We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming west coast welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor Hill B&B

Taylor Hill B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Harris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor Hill B&B
Save Saved
You added Taylor Hill B&B to your Saves list
Route A859, Leverburgh, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Isle of Harris B&B and Inns
Perthshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A charming west coast welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent a couple of nights here when we were doing a trip to St Kilda. Chris and Shone couldn't be more welcoming and our room was immaculate - clean, cheery and very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and served anytime you wanted. I can't recommend them strongly enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. The room we stayed in was beautiful, and Shona and Chris gave us the warmest of welcomes. We had some fascinating conversations about island life, and the fabulous breakfast in the morning was enough to satisfy even the hungriest of explorers.
A first class b&b, a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed here recently for four nights. We were visiting St Kilda so it was ideal for catching the boat at 8 am. The bedroom, en-suite and lounge were perfect, as were Shona's breakfasts and welcome cup of tea with home baking. Both Shona and Chris are Harris born and bred so their knowledge of people and places was particularly interesting and useful. We were made to feel completely at home and comfortable, and we would happily recommend this B and B to anyone. Many thanks to both Shona and Chris for a great visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kirby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Better than any hotel. Shona and Chris were very welcoming and helpful. We stayed three nights in a beautiful room with lovely en-suite. We also had our own comfortable sitting room with television, books and a lovely view towards the pier. Breakfast was delicious and served at whatever time we asked. We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend Taylor Hill to anyone.
Thanks Shona and Chris.
Alan and Angela Cross

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stirling
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for four nights last week. This is bed and breakfast at its best, sitting room to discuss the day. Shona and Chris extremely helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The eggs are to die for lovely rich yolks and fresh from the hens. Highly recommend this great example of Highland hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

My husband and i along with our three boys stayed at Taylor Hill B&B. We were given 5 star treatment nothing was to much for Shona and Chris and we all felt like one of the family by the time we left.You most definitely get a full Scottish breakfast thank you so much for sharing your very comfortable home and hospitality with us. We will be back . The Reillys Ross-Shire

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loch Lomond
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Shona & Chris our hosts, made us very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were day tripping to St Kilda, and Taylor Hill is only 5 minutes from Leverburgh Pier. The room was beautiful and the power shower was brill. Breakfast was exceptionally good, with vegetarian option available for my wife. The eggs came straight from the back yard, where the chickens were roaming happily. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary whilst at Taylor Hill and Shona, Chris & family joined us for some champagne - so you can tell by that, that the hosts are incredibly welcoming and wanted to make our visit memorable. A great B&B to stay in, I highly recommend Taylor Hill, and we will certainly be back. Thank you Shona & Chris!

Room Tip: Front room has a great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor Hill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor Hill B&B

Address: Route A859, Leverburgh, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Harris
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Harris
Also Known As:
Taylor Hill B&B Isle Of Harris, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor Hill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.