We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaforth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaforth
Save
You added Seaforth to your Saves list
Ardvourlie, HS3 3AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Vienna, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Can't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This was by far the best B&B we visited on our 3 week trip through the Highlands and Islands. Not that any of the others was not great, but this was truly outstanding.
A very warm welcome, the delicious breakfast in the lovely conservatory with breathtaking views and nicely decorated rooms are amongst the highlights of this very special treat. The location is very convenient for touring both Lewis and Harris, the next inn is just 10 miles away.
Miranda and Angus are always ready for a chat and some tips but without being intrusive. Seaforth is a working croft with dogs, chickens, cats, sheep and highland cattle. If you are interested in the crofting life this is the place to be, and if you like to you can even get some hands-on experience!
It felt like home to us and we could have stayed much longer than for just 3 nights.

Room Tip: There is just one room - so be quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
16
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Hi stayed there I night after work, nice enough place ,but pity about cats meowing outside ,miles from anywhere so make sure you have your dinner before you get there ,because you won't get one, even though she was cooking dinner and i would have paid for it, lady seemed more interested in signing comments book! Which I managed not to ,much to her dismay.apart from all that it's great!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterline, Scotland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

It was hard leaving after spending 3 nights with Angus & Miranda. They are exceptional hosts - very friendly, welcoming and interesting. The breakfasts were delicious. The bedroom was very nicely furnished and the bathroom was lovely. The B&B is located in a beautiful setting on the shores of Loch Seaforth. Angus invited me to join the local shepards for sheep gathering. It is an experience I'll never forget. This is the ideal B&B for the solo traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Seaforth on our first night in Harris. Was amazed by the beautiful views from the house. The room was spotless and very pretty and the roll top bath was a treat. Miranda and Angus made us very welcome and to be quite honest, we wished we would have stayed with them longer! We also enjoyed the company of Spencer the cat, he was a good substitute for our cat who we had to leave at home. Overall Seaforth is a very special place!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for just one night in July but would have like to stay more! Angus and Miranda took great care of us. Very warm and friendly people. The house is lovely, the facilities excellent and the price just right. The nicest stay we had during our two weeks holiday in the Highlands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederkrüchten, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed there for three nights and had found very nice people (Miranda and Angus) there at a great place. The warm atmosphere, a truly full scottish breakfast, a cozy bed, one or more drams with the hosts in the evening with gaelic sound from the old gramophone and stories told, ensured a stay we will never forget.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We love this wonderful B&B and just had to return ! We cannot recommend the welcome, accomodation,comfort,breakfast,views,in fact everything highly enough! Ideally located for exploring both Lewis and Harris by car,the area is also a walkers and wildlife paradise (eagles galore!) and great for experiencing life on a working croft (thank you Angus!), or simply relaxing in the lovely conservatory, overlooking the stunning loch, with a good book! As there is just the one (beautiful) en suite room, you feel exclusive throughout your stay. We echo the comments about what fantastic people Miranda and Angus are and agree that you will leave as friends. Staying here is simply a MUST when visiting the island and we are looking forward to the next time !

Room Tip: There is only the one room, so you are exclusive from start to finish.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaforth

Address: Ardvourlie, HS3 3AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Also Known As:
Seaforth Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.