for the day, watched by the friendly labs outside in the garden.

In all a great stay in a lovely, welcoming wee place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have now stayed at Grimisdale four times within a year and I have thoroughly enjoyed each occasion. Farky is very reliable in providing a warm welcome, lots of interesting chat, a well cooked breakfast, a clean and tidy home, and a peaceful, relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the loch and you will get a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grimisdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimisdale Guest House

Address: Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimisdale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimisdale is a friendly 4 star guest house sitting on its own peninsula surrounded by a salmon and trout loch. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and your visit to Harris both enjoyable and memorable. We offer comfortable en-suite rooms with all the little extras that make all the difference to your stay. Grimisdale is ideally situated for fishing, golfing, hiking, cycling or just plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grimisdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimisdale Guest House Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimisdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.