We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You Farquhar!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimisdale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grimisdale Guest House to your Saves list
Grimisdale Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Thank You Farquhar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Thank you to Farquhar for a wonderful stay at his beautiful guest house. We were sorry it was only for one night. Such beautiful scenery - quite breathtaking. The accommodation is first class and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a spacious room overlooking the loch with a huge, newly-renovated bathroom. We also enjoyed sitting upstairs in the guest lounge which has the most spectacular views. We hope to visit again one day when we're not so rushed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chino hills
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My brother, my boyfriend, and I all loved our stay at Grimisdale Guest House. We only stayed for one night in September 2012, but I would love to come back for a longer stay! Farquhar "Farky" is the most friendly and warm host. He even cooks a delicious breakfast! Our room had a beautiful view of the loch and nearby hills. The beds were comfortable, and the shower in our ground-floor room was enormous! Everything was very clean and cosy. I think Grimisdale Guest House would be a great place for anyone looking for a relaxing retreat with all the comforts included.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed at Grimisdale for four nights (9-13 September) and found our host Farky to be engaging and welcoming. Our room on the first floor was spacious with lovely views out over the loch. The guest lounge, also on on the first floor, was very comfortable with a very large tv for those inclement evenings complete with a video library. Farky was a very attentive host and helpful in every way as well as being a mine of very useful information.

The breakfasts were always cooked to perfection with a wide choice of cooked food as well as a good choice of cereal and such like. This is a very comfortable guest house where you feel completely at home and a place to which we will return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

My second visit to Grimisdale in 2012, in September, was so comfortable, peaceful and enjoyable with mine host Farquhar a useful source of information on any topic. The simple life in this part of the Hebrides appeals and whatever the weather I found I could always be sure of a warm welcome from Farquhar. Such a wonderful view from the breakfast room overlooking the loch and such a lovely hi-tech shower in the ever so spacious bathroom (complete with a jacuzzi bath) in room Harris. You are a few minutes walk from the very well stocked village shop, with a longer walk taking you to the pier where there is a new RNLI lifeboat station, and the Anchorage restaurant. Three miles away is the Rodel hotel where you are guaranteed a very good evening meal. My top tip is, if you are booking in the winter, you do need to be sure where you are going to eat in the evening as both the Anchorage and the Rodel close for the winter. You could eat in Tarbert, a 30 minute drive away. Another tip is, book direct with Farquhar, rather than relying on bookings.com as the price is higher on that website as they take a hefty commission. Finally, check out the Temple cafe, a few miles out of Leverburgh on the road to Tarbert. Stunning view, lovely home cooked lunches and cakes.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

This is a modern house set in a nice location. The nearest dinner possibility is about 3 km down the road at the ferry terminal. The rooms are modern, light and clean. However our room was not very big and we found it way too cluttered with furniture. A double bed and a single were squeezed in plus a wardrobe and a big chest of drawers plus a tiny table holding the coffee and tea making facilities. This left very little room for our luggage. The ensuite bathroom was enormous and we enjoyed the lovely Jacuzzi. So all in all it was a pleasant stay, but the big minus has to be the cost. The double room cost 120 pounds for one night. For that price we expected a lot more luxury in the form of a spacious room where we could also sit comfortably.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
I am glad you enjoyed Grimisdale, the reason your stay was more expensive than normal was because you decided to book through an agency that takes £20 for booking the room. If you had booked direct with us here you would have saved £20. Unfortunately we have no control over that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

When we arrived in Leverburgh we were sad to have left Uist and wary of where we had landed, arrived at the pre-booked Grimsdale House to be greeted by a clearly confused proprietor who was not expecting us! After a brief exchange of comments, showing of emails which was actually getting us nowhere Farquar said "look I have a room, let's get you in and whatever has happened can't be helped" we agreed and were shown to a very good standard of room with stunning views across the sea. Breakfast was on time, served with efficiency and smiles with ample amounts available. Many thanks to Farquar and max the retriever, we will be back and will recommend you to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your knd words, i apologise for the mix up over the e mails but glad that we had a room for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Our twin room looked over the beautiful loch next to the house. The room was clean and had everything needed for a comfortable night's stay. The owner was particularly helpful, ensuring that having arrived late we got an evening meal in the local restaurant and then that we got out in time to catch the early ferry to North Uist.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and hope to see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grimisdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimisdale Guest House

Address: Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimisdale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimisdale is a friendly 4 star guest house sitting on its own peninsula surrounded by a salmon and trout loch. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and your visit to Harris both enjoyable and memorable. We offer comfortable en-suite rooms with all the little extras that make all the difference to your stay. Grimisdale is ideally situated for fishing, golfing, hiking, cycling or just plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Grimisdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimisdale Guest House Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimisdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.