We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grimisdale Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grimisdale Guest House to your Saves list
Grimisdale Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I stayed here for two nights, It was a lovely relaxing stay and Farquhar made me feel very welcome. The rooms are lovely and clean, they have wifi and an ipod docking system beside the bed,which was an extra bonus for me. Breakfast was yummy with plenty choice. I would recommend Grimisdale as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and hope to accomodate you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    34
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
17
73
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I have to admit we were lucky with the weather as well, which probably helped, but we had a great stay at the Grimisdale Guest House. The owner was very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice with a beautiful view over the lake in the back of the house, the breakfast was amazing, all in all I can only recommend this place and will definitely stay there again on another trip to the Isle of Harris.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
It was lovely to meet and chat with you, thank you for your kind comments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

B & Bs can be a bit of a gamble, especially when everyone on an island has a sign at the door. What a treat to discover a place which is highly professionally run, puts the guest at the centre and ensures you have a great stay. We had a very warm welcome, a very nice room with an extravagantly large and bright bathroom (with a large jacuzzi bath!) and excellent breakfast. Our host was nicely chatty and informative and genuinely seemed pleased to have us. I would fully recommend Grimisdale (despite it's rather daunting name!).

Room Tip: Ask for the jacuzzi!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farky, Owner at Grimisdale Guest House, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and im glad you enjoyed the jaccuzi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beith
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Carefully designed house to provide excellent comfort, amenities and a 'tailor-made' delicious breakfast. There were many thoughtful extras and the attractive location was also convenient for the ferry and for reaching all the glorious beaches of Harris.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We were booked into this B and B by our travel agent to let us go to St Kilda by the boats which leave from the harbour at Leverburgh.

The BnB is small but excellently appointed - we had a HUGE shower PLUS a jacuzzi bath in our room, and the bedroom was lovely.

The guest lounge overlooked a small loch an with amazing views of the setting sun. Good wifi and so on just added to the overall pleasure being here.

Room Tip: Just ask for the facilities you need - a more welcoming host you won't find!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Grimisdale is a very comfortable family home that operates as a B&B. What it lacks in luxury it makes up for in homely comforts and hospitality. It is located within a comfortable walking distance of just about everything in Leverburgh.

The rooms, and their beds are comfortable. The bathroom, whilst small is more than functional delivering steamy hot water each morning. We enjoyed the guest lounge on the upper storey which has delightful views across the loch to the mountains.

Our host was a real gem, sharing the rich history of his family and on their part of Harris. Nothing was ever a problem - bookings or enquiries were all done with a cheery smile.

We enjoyed our stay - we felt as if we were staying with a distant relative rather than as a paying guest.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights, beds are comfortable, we had a en-suite with a spa bath and shower, great after a days trek.
Loved the breakfast, the guests lounge upstairs has satellite tv and is large with a deck outside with great views.
The hosts are superb and nothing was a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grimisdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grimisdale Guest House

Address: Leverburgh, HS5 3TS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grimisdale Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grimisdale is a friendly 4 star guest house sitting on its own peninsula surrounded by a salmon and trout loch. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and your visit to Harris both enjoyable and memorable. We offer comfortable en-suite rooms with all the little extras that make all the difference to your stay. Grimisdale is ideally situated for fishing, golfing, hiking, cycling or just plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Grimisdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grimisdale Guest House Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grimisdale Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.