We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all with old world charm!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scarista House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scarista House to your Saves list
Scarista House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Sgarasta Bheag, HS3 3HX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Away from it all with old world charm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved our two night visit to Scarista House along with our extended family ranging from 1.5 to 72 years and could have not been more warmly received and better cared for. We dined at ease in the "conservatory" with the wee one able to walk around and not spoil dinner for the other guests. The delicious fresh food was thoughtfully pepared and well presented. Some of the party occupied the modern suites at the back and they were superb whilst others were in the main house. The main house rooms were smaller but, after all, this is a very old manse. We enjoyed sharing experiences with other guests over afternoon tea or a nightcap in the library. Wonderful to have a few days without television! Overall, our stay was very relaxing and the perfect spot for a leisurely break with the option of a game of golf, a visit to the beach or touring the island.

Room Tip: We liked the character of the older rooms but, on the other hand, the "back" rooms were m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    16
    9
    9
    2
See reviews for
17
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently spent 4 wonderful nights at Scarista House, I have been waiting a few years to visit Harris and Scarista House, I was not disappointed, the welcome was perfect, the food (Breakfast and Evening) was perfect, the quantity and variety was just right. The library and Lounge are both laid out in such away that solo travellers are included in the conversations about the days experiences.

Room Tip: Lucy was a perfect room, with separate lounge providing wonderful view down to the sea and the sunse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weinheim, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We recently stayed at this inn while on vacation. The location is excellent: white-sand beach within a 10 minute walk. We enjoyed fine dining in the restaurant, while watching a beautiful sunset. We relaxed with coffee and treats in the cozy library, exchanging stories with other guests. The room was clean, but the carpet in the bathroom and the outdated fixtures need freshening up. A bit pricey for the room that you get.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in Flora, suggested by Patricia because we needed more space. Everything was catered for - We had lounge and kitchen as well. Evrything was perfect. Slept well.
The location is absolutely brilliant, overlooking scarista beach and the turquoise sea. We missed the afternoon tea as we were out but breakfast was brilliant. We only ate one dinner which was truly superb - it';s a fixed menu but all tastes are catered for. No tv or radio but that doesn't matter for 2 days . We had a laptop which worked and so were able to keep in touch with family and listen to Radio 4 when necessary. Standards excellent and staff/owners friendly but not pushy.

Room Tip: talk to the owners
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We had our lovely friends, Ann and Graeme, staying with us on Harris and they suggested we go to Scarista House for dinner on one of the nights. We've been before - so the bar was already set very high. Nonetheless, our experience was absolutely outstanding. From the moment we crossed the threashold and were welcomed, we felt cosseted and at home. The rooms have a lovely atmosphere. The service was faultless. And the meal was heavenly. My wife doesn't eat fish - but Patricia had asked about this when we booked and had organised a steak instead. Scarista House is fantastic. We are incredibly lucky to be able to enjoy fine dining on the edge of the world. Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoganas, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Situated on the west cost of South Harriis Scarista House is just a wonderful place. The view over the sea is amazing. We were welcomed with aftenoon tea even though we arrived short after lunch. Tea, scones, cake and all the rest served in the library. Just lovely! The room was fine, just what you could expect in such an old building. Dinner was served at 8pm promptly and it was fine though not overwhelming. If we ever go back to The Western Islands we would certainly come back here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I was very surprised to read the recent review of Glebe cottage at Scarista. Firstly, I'd like to say. It is a holiday cottage and as such is exceedingly good. It is the kind of place that you don't worry about carrying sand in on your feet from the beach and making yourself at home. There was a lot of space and the kitchen is one of the best equipped that I've experienced in a holiday cottage. The oven was brand new-we were the first to use it.This place is really good value for money and if you don't feel like cooking you can book to eat in fantastic Scarista House next door. When we booked, Patricia told us that the bathroom needed some work and we duly received a discount. The cottage is lovely with wonderful beach views and the field to the side had two beautiful highland cattle with their young. The side views from the bedrooms look up towards the hills and golf course. We really slept well and felt very secluded. Yes, the bathroom needs work and curtains need replaced but we were told about that and given discount on rental cost. The shower cabinet is a bit flimsy, but has a powerful shower and lots of hot water. The sitting room is part of a very large open plan kitchen/dining area. It has lot of books and interesting guide book material. There is an open fire, which was led ready to light and free fuel including logs and peat. All in all the perfect place for family holiday.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarista House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarista House

Address: Sgarasta Bheag, HS3 3HX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarista House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Scarista House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarista House Hotel Isle Of Harris
Scarista House Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarista House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.