We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic honeymoon retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lickisto Blackhouse Camping

Lickisto Blackhouse Camping
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lickisto Blackhouse Camping
Save
You added Lickisto Blackhouse Camping to your Saves list
1 Lickisto, HS3 3EL , Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic honeymoon retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We actually stayed here back in April 2012 while on our honeymoon. We always intended to write a review. We stayed 2 nights in a camper van. The owners were so friendly and welcoming and showed us around their fantastic site when we arrived. The scenery is stunning. We loved the quirky garden features like the plants in old boots. We sat on the boat in the garden one morning eating breakfast and watching the wildlife in the water. The owners were very helpful in pointing out a great spot to pick mussels and even loaned us wellies! Later that day we drove to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen and cooked our mussels for lunch. Absolute bliss! The area is so peaceful. We can't wait to go back. Maybe we'll try one of the yurts next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

A fantastic place to relax and unwind. We camped one night and stayed in one of the Yurt's for the second night. The owners have created a fantastic environment where each pitch is private and well resourced. Received very friendly welcome tour and the freshly baked bread is a very nice touch. It is fantastic what John and Harvey have achieved in a short space of time, and if their plans for the future come true, this site will only get better. Some of world's best beaches, let alone the UK, are a short cycle or car journey away. Spotted some otters and seals nearby too which added to a brilliant experience on Harris.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you are looking for the ubiquitous club site this is not for you. But if you, like us want something a wee bit different then this is the site for you.
We stayed two nights and had we not places to be, would have stayed longer.
John gave us a tour of the site on our arrival , brilliant and I love the thought of staying in a yurt.
I could describe it all but best go and experience - especially the 'Royal' loo.
We will be back :-)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights during a touring holiday in the Hebrides. It really was fantastic. We stayed in our campervan but the tent pitches looked fantastic, each having their own space and privacy and some affording spectacular views of the surrounding area.
We were welcomed by John who gave us a tour of the site, which included a look around the yurts that they had available which looked very clean and was something different. the owners were really friendly and gave you great advice and information about the site and surrounding areas.

I have saved the best till last...the blockhouse that has been beautiful restored and is now used as the communal hub of the site. It has been brought back to life in such a tasteful and welcoming way, there is a wood burning stove, comfy sofas, a kitchen area and bathroom so everything you need in one place! Also we had fresh bread for us each morning made by the owners the night before which was a lovely touch.

All in all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone who wishes to stay in Harris.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

John and Harvey really have set up an amazing little place here! Planned to stay for 1 night and ended up staying 3! Loved the relaxed atmosphere, And the fresh bread was a really nice touch. I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I found this site while browsing google for camping on Lewis and Harris and initially planned to book a camping spot, and decided as a surprise for my partner to go for broke and book a Yurt. Camping in this gorgeous spot would have been great - the Yurt was perfect and in our opinion worth the money (still cheaper than a B&B on the island).

The yurt contained everything that we required - bed, bedding, gas cooker, cool box (with ice blocks), cutlery, pots, pans etc wood burning stove and everything we needed to light it. The delightful owner provided us with a fresh loaf of homemade bread (yum).

The toilets/showers were clean, spacious and with a plentiful supply of hot water. We didn't spend any time in the common room, but it looked clean, spacious and comfortable also.

the midges were ferocious and had clearly sharpened their teeth in preparation for new campers - but what do you expect from camping in the Hebrides!

we plan to return for a longer visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Plenty of little secluded spots to pitch your tent - although the wider open pitches are probably better from a midge point of view. Really relaxed atmosphere. Can't complain about the shower/toilet facilities - hot water and never had to queue for the toilet. The blackhouse is a lovely communal building (complete with copies of Women's Own from the 1970s and Joe 90 annuals) where you can while away the evenings drinking beer in front of the woodburner and chatting to new friends. Apparently plenty of wildlife to spot in the loch, but I must confess the midges kept us away from the water's edge! A little pricey but certainly recommended for a night or two!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lickisto Blackhouse Camping? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lickisto Blackhouse Camping

Address: 1 Lickisto, HS3 3EL , Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Harris
Also Known As:
Lickisto Blackhouse Camping Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lickisto Blackhouse Camping, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.