We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Isle of Harris Kilda House- 4star luxury Fam. Hous

four stunning Northton beaches and Leverburgh at a five minutes drive
four stunning Northton beaches and Leverburgh at a five minutes drive
four stunning Northton beaches and Leverburgh at a five minutes drive
Kilda House, stunning views over Sea loch Obbe in front of the house, also fishing
Lounge and dining room Kilda House luxury accomodation
Kilda House lounge with woodburning stove
Beach two, at a five minutes drive from Kilda House Leverburgh South Harris
Isle of Harris
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michael t
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kilda House is extremely comfortable, very well equipped and has excellent views over Leverburgh, Isle of Harris.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

A great location for outdoor enthusiasts including active sports like fishing, kayaking, walking and passive sports like painting, photography, wildlife watching or just chilling out!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Warmth & comfort
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Janneke V
Leiden, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“South Harris and Kilda House, the best place to stay at Harris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

South Harris and Kilda House, the best place to stay at Harris! It hits perfection in the beauty of the location, warmth of welcome from the hosts Alicia and Bart and the high quality of the accommodation.



Although it was only for 4 nights, it was the most amazing place we have ever stayed. Truly magical in every way with the most wonderful paintings, very special painted bathroom floors, like walking on the beach itself. The accommodation was first class and spotlessly clean, with two great bathrooms one with a bubbly Jacuzzi, three good sized bedrooms with quality beds and a great open plan kitchen/living /dining room. Kilda house is a large house, but staying there as a couple felt very cosy with a wonderful and unique atmosphere. We loved to light the wood burning stove in the evenings enjoying a glass of wine, being rosy after walking the beaches.

The surroundings are amazing. We have seen eagles soaring over the house, just as Bart mentioned. Although the end of Febuary the weather was cold but very sunny so we went kayaking with Bart. That was a truly memorable experience, we have seen the seals so close by, the unspoilt wilderness, a great variety of birds, the remoteness, the inhabited islands in the Sound of Harris with little white sandy beaches, it was absolutely fantastic! We would certainly recommend going out kayaking with Bart! All in all the best place to stay at Harris!

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The paintings in the house, surroundings, kayaking en that there was sun!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Croftshar...
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A truely unique house in the fantastic backdrop that is South Harris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

House
We were the first guests to stay in their property- Kilda House, so everything was new and pristine. Our hosts Bart and Alicia were waiting on our arrival - late saturday evening and promptly showed us the house and its facilities throughout. In my opinion they excelled with information and provisions - on arrival we had wine, home-made cookies and home-made soup on the hob. Since we arrived late in the evening and the local store being closed on sundays this was very thoughtful of them. You will have no need of detailed road maps or guides as its all provided plus Bart's excellent knowledge of where to go.

Our travelling party consisted of our two teenagers, my wife and 75yr old mother who managed the stairs and showers etc no problem and was comfortably warm throughout. The free wi-fi broadband was a god-send for the teenagers in the time spent in the house but were also loads of DVDs provided for us too. The TV is a modern smart largescreen TV with excellent picture quality from the SKY TV transmission provided with basic freeview channels.

Being February and the website heating described as air-to-air heating i was a little concerned what this would be but you can be rest assured heating of this house was efficient and reliable and as it happens is very quick to heat up and circulate hot air around the living rooms and kitchen. Wall heaters and underfloor heating is provided in the bedrooms and bathrooms and is more than adequately provided for and there is no restriction on use. The open fire is another added option too!

The kitchen and bathroom facilites are top notch - showers with large flows not a trickle as in some other places we have stayed, jaccuzi feature in the upstairs bathroom and shower body jets in the downstairs bathroom shower cubicle provide some novelty value if you like that sort of thing. There were plenty of cutlery and crockery, utensils and pans etc. The fridge freezer is well sized if you wanted to bring your own pre-prepared food etc there would be no issue in storage volumes.

Nobody had any complaints about the beds, the quality of mattress and quilts was better than expected. Very comfortable and warm. Three large sized bedrooms with good-sized double beds in each plus a single bed in the kids room.

Now something unique about this house that you wont get anywhere else is the decorative artwork on floors, walls and ceilings. All-in-all though it made for a cosy and homely feeling in the house.

Location
The house is located close to the ferry from Leverburgh to North Uist if you fancy a trip off the island. But why would you when the landscapes, beaches, walks and scenery immediately in the area and further field if you want to travel are stunning.

The Temple Cafe in Northton is a short car journey away, the food and service is recommended as are the beaches closeby.

Don't worry about eating out the food in the local store in Leverburgh has everything you need. Although whilst we were there most restaurants/galleries were shut - it was their half-term too we managed adequately for a week. A restaurant called Digby Chics in Stornoway was great but quite a drive unless you do it at the end of a day trip to view North Harris and Lewis as we did. The iron age village at Bostah and standing stones at Callanish are worth a trip.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The stunning scenery and lovely house
Liked least: the drive up there from Warrington
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,641
/ Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Suzan V
44 1859 520315
Speaks English, French, Portuguese, German, Spanish, Dutch
Listed since : Jan 2013
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a day
Calendar Updated: 12 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing